1994 Dodge Spirit 4d 2.5 efi from North America


Easygoing everyday car


Leaks or burns little engine oil.

Transmission oil dipstick leaks if not well placed.

General Comments:

When buying a 90s Chrysler product, check the codes by changing the ignition switch on-off 3 times, leaving the ignition ON.

Check engine light will flash and tell whats wrong. very handy for do-it-yourself mechanic!

Fuel consumption average 9litres/100km, including city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

2nd Feb 2006, 20:22

I was wondering if you know a place were you can look up what the codes mean that it displays?

29th Apr 2009, 20:51

Here is a page with the fault codes:


1994 Dodge Spirit LE 2.5L 4-cylinder from North America


One of the best most reliable cars I have ever seen


The only thing that I didn't like about the car was that the air conditioner went out at 100,000 miles. The paint is another thing that I didn't like at all. That started fading about a year ago.

General Comments:

This is my first car and I run the heck out of it! I admit that I try to blow up the car, but it will never go. Things that I have had to change is the head gasket because I (the stupid one that I am) forgot to check the oil and was running the car without oil in it. Now at 160,000 miles the piston rings are starting to fall apart and my performance and gas mileage is droping off fast. Those are the only things that I have had problems with. I'm already planning on buying another one for college. Great car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2002

1994 Dodge Spirit 3.0 V-6 from North America


Very quick, nimble, reliable and the most fun I have had in a 163,000 mile car.


Some kind of erratic wiring problem in the instrument panel that causes the high beam indicator and both turn signal indicators to come on when the fuel warning light comes on. Also, the voltmeter drops to zero output and the fuel gauge shoots to the over-full mark. The horn draws 75 amps instead of 15 amps but won't blow the fuse.

General Comments:

This car has more "get-up-and-go" than my wife's '96 Jeep Cherokee with the 4.0.

The controls for the power windows, locks and seats are in an easy to reach location.

The seats are very comfortable for in town driving, as I haven't taken it on a long trip yet.

The trunk is rather roomy, and the 60/40 split rear seat makes it even bigger. With the 40% side down I was able to fit a 7 foot tall Christmas tree in it with no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2002

1994 Dodge Spirit ES 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America


Excellent fuel economy and has a good resale value


The transmission started shifting strangely after the car had been sitting not in use for two months, but the fault repaired itself through regular use.

Burns oil, needs to be topped up every 200km.

Aluminum rims leak, tires need to be filled every two days, valve stems rotted off.

Seat-belts don't lock properly and are not adjustable so that short people like myself get a seatbelt across their necks.

General Comments:

Accelerates poorly, but gets 50 mpg (about 675 km to a tank of gas) which is much better gas mileage than my K-Car got, even though it had the same engine.

Always starts, needed one tune-up in its whole lifetime.

The seats are stiff and uncomfortable for long trips.

The air conditioning works great, still ice cold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

1994 Dodge Spirit 3.0L V6 from North America


Big engine gives lot of useful power


Intermittent stalling problem, especially with the air conditioning compressor turned on. Problem is difficult to reproduce (no mechanic has yet been able to).

Front seat loses its padding over time with moderate use.

Belts tend to be noisy, even with replacements.

General Comments:

Overall I love this car. The 3.0L V6 is good overkill for this weight car. I have no problem merging on to highways with short entrance ramps. The acceleration feels like the day I got it.

Except the saggy front seat, the car is very comfortable to drive or be a passenger in. The cabin is very roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2001

7th Feb 2002, 09:16

Hi! The 3.0L V6 is notorious for having stalling problems that are difficult to trace. Just be glad your's isn't burning oil out of the exhaust like older V6 powered Spirits... they do it and it's very expensive to fix. You might have problems with the belts slipping off at some point too... another common ailment of this engine.

28th Jul 2002, 09:17

1994 Dodge Spirit 3.0 stalling: Check fan on inlet air.

3rd Jun 2004, 20:42

I also have a 94 Spirit and it went threw the stalling problems. After a long trip and putting the car in park it would die, but start right up again. The throttle body was the cause of this problem, I got one from work and put it, along with a new gasket and it hasn't stalled on me yet.

15th Dec 2006, 19:31

My '93 Spirit had very bad stalling problems until a friend adjusted the throttle today. It is 14 years old, and has had at least three owners. (127,000 miles)