1998 Dodge Stratus Reviews - Page 9 of 12

1998 Dodge Stratus 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

A Lemon

Faults:

The driver's seat bolts do not hold the seat in position.

The 2 front doors do not open and close properly.

It leaks oil and engine coolant - needs new head gasket.

The lights did not work properly and I had to take this car back 4 times to the Dodge dealer before they could figure out what was wrong with them.

General Comments:

We bought this car for my son who is a new driver because it was listed as a safe vehicle in Consumer Reports. I will never buy a Dodge vehicle again due to substandard service and this being a very poorly made automotive product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

29th Apr 2004, 19:29

I'm sure you got a good deal on this car, but if you bought it to be a safe car for your son that's a new driver, you're wrong, the Stratus is rated poorly. If you wanted something safe for your son, get a Ford Taurus; trust me, they're rated good, and it saved a relative's life. Check out http://www.iihs.org/.

1998 Dodge Stratus ES from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance81800 miles
Previous carnone none

Summary:

A great first car

Faults:

When I purchased the car, the head gasket was out. The dealer took care of all of it. Works great now. Everything runs excellent. The only7 thing that is wrong is that it has a small crack in the washer fluid tank. It still holds fluid, but not a whole lot. Doesn't cost a whole lot for a new one either. They are around 15 bucks.

General Comments:

This car is really fun to drive. It's really comfy and roomy too. I would buy this type of car again when this one won't run anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2004

1998 Dodge Stratus ES 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A real lemon

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 60,000 miles. I called Dodge and it seems that this is a common problem for these engines and they had acknowledged they had a faulty head gasket. Would they do anything about it? No. It seems that you have to take the car to the dealer every time you need the oil changed, or if the car has any other problems for them to fix. If you do it yourself you won't get assistance.

Also, the front brakes I have to replace pads and rotors once a year.

Front Tie Rod ends. Replace them before the just snap off and cause you to get in an accident.

The hood is bubbling out. Rust is starting, this is a common problem.

This car goes through tires very quickly also, 80,000 mile tires will last 50,000.

General Comments:

Stay clear of these cars. They are expensive to fix and they always need attention to some sort of problem.

Dodge will not stand behind there junk and warranty any parts. Even if they know it is a faulty part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

11th Apr 2004, 08:33

It sounds like the problems you have stem from poor driving. With all of the front end problems have you ever had the alignment checked? A missed aligned front end will cause you tires, tie rods, and often your brakes to well... break. My suggestion is to treat your car nicer. Baby it, take it to a movie, buy it chocolates, have you forgotten your anniversary?

1998 Dodge Stratus ES 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance117645 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

An affordable, reliable car with comfort

Faults:

I've had this car for nearly four years only one problem ever came to surface: the rear-right window would not roll down from the driver's seat. It turned out to be a lose wire and was fixed promptly.

General Comments:

This is one sleek little car. I've literally driven this car all around the United States and have never had a problem with the engine or transmission. It runs smooth and feels really direct when shifting.

The Stratus is not the fastest car in the world, though it was not meant to be. It was meant to be a nice family-size sedan that you could slide into and enjoy taking out on the road. This is what the Stratus is.

The light gray interior of my White 99 Stratus really adds to the mood. Many times I've climbed inside and exited a little more cheerful. Even after four years, the upholstery has remained in great condition. (Even if neglected sometimes) Really beautiful interior, in my opinion.

I'm sure this car will eventually wear down, but after 117,000 miles it's still going strong. There's a good chance I will buy another Stratus when the time comes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2003

5th Jan 2004, 22:17

I also have a 1998 Dodge Stratus and the only problem that I have ever had with it is also with the right back window not going down. I am going to see if my problem is with the wiring too. Thank you for your article, I hope it will help me with my problem.

20th Jan 2004, 04:18

I also own a 1998 Dodge Stratus. I to am having a problem with the right rear passenger window rolling down from the driver seat. I will also try checking the loose wiring. Thanks!

10th May 2004, 14:12

Where was the loose wire? Should I check the connection on the window that does not work or on the master window control?

6th Feb 2007, 22:13

You know I have to agree with the rest of you. I too own a 1998 stratus and after 163,500 or more miles on the car it still runs like a rookie...lol...I'm 19 years old and work a part time job, I'm in school and still affording this car. You know what? I've even done it up a bit. Its red with a black strip down the sides. I went and got some 17" Blacked Out racing rims with a chrome outline on that bad boy and called it a day.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 44 reviews