1992 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 11 of 13

1992 Eagle Talon TSi FWD 2.0 DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

Archetypal sports car of our time

Faults:

Timing belt went, 88,000, $2000 later, all new valves.

Clutch, 200,000km.

New exhaust manifold, just to name the major ones.

General Comments:

Solid car, if you're looking for performance at a low cost, this is your car.

General repairs and service will ensure that your car lives a long repair free life. It's got the bang, but don't push it too hard!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42900 miles
Most recent distance50250 miles
Previous carJeep Wagoneer

Summary:

The most bang for the buck I've ever seen in a sports car

Faults:

Clutch went out.

Replaced under-drive pulley and belts.

Paints faded under the windshield.

General Comments:

This car is incredibly fast stock and even faster modified. I have done some simple modifications that have really brought the car to life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

6th Jun 2001, 12:55

The Talon TSi AWDs are bad ass cars. Especially when modified. The littlest things add lots of horsepower. Any car that is AWD is awesome.

The stock turbo spools up very fast which results in fast acceleration. There are so many Talons with under $10,000 of mods that have over 400 horsepower.

27th Jul 2001, 08:58

I was wondering what kind of mods can be done? Nothing crazy though, I'm definitely not looking to put more than $2000 into it.

16th Oct 2001, 09:36

Talon TSi's are very quick they have been said to run 15.7s with no modifications. I also Heard that they push 195-210hp stock!

16th Apr 2004, 11:17

I bought a 92 Eagle Talon Tsi (FWD) not too long ago and the transmission went out because of too many races. Its now in the shop looking towards $5500 in mods to beef it up then nos after a couple of months,

1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Faults:

Well. I got this car a little while ago, really nice looking and very fast. I have to admit I was taken. Yes, I never should have bought this junk.

American cars are complete crap from DSM to Ford, they all suck. So most of you say this car is foreign... LOOK UNDER THE HOOD, IT SAYS MITSUBISHI!!! LOL, you guys crack me up. Mitsubishi is not foreign. It's American, hate to burst your bubble. SOME parts... a very minimal amount were manufactured in Japan, but probably in a junk yard :) Hence - DSM, Diamond Star Motor corp. <-----AMERICAN, no they don't own a Japanese car company, it's American.

The funny thing is that people still try and trick themselves by thinking it's foreign :/ I feel bad for ya, don't worry I got suckered too! The car does have very nice speed, but terrible handling. Doesn't even compare to the all trac but I won't get into that one :) I'm sure maybe these cars can run well if you don't drive them to the max all the time. But my friend tried that - nope you wish, car still broke.

I thought I was going to get a little upgrade from a CRX Si to this. WRONG, man I'd get a CRX any day over this car.

So, you ask. But sir what has gone wrong with your car? Oh yes plenty :) Clutch, timing belt snapped at 40k, piston ring popped off for some unknown reason and gashed up the cylinder pretty badly. Yup, that calls for a whole new engine :( Haven't had much problem with the turbo though.

Head gasket blew, valve cover leaks even with a new valve cover gasket.

Oil cap leaks, even with the new one.

Rotors seem to like to warp.

Oh and yes the paint blows chunks!

Sorry for rambling on but, I really hate this car, it's a complete peice of crap. I realy wish I had kept that 200,000 mile CRX, it ran a hell of a lot better.

General Comments:

Crap

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2001

4th Feb 2001, 14:28

That's what happens when you beat the crap out of cars and do not take care of them.

17th Mar 2001, 14:45

Yes these cars will be screwed if you don't take care of them, but if you love them like a baby, they'll love you back. So stop complaining about something you caused.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 58 reviews