1992 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1992 Eagle Talon TSi FWD 2.0 liter turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carBMW 325 Coupe

Summary:

A Honda-killing pocket rocket

Faults:

It has had a flat tire and the intake system has minor problems.

The driver's window becomes "dislodged" from time to time, which is probably a result of installation of new, non-factory speakers.

I had to replace the timing belt, but it was not really a problem.

General Comments:

This is a great car, very useful and sporty. I wish I had purchased the AWD version, however, as the front wheels always spin when the turbo spools up (usually at 4000RPM+).

Other than that, it is a great car to own and I have a lot of fun driving it just about everywhere.

It is also great to modify; I have purchased many interior, exterior, sound, and performance enhancing products for this car, all at reasonable prices.

I wish it was better on gas, but that's the price you pay for owning a high performance car. I would buy another one if the need arose.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th December, 2000

1992 Eagle Talon ESi from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Turns heads and plenty of frowns, it's great!!

Faults:

- Needed a new clutch.

- Grinding when changing to second gear.

- Continuous problems with windows and side mirror.

- New timing belt needed.

- Valve seal.

- Crack in the exhaust.

General Comments:

It's fun to drive. Front wheel drive helps in the winter. Corners awesome, with the help of some good tires as well.

Doesn't like winter, battery drains quickly.

Is a real looker with the right cooler. Lots of looks, (lady with husband and children watching came over to say what a nice looking car).

Handles very good at high speed (over 200k/h).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

1992 Eagle Talon 4.0 16 valve (I-4) from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0 16 valve (I-4) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A sporty looking money pit

Faults:

Valve seal replacements ($800).

Crack in the exhaust manifold ($600).

Camshaft timing belts ($100).

Window off the track.

General Comments:

The car had only 60,000 miles on it when the engine was burning a quart of oil every few weeks!!!!!! This car is a piece of garbage, do not buy it. Chrysler would not help out with the bills either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

14th Dec 2000, 10:50

I've only had the car 5 months and I've spent over $1,000 replacing those same things. Even the window off track!...

22nd Jan 2001, 18:48

Sounds like you didn't have it checked out before you bought it.

You can't buy a 7 year old car and expect the manufacturer to pay for the repairs.

If you gave me 1 week with a new car I could have a lot more things wrong with it than there were with your car, it's all in how it is driven.

Moral is take your car to a mechanic before you buy it.

1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Needed a new clutch. Other than that, just needs its oil changed, some premium gas, and it runs amazing.

General Comments:

It's so cheap to get more horsepower out of this car. I've added 65 horsepower for about $500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

1992 Eagle Talon ESi 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTi

Summary:

You get your bang for the buck

Faults:

Front exhaust pipe.

Tranny grinds in second gear, needed replacment.

Rear left calliper seized.

General Comments:

Great handling, fairly good on gas, really comfortable for the price. You get your bang for the buck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th September, 2000

1992 Eagle Talon 2.0 non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 non turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles

Summary:

Sporty, dependable and fun

Faults:

New timing belt.

Brakes and rotors.

Air conditioning broke at 100,000 miles.

Transmission just went on the car but hey, at 200,000 miles what more can I ask from it?

I would recommend the Eagle Talon to anyone who is interested in an affordable sports car that won't break the bank and will provide years of fun.

Just don't get too many speeding tickets!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2000

1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Quick and slick four banger turbo

Faults:

Exterior door panels are wavey and warped from the weather.

Manual shifter is sometimes difficult to shift and is noisy.

Paint is not very good.

General Comments:

I have had no major mechanical problems with this car. If you maintain it according to the routine maintenance schedule, it will run great. I love everything about the car except for a few exterior flaws beyond my control.

This car is extremely quick even though it is a four cylinder. It can hang with the bigger boys especially when the turbo cuts loose. It is a sharp car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 58 reviews