2001 Fiat Punto Reviews - Page 2 of 12

2001 Fiat Punto ELX 1.2 16v from Israel

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Fantastico

Faults:

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING except for maintaining services.

Nothing went wrong for the past 4 years that I owned it.

Unbelievable!

General Comments:

Rides like a sporty little car (except for the handling).

Gear is nothing else but amazing, and the engine doesn't feel like 1.2L.

I wish they were still selling it ,and while it rides as it is, I'm sticking with it till dies (already 10 years old now..)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2010

21st Oct 2010, 14:27

Glad to hear it matey, as I have just bought one. Went for test drive and was instantly sold on it. We should ignore all this nonsense about problems, I have had lots of problems with other makes of cars, so what's the difference. Happy motoring.

2001 Fiat Punto Go 1.2 8v from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 8v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance67053 miles
Previous carFiat Cinquecento

Summary:

Very reliable, with some minor faults to be expected!

Faults:

Only thing that it needed was a new ECU unit, as it was misfiring on two cylinders.

I now just need new wipers as it's knocking on the bottom of the window.

General Comments:

The car is fairly quick, to say it's only a 1.2 8V with 60BHP, it really handles like a GO-Kart now I've got the new 15" alloy wheels 195/45/R15.

Overall, the car is really reliable, but you have got to expect faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2010

2001 Fiat Punto ELX 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance58500 miles

Summary:

OK if you can get one cheap enough as a first car

Faults:

51,000 miles: Windscreen wiper motor mechanism failed - result was a new complete motor etc needed @ £55.

58,200 miles: Timing belt tensioner failed - new tensioner & belt needed (lucky no engine damage).

Since above - engine management lamp on, yet no fault codes?

Numerous rattles inside the car.

General Comments:

Thought it was a good buy - got it for £2000 with loads of service history.

Now thinking it maybe time to get shot and invest in something better recommended!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2009

2001 Fiat Punto Mia 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carMazda Corolla

Summary:

Good enough

Faults:

The wipers on a Punto are pretty much rubbish, and cost £150 for a wiper motor.

I do not like the clutch and gear shift, as they are pretty old fashioned.

Apart from that, it is very reliable, never broke down and cost efficient.

Comfy - good.

Takes ages to heat up - dad.

Not reliable in winter, as the locks and interior glass freeze over.

Fuel consumption is very good.

General Comments:

The car has its problems, but is by far not the worst car I have owned. Better than Peugeot for sure...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2009

2001 Fiat Punto 1.2 MIA from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

A cheap car for the walnut faced Italian peasantry

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 54,000.

Wiper motor arms failed at 90,000.

General Comments:

Where to start, well firstly it's a small Italian car with not much on it. The engine makes a load of fuss and achieves nothing.

The driving position is good and the seats are comfortable, even on long distance runs.

Overall I love my Punto; yes things have gone wrong, but no more than any other car I have owned.

Remember it's Italian; if you want reliability buy a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2008

2001 Fiat Punto ELX 1.2 8v from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.2 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles

Summary:

All in all a great car, and I love it to bits!

Faults:

Acceleration lumpy in 1st gear.

Plastic cladding separating from driver's side door.

Unexplained rattle from near side rear window.

Radio signal dire + tape player is temperamental.

Indicators often do not self terminate.

General Comments:

Feels surprisingly nippy for a 1.2, very nice handling and fun to drive.

The car does not much like driving slowly, especially in town, but that is not to say that it is not easy to do so.

The city button is great for really tight parking, but the steering is so light anyway that it is hardly necessary; if anything it needs a speed button to make it a little less twitchy on dual carriageways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2008

2001 Fiat Punto ELX 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

This car is both terrible AND excellent

Faults:

Exhaust rattles against underside of car when more than 2 occupants.

Exhaust unhooked from mountings a few times.

Starter motor starting to give up.

Front passenger sun visor broken and just hangs, swinging about.

Cigarette lighter not working (and not just a fuse blown).

Windscreen wiper mechanism snapped.

Front passenger electric window starting to fail.

Cassette player starting to fail.

Clutch replaced twice in 3 years.

General Comments:

Was bought this car by my parents in 2001 as my first own car. Very quickly things started falling off (exhaust, etc).

The interior is cheap, but functional with everything you would expect from a cheap car. The seats themselves are not very comfortable for tall people, but do have adjustable back arches.

Overall a surprisingly fast and responsive drive, considering the engine size and price, but the quality of build is appalling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th January, 2008

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 48 reviews