1989 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1989 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance96500 miles

Summary:

It's great and reliable

Faults:

The oil pan replaced in 2000 (11 years); the drain was striped.

2003 (14 years) gas line rusted out.

Replaced original alternator in 2008 (19 years).

General Comments:

Full V8 power, smooth ride at 22 years old, just like when I bought new back in '89.

I've had her now for 22 years. People tell me you can't buy today's junk and get 22 years out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2011

1989 Ford Crown Victoria LTD LX 5.0 EFI V8 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Land yacht

Faults:

At 110K miles the A/C went out, had it converted to R134a.

At 111K miles the heater core blew. You have to take the dash out of the car; that's why the part is still in the box, and will go with it to its next owner in June 2010.

The top has a tear in it; no problem, fixed it with some super glue.

It needed a new exhaust system put on. 800 bucks gone.

Front rotors needed to be replaced. Thank god for junk yards; 20 bucks.

Other than that, the car has been great.

Oh I forgot, the back windows don't work LOL, plus the tranny slams into overdrive at 65 mph.

General Comments:

The car is HUGE, almost 17 feet long. The car is white with a red top. Very clean for its age.

For her size she will get up and move with the 5.0

It has red velor interior. No rips or tears. Very roomy and the ride is great.

POOR gas mileage; 10 in the city and about 22 on the highway.

The car still has a lot of life in her, but I'm selling it due to its size and living in the city. Good car for a teen to learn with. It's a very heavy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2010

14th Apr 2010, 21:29

Only 10 mpg city?? You must drive with a lead foot! These cars should get at least 15 mpg city... When was the last time you gave the car a good tune-up??

15th Apr 2010, 23:44

10 MPG is definitely an exaggeration. I had an '88 Grand Marquis (Same car, same engine, different name) and mine was always pretty decent on gas for its size. At 135k it had problems shifting in and out of overdrive too, so I kept it in "regular" drive (miss those old cars where you're given the choice!).

Oh yeah and I "crash-tested" mine head-on unfortunately, but walked away from the accident unharmed. Who needs curtain airbags and all that crap when you're surrounded in a couple tons of American steel??

14th Jan 2012, 09:27

I know what my car got. The car ran out of gas in the middle of Philadelphia (Center City). My friend bought me a gallon of gas. I made it 10 miles, then it ran out again, and yes my car was running great too.

17th Jan 2012, 22:34

Fuel gauge stopped working?

1989 Ford Crown Victoria from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 miles
Most recent distance289000 miles
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

The vehicle is well constructed and comfortable with many nice features

Faults:

AC condenser out at 215,000.

Alternator went out at 246,000 (replaced it myself for about $45)

Transmission locked up at 289,000 (debating if I shoud spend $1200 to get it replaced)

Had to flush out the heater core every fall or the heat would be limited about mid winter (did it myself with a garden hose)

General Comments:

Paid $2,200 dollars for vehicle so it was inexpensive for the mileage I got out of it.

Engine still starts and runs well (5.0 liter V8)

21 miles per gallon on highway.

Interior still clean and not warn/very comfortable (cloth)

Used for hauling boat and utility trailers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2008

23rd Jul 2008, 19:54

If you do get the trans replaced, make sure they install a brash tv bushing. The factory tv bushing is made of plastic, which can break and lead to pre-mature trans failure...I'm going to do this up-grade on my '90 CV, which I assume still has the original set-up @ just over 101K.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews