1989 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1989 Ford Crown Victoria LX 5.0 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Trustworty comfortable cheap transportation

Faults:

Brakes were shot and the radiator rotted out. Besides that no further engine work.

General Comments:

Great engine with power yet good on gas when you take it easy. FYI A bit scary in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

23rd Mar 2005, 13:56

I bought a used "89 Crown Vic last year for $1,000--had 104,000 miles on it and perfect body. The only work need was new valve cover gaskets as the old one were leaking. I am delighted with this car and consider it a bargain and plan to keep it as long as it runs well.

1989 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 miles

Summary:

Perfect car for crusin the town

Faults:

This car just keeps on goin. The heating core blew, since I live in Florida and rarely use the heater I don't see how it did, but it did, quite costly to get a new core so just left it as is. The air vents sag a little so you can't really point the air where you want it to go, but because she gets bad enough gas mileage I usually leave the air off and drive with the windows open. The rear door locks don't work any more, when I looked (never have a had a door panel that was harder to remove) the rods that went to the lock were bent and also the rear power windows don't work, you can hear the window motors turn, but nothing happens. There is a hope somewhere in the exhaust, it might be a loose gasket on the headers, but nothing really expensive yet.

General Comments:

I love the car, it isn't a sports car, although its faster than a lot of them these days, but it can sure move when it has too. Plenty of leg room and power everything makes it one of the most comfortable cars I've ever had, has a 12 gallon gas tank which isn't much considering it sucks the gas down. Only disappointment I have of the car is the trunk. I love the trunk its huge and I'm a big of a car guy, you could fit a massive sound system in the trunk of this car and still have room for 2 suitcases. But there is a huge gas tank blocking the trunk from the rear seats so you pretty much have to have a huge system for it to sound as good as other car. But the rear dash is perfect from implanting more speakers I have 4 6x9's in it right now and the spare tire area makes a nice amp rack. Overall I love this car and it definetly changed my mind about ford. It was an extreme bargan and with a little bit of cleaning up is now a very fancy high class looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

12th Oct 2004, 15:41

This review is completely accurate. Especially about the space for the sound system. I'm working on the same thing. The trunk is so massive. I've used the sides as seats before and made a cool little mobile bench. I LOVE THIS CAR!!!

19th Nov 2007, 22:17

Car has an 18 gal tank, not 12. Sounds like your rear window motor transmission is striped. That is the gear part. The door panel is a bit of a pain to remove. Good luck.

21st Nov 2007, 12:08

Regarding fuel capacity... fuel capacity is not 18 Gal. That is for sure. Only 60 something litres. I will check the manual one day and get back to you. I believe it is only 16 U.S. Gallons. Around 65 litres.

And our economy is awesome by the way and our dollar is awesome.

28th Mar 2008, 12:42

It is an 18 gallon tank. I am 100% positive.

23rd May 2008, 16:44

The owners manual says 18 US gallons, around 68 litres.

1989 Ford Crown Victoria LX 5.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance265000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

It is big, safe, reliable, and runs forever!

Faults:

The water pump has gone out twice. The alternator has been replaced. Other than those and regular maintenance , almost nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The car has been surprisingly reliable considering much of the time it has been used for a rural mail route.

It has been a little hard on gas, but I have saved enough on repairs to more than make up for it.

It has a very comfortable interior.

The air conditioning will nearly freeze you to death.

The car feels very stable on curvy roads and at high speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

1st Mar 2007, 23:17

I would have to agree.

My crown vic is an 89 model in the near perfect shape.

I feel it does good on gas.

Parts are some what cheap.

The heater is smokin hot and the ac is ice cold

I'm 19 and it is my second car I plan to get a 91 model in the future.

6th Oct 2008, 09:20

Aye, my Vick is hanging low in the back and I hate that. Do I just need new shocks or what?

1st Sep 2009, 17:05

The car was under a car cover and I asked the owner, what make it was. He removed the cover and there was a white '89 Crown Victoria. I saw it and bought it - this was in 1998. It has been and still is a great car. A bit heavy on gas when running around in town but I get good miles per litre out of town on longer runs. It is an extremely comfortable highway car. My wife and I have just come back from a vacation where we put on just over trouble free 3000kms. I am very much a senior and until I have to give up driving - which I hope never happens - I will keep this great car.

1989 Ford Crown Victoria Police interceptor 5.8L 351W H.O. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.8L 351W H.O. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Power and comfort are awesome together in this vehicle

Faults:

The only problem I have had so far is smoke coming in the vents when the car gets hot. I belive there is a crack in the A/C ducts.

The Transmission is on the way out. It is slushy and has to catch up to the High output 351W.

The power window main switch is faulty.

General Comments:

The power and comfort of the Crown Victoria is unbelievable, even after thirteen years.

The police Interceptor package offers so much extra quality upgrades from the normal Crown Victoria's.

It comes with a sports suspension, quick ratio steering box, lighter drive-shaft, quick axle ratio, oil cooler, transmission cooler, extra large capacity cooling system, dual exhaust, variable venturi carburetor, and high horsepower.

I highly recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews