1997 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L V8 from North America


Best car Ford ever made


Had to replace the inner and outer tie rod on the left side due to an accident. The sleeve had to be replaced too.

General Comments:

The car is very fast, it was a County Sheriffs car. I raced a 5.0 Mustang and beat it.

I love the car and I plan on driving it until there is nothing left of it.

The spot light still works and I use it once in a while.

The car is like driving a tank, but I feel very safe in it. I use the car to transport my kids around, and they really like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2009

1997 Ford Crown Victoria from North America


One of the best cars Ford ever built


1. Intake manifold cracked at about 90000km.

2. Ball joint broke at about 160000km.

General Comments:

Very reliable and comfortable car. I have owned 3 Crown Victorias in past 27 years, and this car has been the best one yet.

Highway mileage is at least 30 mpg (Imperial gallon) and it has been very trouble free. It even has the original exhaust. It has rarely failed to start even at -40.

Steering tends to be a bit vague on highway drives.

I want to buy a new one before they are no longer produced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2009

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L from North America


The car is safe


The cheezy Dupont plastic intake manifold cracked. I had to pay about $1000.00 to have a it replaced.

Also the front headlights are very dim. The car itself runs good, but it has been recalled many times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2008

24th Nov 2008, 12:12

If you got 235,000 out of the original intake that is really good for a police car, I got 66,890 out of mine on a Grand Marquis.

24th Nov 2008, 13:16

I owned a 1988 Grand Marquis that was a very good vehicle. I was able to drive it up to 225k and the transmission went. But it wasn't feasible to fix, even though the motor was in good shape.

25th Nov 2008, 20:40

Regarding the trans failure: Did the plastic grommet on the tv-cable brake? A brass grommet up-grade will help prevent this problem.

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L from North America


This is a fast, reliable, cheap, safe car that you can buy cheap


Replaced all 4 oxygen sensors on the vehicle to stop the check engine light from coming on.

Replace all spark plugs for improve performance.

Replace rear axle fluid at 99,000 per maintenance schedule.

Replaced engine coolant at 105,000 miles per maintenance schedule.

Change oil every 5,000 miles with Motor craft synthetics blend motor oil.

All routine maintenance under the severe operating conditions.

Replaced all 4 tires with fire hawks PV41 high performance tires. P225-70r 15. These tires are V rated at 149Mph top speed. Same tires used by the police department.

No problems to report at this time. Vehicle has been extremely reliable at this time.

General Comments:

The vehicle is extremely fast and handle well around the corner. The vehicle is extremely reliable. Never broke down on me in two years. I have taken this car out of state twice and it just keep on going. I had the vehicle going at 125 MPH. and my foot was not completely pedal to the metal. I believe this car is capable of doing at lease 135MPH or 140mph. I had to slow down because I feel that the car is floating and the tires was not making full contact with the ground. I had purchased the vehicle used. This was an unmarked state police vehicle with a good engine. Never needed a quart of oil in over 4,000 miles of service. The only complaint That I have with the vehicle is that the engine makes a small tappet noise sometimes at low speed. I would definitely purchase another Police Interceptor by Ford. I am a law enforcement officer and I love police cars especially the Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2008

1997 Ford Crown Victoria LX 4.6 from North America


This has been the best car I have ever owned


The only problem that I have ever had with this vehicle was to replace the front end parts that for some reason Ford lubricated at the factory and installed on the car. These were nearly rusted out. I replaced with aftermarket fittings that had grease fittings on them.

The only other problems that I have had have been to replace a brake line, and the lower unit to the air conditioning, which I consider to be normal work to be done on a 1997 vehicle.

Without the lumbar support the drivers seat would be a bear to sit in for prolonged drives. The seats have started to wear a little, but then again it is 11 years old.

The only real complaint that I could say is the yellowing of Ford's headlights. I can see fine, but it looks like crap. I installed after market high intensity bulbs and they are much better than stock low beams.

General Comments:

This car is a great joy to own and drive. It has plenty of power when you need it. It has a great turning radius. I take numerous long trips and the car is very capable and comfortable.

The brakes seem very capable for a full size car, although the traction control is a joke.

I owned a 1994 Chevy caprice before this and I could not keep it off the back of the tow truck! This Crown Victoria has been a dream come true as far as reliability is concerned.

My cousin brags up his 2004 Honda civic, it may cost more in gas to drive this crown vic, but this 1997 Ford will outlast his by years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2008