1997 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1997 Ford Crown Victoria P71 4.6 Gasoline from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

Satisfied

Faults:

Plastic intake manifold replaced at 120,000

Car smokes badly on warm days when stuck in traffic.

General Comments:

She's a tired gal, but what a joy to drive. Lots of room, excellant handling, great heat and A/C. Best of all CVPI's are cheap to buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 Liter V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Faults:

Nothing serious, only minor squeaks and rattles. May have to do some front end work.

My car was Police used, and had a huge heavy guy driving, driver seat leans to the right.

General Comments:

The second I drove this car I had to have it. It has 93000 miles now, but engine and drivetrain are like new.

This thing is unbelievable! The gearing at highway speed is wonderful - full throttle passing is like launching a rocket. It was faster than a'96 Impala SS on the highway. You can literally throw the car into corners at nearly any speed.

I can't think of another car that does everything this car does - maybe a BMW 740? Well I'll take the Interceptor for $ 3500. If you don't mind buying an older car Get One!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2005

28th Mar 2005, 23:51

Doesn't matter how many chases it was in, it can have 1000 and she'll run like a million.

11th May 2005, 23:33

Faster than a 96 Impala SS?? I beg to differ, You've got to be kidding. A 96' Impala SS would eat that Crown Vic alive!! I know this for a fact because I drive Crown Vics and Caprice 9c1 (Imapala SS) same thing. Now a 2005 Crown vic with the 250 HP would be a much better challenge.

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 Liter V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance105236 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Safe, comfortable and reliable

Faults:

I have had transmission problems since 83,000 miles. The first problem was the front pump seal. I bought the parts and a mechanic replaced it. Three months later while the family and I were traveling the same problem happened with the front pump and I lost all of the transmission fluid. This time I decided to do it right and took it to the Ford Dealership and they replaced the whole transmission, due to the previous mechanic replacing it wrong and it needed a new transmission. Ford replaced the original with a rebuilt. Now 8,000 miles later that transmission has died and needs replacing. I am glad that Ford did the repairs, because it is under warranty. I love the Crown Victoria, owning a 1995 previously, I have been super happy, it's just that this thing has happened and I wonder if its worth buying another one?

General Comments:

The Crown Victoria gets great gas mileage on long trips. I can go from Salt Lake City to St. George; 85-95 mph with the air conditioning on and get there with half a tank at approximately 380 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Standard 4.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance179400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Shocks, ball joint, brakes (2 times),tie rod end,&intake manifold.

General Comments:

BEEN A G.M. man all my life, but there's no denying the relibility of this car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Interceptor 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Great car over all

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car and a drive it every where. I have only put gas in it and changed the oil.

General Comments:

I like to car because it is fast does not take long to get cross town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 281 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 281 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carDodge D-150

Summary:

Bye, bye, rice burner

Faults:

I haven't had any problems with this car. Other than the general up keep, I have put virtually no money into the car.

General Comments:

This is a great car! I'm a single man in his 20s and I bought it because of the police package. I wanted a police interceptor since I was 15 and I have finally gotten it. This car is a dream come true. It's low cost compared to my Dodge pickup. It has a perfectly smooth ride. Most of all I can blow past those racers that think they're cool because of the tacky looking spoilers on their car. I bet those street racers never expected a "granny car" to be able to smoke them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

15th May 2004, 22:24

Right on man! even though I have one of those rice burners your talking about, I wish I had a fast American muscle car!

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 26 reviews