1997 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired79642 miles
Most recent distance80579 miles

Summary:

A high performance, safe, reliable fast vehicle

Faults:

The intake manifold was replaced. (This part is covered by a 7 year warranty by Ford regardless of mileage. Mine ends 4-3-04.)

4 new tires were added size P225/70R15. These are all season tires. They are not the police level tires. Ford recommends size P225/70VR15 for Ford Police Interceptors.

Brakes have been replaced all around.

Right front speed sensor for the ABS was replaced.

Fixed a dent on the passenger side front wheel well.

The spotlight mounted on the drivers side is junk and will be replaced with the spotlight you see on the newer police vehicles with the black cover on it.

Not very fuel efficient

16 (City) 23 (Highway).

General Comments:

This is a fast, reliable, safe vehicle.

The car has carpet and cloth seats all around.

There really is not anything bad I can say about this vehicle.

Lots of leg room inside and very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

29th May 2006, 11:17

I just want to point out to readers that the Crown Vic gets surprisingly good MPG. Of course, a police interceptor is not standard; It is a high performance car. 20 MPG is excellent for a large police interceptor!

1997 Ford Crown Victoria LX 4.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

If you can get one -- get one, but used

Faults:

Steering wheel leather wrap wore out after 10,000 miles, ash tray started squeaking at 9,000 and is there until today like a pest. Suspension started falling apart around 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is second Crown Vic I own and I must say that when treated nicely, the car is VERY RELIABLE. Aside from being far from luxury (even though classified as one) the car is a great day-to-day car - a workhorse.

Pros: Extremely reliable. Rear wheel drive (oh yeah, very handy for cornering in the winter in Chicago) makes up for it's size and turning radius. Big sized boat, mafia sized trunk to fit 6 bodies, smooth ride, enough torque to push any 4 cylinder car from your parking spot. Still plenty of power to punch it at 85 MPH and be pushed into your seat.

Cons: No resale value - once you buy it you better drive it to the ground. Cornering should not be attempted at more than 35 MPH due to over-powered power steering and suspension that barely holds this 2 ton monster. Brakes way underpowered -- every 10,000 miles a new set of pads is required. 4 door illusion -- despite it's size no back seat. Engine has no performance edge. Poor attention to details. Luxury price for an average bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

31st Oct 2002, 14:39

I currently own a 93 Crown Victoria. I believe these are great cars and I wrote a review of it on this site. I recently put in an order for the new Mercury Marauder and can't wait until it comes!

4th Jan 2003, 08:09

I have driven Ford police cars for years. The most unsafe car was a 1997 Ford, but you can get a bad from time to time. If you like the 97 you need to try the 2003, it's awesome. The handling of the car has been improved and take off has gotten better. For all around comfort and performance it's hard to beat the Crown Vic, and yes I have driven the Chevy with the LT 1 motor, in fact it was issued to me new in 96 and I gave it up in 98 with 42000 miles for a new ford. I must say again it's hard to beat a Ford.

21st Oct 2003, 11:34

I had a 93' Crown Vic. with 47,000 miles on it. The car was totaled after a stupid cheerleader from my school hit me in the back at 35 mph. The only body damage was on the bumper nd the body above the wheels began to crimp up a little, but not all the way. The main damage was to the frame. I had a trailer hitch and she pushed it into the frame and mashed it all up. Man am I glad I was in that car at the time. Imagine the results of the crash if I was in a Honda! O well, stuff happens. I'm looking at a 1997 used Crown Vic. with 58,000 miles. It doesn't have the air suspension and dual exhaust that I had, but oh well.

1997 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance156548 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

An awesome investment!

Faults:

Absolutely no no mechanical failures from this car since purchasing it from the Kingsmill Police Department in Williamsburg, Virginia, October of 2001.

Transmission had just been replaced when I purchased it, and the only items I have had to replace since that time have been the lower ball joints and a seal in the rear axle.

Serpentine belt started to "squeak" at 152,000 miles, so I replaced that as well.

General Comments:

The car drives every bit as well as the Department's newest 2002 Interceptor, and is in awesome condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

1997 Ford Crown Victoria LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance29500 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A great full size car where comfort and low maintenance easily make up for the lower gas mileage

Faults:

After purchasing the car, I replaced the front brake pads.

Only routine oil and air filter changes since the original purchase.

General Comments:

Wonderful luxury car to own. Smooth, quiet, comfortable ride with good acceleration for its size.

Has power locks, power windows, keyless entry, cruise control and even a valet key (won't unlock the trunk).

Only the driver seat has power and the dashboard gages and switches are larger than necessary.

Gas mileage just short of 20 MPG with a lot of weekly stop and go. Approximately 25 MPG on a longer trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 26 reviews