2002 Ford Escape Reviews - Page 10 of 11

2002 Ford Escape LTX 3.0 from Thailand

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Good all round tough car

Faults:

Hazard lights don't work, I press the button, but it doesn't lock and flash.

Throttle seems too responsive, seems to take off to easily, driven other Escapes that seem to have softer throttle response.

General Comments:

Only just bought this car, used. Fantastic car for the rough roads you get in Thailand, get engine, plenty of power, but the throttle needs looking at, too responsive. The remote central locking only opens the driver's door and I have to press the button on the inside door panel to open the other doors, Ford tell me that's normal which seems odd!

Don't really like the rear seats, seem uncomfortable, fortunately I won't be sitting back there often!

Great value for money considering what other equivilent 3.0L SUVs cost in Bangkok. All in all a great car, with a few teething problems. Love the cruise control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

11th Mar 2005, 03:02

Hi, just so you know, the throttle problem you are referring to is normal. My dad has a Mazda Tribute (same as Ford Escape) and every time I drive it I start out I rocket forward and scare myself. It just takes a little finese and time to get used to it. They are great vehicles. Good luck.

3rd Jul 2005, 16:37

The throttle trouble that you are talking about may actually be a recall issue... mine was!! Phone your dealership to find out!

9th Oct 2005, 23:08

We just bought a Escape today and came across the same key-less entry problem you did (using the key-less entry only opens the drivers door). I asked a friend and they said click the "unlock" on the remote twice. The first time opens just the drivers door then a second time it opens all the rest at once. Maybe a safety feature. I will be looking at owners manual tomorrow to see if any more infor. on that topic.

28th Oct 2005, 17:06

Yup, pressing it twice will unlock all the doors. Also when you lock the vehical with the remote you need to press that button twice also. Pressing it once will only lock the doors, pressing it twice will also set the alarm which will sound a short beep from the vehical.

30th Oct 2005, 21:13

I am an automotive technician, and a 2001 Escape owner. Pressing the lock button on the key fob once will indeed activate the alarm system. The horn will honk by pressing the button twice just to let you know the doors are already locked.

2002 Ford Escape XLT V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles

Summary:

Great except for being left stranded in below zero conditions due to the transmission failing

Faults:

Went through 2 transmissions. 2001-2004 escapes have a problem with the pump in the transmission. It does not work is severely cold weather (below zero).

General Comments:

The escape has the benefit of 4x4 but handles much more like a car. So you have the reliability of four wheel drive in the snow, but you don't have to sacrifice the smooth handling of a car.

It is very scary how the transmission will quite on you and leave you stranded on the side of the road when it's -20 degrees F. Ford will only put in a new transmission and not fix the actual reason that it has left you stranded. If you live in a cold region I do not recommend buying a 2001-2004 escape. I was told that they fixed the problem in the 2005 with a newly designed transmission.

If it was not for the transmission this would be an almost perfect vehicle. It looks sharp, runs great, and is a good price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2004

17th Jan 2005, 12:56

I completely agree with you. I had a similar experience.

The engine block cracked within the one year warranty period. I was very disappointed and swore to never buy Ford again.

Now, its two years later and I have decided to buy another Escape. Hope the 2005 is problem free.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 45 reviews