2002 Ford Escape Reviews - Page 7 of 11

2002 Ford Escape LE V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Great, fun, zippy

Faults:

Until 120000 miles, nothing at all, it has been an almost perfect car. I would suggest it and recommend it to anyone.

General Comments:

Great car, no machine is perfect and they all will break at some time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2007

17th Nov 2007, 01:42

Nothings gone wrong at all for such high mileage in a short time, yet you only give it an 8/10?

WHY?

2002 Ford Escape XLS V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance83331 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

When it's good, it's very good, but when it's bad, it's horrid

Faults:

For the past two years, the car sometimes doesn't start and twice has had to be towed into a Ford dealership.

Due to this problem, idler has been replaced twice, fuel pump has been replaced and it's been in five different dealerships more than a dozen times to find out what is wrong.

My "trunk" lock wore out.

General Comments:

I love my car, it's been my favorite vehicle ever until two years ago when I don't know if I will be stranded or not, will it start today or no?

It has little pick up on the highway, but when it goes, it goes, very easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

2002 Ford Escape LXT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Worst vehicle on the road

Faults:

Stalling after 3 days of ownership. Took 3 months to correct problem.

Replaced 3 CD players because it kept eating my CD's.

Left front axle replaced.

Sunroof doesn't work.

Air bag light comes on and off.

ABS light is on.

General Comments:

I had problems with this vehicle 3 days after I purchased it. It kept stalling. Ford wouldn't do anything about it until I called one of the news stations and they came out and interviewed me and Ford. It took 8 months to resolve that problem. My airbag light blinks on and off. I recently took it in because there was a recall regarding the ABS system. They told me it was my front axle. 2 months after getting that repaired for $900, the ABS light is on and I'm experiencing the same symptoms as before when they told me it was my axle. The sunroof doesn't work. The list goes on and on. I'm contacting a lawyer. I've really had it with this vehicle! I will NEVER buy another Ford again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2007

2002 Ford Escape XLS from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

I feel it failed before it's time

Faults:

The transmission. There was slippage and when taken to the dealership they couldn't identify the problem. We took it to a transmission shop and it was a $3,000 repair.

General Comments:

Although we haven't had any problems with the car until now, a $3,000 repair is not something you want to hear. When looking on the Internet I realized I wasn't alone. It appears Ford Escape transmissions fail. Plain and simple. Maybe someone from Ford can tell me why I shouldn't consider a Honda next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2007

25th Aug 2007, 15:33

Did you change the trans fluid regularly? If not, no automatic trans will last much past 80-90K.

2002 Ford Escape XLT 6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Love the car, wish Ford would help out with an obvious transmission problem!

Faults:

Hi, I am beginning to wish that I had read all these comments earlier! I have a 2002 Ford Escape that I bought brand new. It has been a great car, and I have taken good care of it. Then at 90,000 I'm told that I need a new transmission. I borrowed the money from my parents to replace it, and so far everything has been fine. I have driven it several times on long family trips (5-6 hours) and plan to do so again in a few weeks.

Today my problem is that a light on the dash board stays on most of the time. It is the engine coolant light. The dealer wants to charge me around $200 to fix it, and warned me 8 months ago not to drive with it on. I check the coolant level, and keep on driving! I would like a cheap way to fix it though! I have thought about buying the Hybrid Escape for my next car??? Susan in North Georgia.

General Comments:

I love my car, and would like to drive it a few more miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2007

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 45 reviews