2002 Ford Escape Reviews - Page 11 of 11

2002 Ford Escape XLT 3.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Faults:

I have just had to replace both front wheel bearings at 33,000 miles (luckily still under warranty). Car started to become noisy when driving at 25 mph+, sounded like tire whine from having an aggressive tire tread on dry pavement. Seems much quieter now with the new wheel bearings. Also replaced brakes had to put on new rotors as well. Seems that to be becoming a pricey maintenance vehicle. It's a shame because this car has been babied by my wife. Hate to see performance under tougher conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

28th Mar 2005, 23:08

I, too, just took my 2002 Ford Escape XLT with 33,000 miles on it to the dealer and was told it needs new front bearings and new brake rotors! This after having the transmission serviced because it got stuck in park.

9th Aug 2005, 03:22

I replaced a wheel bearing at 28000 miles; the transmission at 30000. If I didn't purchase the extended warranty, I would be driving this truck off a cliff.

27th Apr 2006, 01:46

Our Ford Escape 2002 model has suffered a similar fate - bearings on both front wheels have gone after only 50,000 kilometres - outside of the normal 3 year warranty. I've been exploring information on other websites and it's claimed that these bearings should last at least 100,000 miles. Then again, I've had my car regularly serviced and the bearings have never been checked. Our service people even asked Ford for an approval on this - no success. I want to get some answers as it's costing me dearly.

14th May 2006, 09:07

I just replaced my first set of front wheel bearings at 122,000 miles.

2002 Ford Escape XLS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

The perfect SUV for most

Faults:

Parking-Brake sensor was a little too sensitive, replaced by dealer under warranty.

Feels pretty well screwed down after a year of ownership.

General Comments:

Most people have ignored the small SUV segment because it was ubiquitous with cramped, underpowered drones. Then with vehicles like the CR-V, they became carlike, but underpowered drones. Now that the Ford Escape is here, I think for families who mostly have less than 5 people in a car should not need any more SUV than this one!

First off, this thing does haul!

The V6, although it doesn't have the sweetest sound, goes. You press on the accelerator, and you haul off. Even when you've got a full car with luggage, it's never short on power. One of my friends who also owned a CR-V claimed that it merely wasted gas. Actually, the Escape manages about 22 City, and 27 highway (mpg)! That's pretty darn good, and it's a Low Emissions Vehicle. So there you go.

The reason I purchased this vehicle was that I constantly make trips through less-than-beaten paths. Although I would not go rock-hopping in this vehicle, it's wonderfully competent at tackling muddy, snowy, and dusty paths that a Front wheel drive car would most certainly not make it on.

The four wheel drive system is pretty brainless... "Auto," or "On." The Auto mode is like the CR-V's... once wheelspin is detected, the rear wheels kick in. The "On" mode is kind of like All wheel drive, suitable for when you're driving on an unplowed road up a steep hill. There's no low range.

If you're going to be tackling some bad trails, It's a good idea to change the tires... the ones that come with the Escape like asphalt, and it makes a whopping difference.

The interior is comfortable, and for the 2002 model year they introduced adjustable front headrests. The interior in my Escape is clad in "Leatherette", and a cloth that reminds me of a mix between those rip-proof-last-forever sofas, and a cloth backpack. But it's comfortable, and the seats hold you in around the curves. Some people have criticized the interior of the Escape, saying it looks "Cheap." Well, I'm not a fan of these new plastic dashboards, but the molding grain Ford used gets my thumbs up. The interior was kind of drab-ish bland, so I purchased a satin Nickel trim peice, and that really jazzed up the interior. The gauges are black-on-white, which certainly adds to the "sport" part of it.

The rear seat is perfect. 2 adults or 3 kids will fit in the back just fine. 3 adults will fit if necessary, too. The rear seat is high up, so the rear passengers have a nice view and tend to get less car sick, and there's plenty of head-foot-knee room, too.

Cargo capability is also excellent. We've manage to pack in 4 suitcases plus our assorted junk and have been able to load it in the Escape and not have the rear window obscured. (Taking out the rear cargo cover helps make this possible.)

Handling - The Escape feels like a car. The steering is perfect... not to light or heavy, and very precise. It goes around curves predictably with little pitch and roll. I should also mention the Escape stops VERY well... even without ABS.

Problems - None so far. The dealership is friendly, and despite how many people say the Escape MUST have terrible reliability because of all of it's recalls (it was rushed out onto the market, remember), it's actualy one very reliable vehicle, especially for a Ford! It still feels as screwed together after 23,000 miles as it did when I purchased it, and I've driven the snot out of this car. Also, none of the recalls have affected my car or involved it.

Compared to my last car, a 1997 CR-V (which was decent... if underpowered transportation), the Escape to me seems like the perfect vehicle. It's fun to drive, secure in the rough stuff, and eco-friendly enough to quell any guilt about SUV's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

10th Oct 2003, 23:35

If you ask me its worth the money to get it loaded. With the leather seats. They are so nice! The color and feel of them make you fell like a millionaire!

9th May 2004, 14:12

You mentioned problems with the brake light. Have you ever had problems about the brake slipping? My dad owns a 2002 Escape and the brakes didn't work while he was stopped on the driveway. Thank you for a positive review.

2002 Ford Escape XLT 3.6L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.6L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carFord Escape

Summary:

Good little SUV for the money

Faults:

Have not had any serious problems yet. Small thing are a bit bothersome. Rubber molding around passenger door is inadequate causing passenger to experience wind noise. Important information sticker that was glued to plastic radiator shroud under the hood fell of. Am experiencing not so good fuel mileage. (16 mpg) (13.5 mpg in winter conditions).

General Comments:

V6 Escape has awesome power.

Comfortable for a 6 ft. person on long trips.

Plenty of cargo space unless you are hauling lumber over 8 ft lengths.

Gas mileage could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2003

11th Jul 2004, 08:36

I bought a used 2002 ford escape, It was the best thing I ever did in buying a suv. I get 23 miles in town and 28 on the highway. It handles great and I enjoy driving it. It is a fun automoble to have. the window molding is the only problem that I have had so far.

2002 Ford Escape XLT 3L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance13000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Acclaim

Summary:

Great 4WD and on road vehicle

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

People say that its not a real 4WD, we took it on a 4WD course and it handled better, got up hills, cornered etc a lot better than all the Jeeps, Land Rovers etc with its superb power and size. All with road tires as well.

A lot of onroad noise, but that's expected.

Very comfy for long trips.

Great power for pulling the boat.

Only bad thing is the fact that it beeps at you for everything that you do, like lights on, keys in, door open, seat belt off, and many more,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 45 reviews