1999 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America


I honestly believe the car is junk and wouldn't recommend it to anyone!


The transmission went out with only 46,777 miles on it.

We have also had problem with the anti lock break sensor.

General Comments:

I think the make and model of this car has serious transmission problems. I can't see how a transmission can go out with such low miles. We were told by the dealer that it has internal problems. They want to charge us $3000.00 dollars to install a rebuild one that is only guaranteed for 3 years or 36,000 miles. That's more than the car is worth not to mention I still owe quite a bit on it. I've read on your site that we are not the only ones that have had problems like these. From what I have read, the transmissions go out in between 30,000 and 50,000 miles. That doesn't sound much better then what I'm dealing with now. Does that sound like a dependable car to you? Who knows what will go wrong next.

This is my only transportation that I have back and forth to work. I drive 40 miles round trip a day and I need a dependable car.

We have spoken to Ford and they tell us that it is not there problem. Someone from Ford needs to step up to the plate and take a good look at these transmissions and take some sort of responsibility. Times are hard and people can't afford to dish out $3000.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

30th Sep 2004, 12:44

I Totally agree my Escort has been through 3 transmission and only has 85,000 miles on it... I would not recommend this car to anyone... go with a Chevy!

22nd Oct 2004, 18:49

I must disagree with you I had a 2003 zx2 and loved it. I had no problems with it what so ever. I wouldn't have gotten rid of it if it wasn't totaled. That car actually saved my life. Maybe the owners of the other zx2's just need to learn how to treat a car. They are very dependable cars.

5th Jun 2006, 14:44

Just want to add that... Ford is known for sucky transmissions in their cars...

They are horrible transmissions.. especially in the taurus's.

15th Jun 2006, 14:31

I would have to disagree with the comment about the Taurus's having the worst transmission. We have had three Taurus's in the past 15 years none of their transmissions went out, and we got well over 100,000 miles on them. We love the Taurus. And they don't have that many transmission problems.

3rd Sep 2006, 16:43

I've never rode in a taurus that didn't have a messed up trans.

1999 Ford Escort Finesse 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


A great family car for the money


Front fog light leaked and had to be replaced.

Rear Alloy wheel buckled after hitting the curb.

Rear cabin of the car rattles a lot.

General Comments:

This car was a bargain for the money.

All the mod cons; CD Player, Air Con, Electric Windows, Central Locking and rear armrest and Headrests.

1.8 TD is powerful and is quick off the mark.

3 Spoke alloys give a sporty look to the car.

Rear High Level brake Light.

Cabin Seats are very supportive.

Excellent on Diesel.

Boot is bigger than a focus and it is way more comfortable.

Shame I didn't have the remote Central Locking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

1999 Ford Escort SE Wagon from North America


Economical and reliable, if looked after


- replaced left outer tie rod @ 58000km under warranty

- repaired broken wires for rear defrost @ ~50000km

- rust on door pillars removed by body shop under warranty

- brakes (pad, rotors, etc) @ ~75000km

- replaced right front and left rear door actuators (for remote-controlled locks) @ 75000km

- replaced rear wiring and connects on back hatch.

General Comments:

Overall this is a reliable little car. It's handling is predictable in snow and the specially ordered ABS works flawlessly. I agree that on long rides it's not the most comfortable car, but I find that the discomfort can be mitigated by using an after-market obus form.

The car uses between between 7L and 8.5L/100km, depending on the mix of highway to city driving.

The paint is not great -- we have many stone chips in different places. An aftermarket hood deflector has helped in this area. Also watch out for rust forming on door pillars, even if you rust-proof your vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

5th Oct 2006, 22:40

I really appreciate this fourm and this persons comments.

I want to buy a station wagon and have seen what I want around town. I wanted to view/read more about a Ford Escort wagon and found this review. What a great review. Thank you!!!