1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 Liter Zetec from North America


A good car for little money


Nothing has gone wrong with my ZX2.

General Comments:

This is a great little car. It is a lot of fun to drive. It's a beautiful car. It definitely turns heads. I love mine.

Some people complain that it is noisy, but I don't think it's very bad. Some people complain that there isn't very much room in the back seat. I've sat back there in the process of cleaning the car, and it really isn't that bad. I'm 5'8" and I sat very comfortably and had room to spare.

The only thing I did to it was add a CD changer and mud flaps.

I really can't think of any reason to dislike the car. I can't give it enough praise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

1999 Ford Escort 2.0 from North America


This car is great


Nothing in my right mind would want to down this car. The Ford ZX2 has great pickup and is OK on gas. So far it handles like a dream. I live in the country and this car takes the windy roads like they are an interstate turn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2002

1999 Ford Escort Finesse 1.6i from UK and Ireland


A great buy!!!



General Comments:

Good family estate car. Excellent Mpg. Nice powerful speedy engine. Great 0 to 60 for a 1.6i. The new ford zetec is FAB!!!

A great buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 Z Tech from North America


This car is a bargain $$ wise. Performance is a question mark as of now


It burns more gas than expected. I am getting about 20 miles per gallon. About the same that I get with my Nissan Pathfinder. I thought I would get at least 30 miles per gallon.

Has anyone else had this kind of issue with their Ford Escort ZX2? If so, what is the problem?

General Comments:

The Ford Escort ZX2 is generally a good car. I have never owned a Ford vehicle before, so this is my first experience with it.

I have noticed that the engine while in idle shakes a little bit too much.

The car handles fast and "tight", I like it.

The lines and curves are very attractive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

31st Aug 2002, 11:09

I'm getting the same problem with the gas mileage. I drive the highway to work and it just sucks gas. Another issue is with the a/c on. The car doesn't run very well with it on at higher speeds and it feels like someone is pulling back on the car every once and awhile.


4th Oct 2002, 23:40

My mom has a Ford Focus and I saw an improvement on the gas mileage when I used a better gas. She usually used Thorton's and got arround 19 to the gallon, I put Chevron in it and got almost 33 on the highway, so try a type of gas you rarely use like chevron or BP.

5th Nov 2002, 10:25

You won't believe it, but mileage went way down as well. LOL

It's the fuel filter guys, change the fuel filter and you'll go right back up to 36 or so. Give it a try.

19th Dec 2002, 10:38

When I put my Zx2 in reverse, it kinda gets stuck in between drive and reverse then catches itself and jolts back wards, anyone else with this problem?


13th Sep 2003, 09:52

I just inherited a ZX2 with 38k on it and much to My chagrin it idles terribly. No one seems to have the answer. I would not buy another.

1999 Ford Escort Finesse 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


A Gem, a must buy!!!


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

An absolute gem of a car. We wanted a family car that is low on insurance, lots of miles per gallon and cheap to maintain. the natural choice was an Escort, they're well bolted together.

We were very pleasantly surprised by how fast it is, 118mph for a 1.6 WOW!!!

It has all the extra's A.C., Sports suspension, sports seats, electric windows. It's a top of the range Mondeo for half the price (and better looking)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

19th Aug 2002, 05:16

I have recently acquired a Ford Escort Finesse. You are absolutely right the car is a "GEM". It's fabulous to drive very comfortable and really powerful. THANKS for the advice.

11th Jul 2004, 09:17

Great review, although I have had the Escort to 125MPH! wasn't liking it, but I was, car is just perfect, once again thanks for the review/advice.