1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 ZETEC from North America


It ran 15.7 at 86.9mph in the 1/4 mile!


I replace the front brake pads at 80,000.

That is it so far. And I beat this car every time I drive it (people ask me all the time "aren't you worried you are going to break something?" I just say NO).

Oh, I do dislike the stock Goodyear Eagle RS-A tires, they are fine new, but they did not wear well and I got bubbles in them that made the car shake at speed.

I now have Kumho 712 tires, very happy with these!

General Comments:

This thing is FAST! I actually took it drag racing with my friends and after some practice I ran a 15.7 sec. at 86.9mph! That is a second faster than almost any Honda at the track that day!

Also with the above mentioned tires this car handles very well!

I have gotten 38mpg without trying on long trips with four people in the car and the air on. I average 32 with some city driving.

Did I mention this car is cheap to buy?

It is the perfect car commuting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

13th Nov 2006, 18:14

I doubt he is exaggerating. My 2 door 1999 escort manual transmission is surprisingly fast as well.

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 DOHC ZTECH from North America


Perfectly Fine for a 16 yr. Old Driver


Engine mount replaced. $50.

Screws missing on clutch assembly. $4.

General Comments:

I bought this car salvage. A ford employee took it out to lunch, and then hit a post on the way back. Stupid, yes, but it hit the airbag sensor dead on. Only damage was the airbags, fender was cracked, and the alignment was thrown. Ford couldn't sell the vehicle so they scrapped it and I fixed it up.

It is super fast on take offs and handles like it would never flip.

I am 16 and drive it into the ground and it hasn't once shaken, rattled, or broken down/died on me.

Very reliable, very cheap, and very easy to modify.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2002

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 from North America


A great first car.


Driver's side window rattles in the door.

Rear brakes squeal.

Check engine light came on. Twice.

Temperature gauge was sticking.

Seats are uncomfortable.

General Comments:

Overall, this car has been good to me. I drive 12,000 miles/year and I haven't had any major problems.

I get the oil changed every 4,000 miles, and I'm about to replace 2 of the tires because I found an air bubble in one of them (not Ford's fault).

For $14,000 you can't beat it. If I was planning to keep it longer I'd probably have gone for a Honda, but it has been a great first car.

The handling is perfect. The pickup is excellent especially when merging with heavy traffic.

I'd say definitely get it if you are looking for a first car or second inexpensive commuter car.

The only drawback I've noticed is that the seats are not comfortable for a long drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2002

2nd Sep 2002, 21:35

I like my car and agree with this review. I was pleased to note the comment about the A/C-engine surge problem. I thought it was just my imagination. I have had the same problem with the check engine light-replace 02 sensors twice in 6 months. Now it is back on again. My mechanic says it is tossing an unreleased factory code upon diagnostic. Anyone have this problem? And more importantly, is it going to be ongoing?

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0L 16v Zetec from North America


Most reliable car I've owned yet


So far, I have had no major mechanical problems, or even minor ones for that matter.

However, it seems like the interior is a wee bit shoddy as little plastic pieces keep breaking off in various locations. For instance, the passenger-side seat tilt handle broke off completely, and I think the glove box handle's next. The interior in my Mitsu Eclipse was much more solid.

Also, the backseat seat-belts are completely broken. They *look* like the work, but they just... don't.

There's a really annoying rattle or buzz that comes from the dash at high speeds. It's difficult to pinpoint.

The overhead light (behind the map lights) doesn't work properly either. It seems to have its own ideas about when to come on and off, no matter which setting I use (on/off/door).

Both front speakers have blown in the year and a half that I've owned the car, and I wouldn't say that I listen to music particularly loud. I keep it *inside* the car, and mostly faded to the back speakers. No idea how those front two went.

Other than that, no problems. :)

General Comments:

The Escort's interior is a bit awkward. I don't see any reason why a larger center console wasn't included for tapes/cds and the like. I DO like the rear cup holder - it keeps the guests from messing up my car. The integrated control panel (the big oval on the dash) is a bit annoying, but livable. Things just aren't located in intuitive places inside. And there are no "Oh Crap" bars.

This car definitely handles "cute", although I liked my Eclipse a lot better.

It feels like it's a bit too high off the ground to be sporty, and the 185/60/15's on the wheels aren't exactly sporty either. I think that's why Ford's included wider tires in the Sport package for the 2000 model.

The suspension's nice, and it generally handles well. I can do at *least* 50 on those cloverleaf things on the highway when its dry without feeling a slip.

Even with the air conditioner on and 100 degrees outside in pure Texas heat, the Escort can accelerate quickly enough to keep me interested. My transmission's starting to get a bit sluggish, but I have no after-market parts, good maintenance records, an extended warranty, and a good lawyer, so if it has a real issue at least it's covered. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2002

7th Dec 2004, 21:20

Although it depends on what kind of car you have and how long you have had it, so far I haven't had any problems with my Autumn Orange 1999 Ford Escort ZX2 "Sport". Of course, I've only had it for about 3 weeks so far. I'm about 6'3 and I still find the interior quite spacious. I also don't think that the car sits to high off the ground or to low to it, which is a plus. I agree about the part where the radio is though, I don't really like the design, and the fact that its impossible to find a good CD player that will fit the circular design. I like the sporty seats, and the stereo sound is pretty nice too (premium speakers). overall, I really like the car... and it helps if you put some nice interior and exterior accessories on it like the green neon lights I have in mine.