1999 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 20 of 20

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10115 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles

Summary:

Nice car, horrible dealerships

Faults:

Clicking front brakes.

Inadequate A/C when car idles.

Engine vibrations.

Sloppy auto trans.

Steering column components.

General Comments:

I REALLY like this car. It is extremely fun to drive and fits me very well. However I am disgusted at the poor service I have gotten from Ford in regard to this car. I tried two different dealerships and still wasn't satisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

1999 Ford Escort SEi 2.0i SOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 2.0i SOHC 16v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance17001 miles
Previous carFord Escort XR4Ti

Summary:

A good performance bargain!!

Faults:

Headlights stopped working. Connectors had fused. Trouble was with the bulbs themselves, caused a short circuit and fused them.

Electric beam leveller quit. Not a standard piece of equipment on a US Escort, but it was replaced with no trouble.

General Comments:

It's an amazing car. Never had any major problems with it at all. She is very peppy, sporting 125 horsepower in its little Single Overhead Cam engine (The 1999 Escort SEi had an uprated engine over the LX and 98, 97 models). Passes very well on the highway.

Of course it does not have nearly the performance of my previous car, the Escort XR4Ti. But it's a good little saloon. Suggest them to ANYONE!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Good performance at a cheap price!

Faults:

Left rear strut leaking fluid. Dealer replaced it under warranty.

General Comments:

The performance for the money is outstanding! The car performs as well as others costing as much as $6000 more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2000

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired83 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

Great overall performance!

Faults:

The ONLY bad thing on my car has been the drivers side window.. when I first got it, it whistled when I was driving, and rattled when it was rolled down. I got it fixed under warranty and that was it.

General Comments:

I love the car. It's a great car for what you pay for it.. along the lines of a Cavalier/Sunfire but there aren't 1,000,000 of them on the street at any given time. It's got enough engine in the car to make it fairly quick...

I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2000

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance15005 miles

Summary:

I hate this car, it's awful..

Faults:

Mostly transmission problems, in fact it has been transmission problems since day one. A/C has went out twice.

General Comments:

This car is a cheap piece of junk, it's not put together right or anything. I mean for god's sake, the bumper looks likes it is about to fall off or something. I hate this car and I wish I would never have bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

12th Oct 2001, 23:11

I have had my car 2 years with 25,000 miles and had to have the transmission worked on. It was so said "repaired" but, it is now in the shop for the second time with the problem worse than before. I hate this car. I wish we had never bought it!!!

10th May 2003, 22:15

I own a 1999 hot zx2 manual with 95,000 miles on it and never had a problem with anything. Only problems I had where people running into me causing body damage.

Stephan - NEW YORK.

28th Sep 2003, 00:22

Apparently, the auto transmission was the only one with problems.

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 Zetec DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Zetec DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance31268 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Best bang for the buck!

Faults:

I have had zero problems so far. Knock on wood!

General Comments:

In the past 25 years I've owned 13 vehicles. The ZX2 is by far my favourite. For $13,200, a really nice package. Reliable, good on gas, sharp looking, great handling, plenty of giddy up. Also, amazing performance results after $1,500 in performance mods. The ZX2 is a fine little ride!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 S/R 2.0 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64 miles
Most recent distance30750 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Walter Mitty's own Pocket Rocket

Faults:

Fuel gauge stopped working at 13,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very good car. It has a lot of power, handling is second to none in its price class. The S/R package makes this thing a Miata beater in the twisties, and although not as refined, this car can put to shame a Honda Civic in power and handling, even though buying a Civic would have put me back another 3000 bucks, compared with what I paid for this car.

EXCELLENT VALUE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance9889 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Best bang for your buck!

Faults:

The only problem I had with my car was with the road noise.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I have ever owned. I drive my car every day, and I drive pretty hard. This car is fun to drive, cheap to run and quick on its feet. I have never had it in the shop outside of oil changes. It has a sporty ride to it that challenges all import compact cars on the market.

Thanks Ford for making such a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 80 reviews