1999 Ford Escort Finesse 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


An Escort with everything bolted on


Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

An Escort with everything bolted on. Same kit as a top of the range Mondeo at a third of the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2000

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America


Death Trap


I just traded my ZX2 in for a Pontiac Grand Am GT due to the ZX2 dying while driving at very dangerous times.

Like crossing at an intersection, died while driving down the highway with cars on my rear-end, died while merging into traffic onto to an interstate highway. This has happened at least 6 times and I no longer want to put up with putting my life in danger and others lives. Ford looked at it and said nothing was wrong with it. It is a Death Trap waiting to happen. Would NOT recommend this car anymore, even though it performs wonderfully and has a lot of get-up-and-go.

General Comments:

Otherwise a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

1st May 2001, 03:41

That's an electrical problem. Write Ford and tell them about your car and your dealer.

2nd Feb 2003, 03:19

My car would do that too until they replaced the air sensor. Hasn't done it since.

20th Jun 2007, 21:31

I had the same problem with my ford zx2 just quitting also. It happened for about a week straight. I took it to a mechanic, and he couldn't find anything wrong with it. Since I've gotten it back about six months ago never happened again. CRAZY HUH?

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 Hot 2.0 liter Zetec from North America


This car hauls butt! And is one of the most practical cars I have owned


A rattle.

General Comments:

I consistently get 34 miles to the gallon on every tank fill up! Though not a muscle car, this car is fast! Best bang for your buck. No more being late to work or emptying your wallet at the pumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

6th Jan 2006, 09:01

I love my zx2 hot... it's a great little car, and its fast too. Its really good in a car wreck tooo... I've had a few in my car and its still in good shape and is really easy to do body work on mine, mine still looks good as new, haven't had any problems with the car!

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 Zetec from North America


Quick, sturdy, fun, cheap!



General Comments:

I bought this car because I wanted a quick five speed front wheel drive. The ZX2 was BY FAR the best bang for the buck. It's quicker and handles better than the rest at under $11,000. I paid $10,688 and this car is a blast to drive HARD! Great for those of us that want a sports car but don't want high insurance or operating costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 from North America


Cheap trash!


Everything! This car is trash! I hate it and I will never buy another Ford again. I mean what new car's transmission falls out only at 5000 miles?!

General Comments:

Ford cars are the worst things on the road by far. I think that they should have to recall all of these cheap piles of crap and refund all of our money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

8th May 2001, 14:35

Maybe it is the driver, I have a 98 and it's great, no problems at all, ever.

30th Oct 2001, 22:35

I doubt if the driver had anything to do with the transmission falling out at that short mileage. That's just stupid to say. The only way that could have happened is if the person was reckless in driving it and shoved it from drive to reverse (most, if not all new cars have automatic shut offs that deactivate the car and keep it motivated forward to prevent transmission damage). Get real and use the head God gave you for more than a decoration.

19th Nov 2004, 07:17

I own a 1999 Ford Escort ZX2 and the transmission in it shifts bad and hard, I have herd a lot of bad things about this car. My opinion is that you should stay away from this make and model.

10th Jun 2005, 23:26

I think you should just stay away from the automatic transmission. I've noticed a lot of transmission problems with Escorts and ZX2s that have automatics...

8th Jun 2007, 21:08

What, how can you say bad things about the ZX2? I have owned a 1999 since new and this ride is Dyn-O-Mite. I also have a couple Mustangs, a 90 GT and a 67 289 and I got to tell you this ZX2 will give them both a run for their money. It can't beat them, but they can't lose the the little ZX2 either. Now I'm going to talk to my Ford dealer about a new Fusion, another fine example from the Blue Oval.