1999 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 DOHC Zetec from North America


The world's most underrated pocket rocket!


Numerous small complaints all fixed under warranty. Excellent dealer service! The constant control relay module blew, resulting in no A/C. Easy do-it-yourself fix, but the darn thing was $200. The serpentine belt tensioner blew at about 80,000. Should have done it myself for the $200 this mishap cost. Timing belt went about two weeks ago...$375 and a couple of return trips to the repair facility later (one of the cams was misaligned resulting in computer error) and the thing runs like new. Quality of the cloth upholstery is so-so, but has worn quite well. Sheepskins are definitely called for.

General Comments:

If you can find a good used one or a leftover 2003, buy it. Performance is on a par with far more expensive cars, aftermarket parts are plentiful - although nowhere near what you can find for a Honda - and overall quality is excellent. Don't let that "Made in Mexico" tag fool you. If you're buying used, have the transmission checked, especially the automatic. No problems with mine, and I'm still on the original clutch. Still, ZX2 discussion boards are full of transmission horror stories.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

15th Apr 2006, 17:03

I am a proud owner of a 1999, Ford Escort ZX2. Although recently my constant control relay module has blown out. The problem I have is that I have no idea where it is located, or even what it looks like. I would rather try and get it fixed myself, so I don't have to pay a ton of money for this part. If anyone has any information that could help me, I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

17th Mar 2008, 16:20

My car also needs a CCRM and right before I was going to replace it, the car won't start. No sounds, no dash lights, nothing. Battery is fully charged. Could this also be due the the faulty CCRM or do I have a "new" problem? Thank you.

1999 Ford Escort ZX2 1.8 from North America


Wonderful little car for your money and has been very dependable at 125,000 miles and still going!


My alternator went out at 85,000 miles. (Cheap repair under $100.00 DIY)

My Air conditioner went out at 90,000 miles. ($300.00 to repair computer sensor)

Timing belt broke at 118,000 miles. (Another cheap repair $60.00 DIY)

All of these things were only considered minor to me, because the total cost of repairs was under $1,000 and that's pretty good for having owned the car for nearly 5 years and having put over 100,000 miles on it!

General Comments:

This car has a lot of get up and go.

Great gas mileage! I usually get around 38 mpg.

Paint job is still excellent!

Love the body style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

1999 Ford Escort SE from North America


A very Poor Investment


Transmission quit after 37,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is very uncomfortable on the highway and within the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2004

2nd Oct 2007, 23:03

Well, that review sucked.

1999 Ford Escort flight 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Excellent better than the focus


Clutch broke.

Left wheel bearing went.

General Comments:

1999 escort 1.6 16v flight the excellent zetec engine 0-60 in 8.4 seconds top speed 140 I've done 135 so it is capable.

Cheap insurance for the power.

Mine is ex-police so it is has a modified engine will beat 2.0 BMW on the lights boy racers don't have a chance.

Good price for a 1999 car with all the extras.

Very good car for the money even though the engine has done 135000 it is still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2004

22nd Jan 2004, 15:47

Ooooohhhh dear.

1) Apart from a few traffic cars (Omegas, Volvo T5's and the like) Police cars are NOT tweaked, and those that are tend to be tiny modifications for driveability rather than outright power. Someone has been telling you porkies mate. This info comes from a trusted mate of mine who has worked in the service department for West Mids police for 11 years.

2) Even if they were, you could not get 130 bhp from a 1600 Zetec (90 bhp as standard) without major tuning work running into thousands of pounds and with massive effect on driveability. This simply would not happen on a car which is likely to spend most of its life on panda duties around town and such like. Also, ask yourself if they were out to create a power monster, why would they spend all this money modding a 1600 when Ford were flogging the 1800 version for just a few hundred quid more, which would make 130 bhp with a £150 chip swap? Also, at police prices, the 150 bhp RS2000 would have only cost a grand or two more. Get real.

3) I seriously doubt it does 140. The Cosworth has 227 bhp and only manages 150.

4) Better than the Focus? Yeah, OK...

12th Jun 2009, 12:05

To be honest, I own the same car, and yeah, ex-police with 140bhp... don't think so, the last comment is true. However I would argue the fact that 140mph is unlikely. My car is standard with 90bhp and has managed 130 so far, so 140 is possible from the little 1600 Zetec.