2000 Ford Escort ZX2-R 2.4 from North America


FORD = Fall Off Road Dead!!


Oh boy! Owning this car for almost 10 years from brand new...

Power steering shot at 30,000.

Tranny went at 60,000.

Both oxygen sensors shot at 80,000.

Tranny shot AGAIN at 100,000.

All tierod ends and parts that hold all that crap went every 30,000.

Head gasket and radiator went about every 40,000 miles.

Seats are worn bad.

I would NOT buy this model again... but I would buy another model.

General Comments:

For the most part, if you have the money to fix this car ALL the time, it can be a very nice car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2008

20th Feb 2010, 04:14

I love the acronym that you came up with! I was going to write a scathing review on the worst piece of crap I've ever driven, but other people's horrifying experiences kinda humored me. This model/make/company is so horrible it's laughable. I do not know why they continue making cars to these days. To call them cars is an overstatement. Let's just say owning an Escort ZX2 almost made me want to swear off cars altogether. Never, ever, ever, ever buy a Ford!!!

20th Feb 2010, 22:19

Fall Off Road Dead? Um I think you mean Found On Road Dead, or Driver Returns On Foot.

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 Zetec from North America


Best kept secret


None yet.

General Comments:

I love this car! It's fun to drive and nothing has broke in almost 20K miles of hard driving. It got me from Portland, OR to Picture Butte, Alberta Canada in about 3 tanks of gas (12gpt = about 40 gallons) and ran like a champ the whole way.

I highly recommend this car to anyone who wants to drive fast or just save gas. It has a top speed of about 150mph and gets there in good time. These are great little cars; get them while they last!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2007

2000 Ford Escort zx2 from North America


Overall I think it is a descent car


I have a 2000 Ford Escort ZX2, I have to crank it twice for the car to start, could it be a possible weak fuel pump?

General Comments:

The car runs good, vibrates at idle, I understand this is normal for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2007

24th Oct 2010, 20:10

Having to crank it twice before it turns over is most likely from the fuel filter needing to be replaced... I have a 1998 Ford Escort SE, and had that same problem. Once I replaced the fuel filter, it was back to normal... Hope this helped.

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 1.8 from North America


Rock solid reliable


Absolutely nothing. Other than routine maintenance, I have had zero problems with this vehicle.

General Comments:

Rock solid reliable. I purchased my 2000 ZX2 in 2003 with 55,000 miles on it. As of 4/2007 I have yet to have any problems with this vehicle. Other than routine maintenance, I have not had to replace any parts or have any work done on this vehicle.

There is not much room, but then again I bought this vehicle knowing it was an economy car.

My ZX2 gets good gas mileage, it averages about 30 MPG in the city and 34 on the highway.

For an inexpensive economy car, it has plenty of power.

I would highly recommend this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2007

10th Apr 2007, 10:50

Having driven a number of Fords I have to agree that they are GREAT cars, and very reliable regardless of import propaganda to the contrary. The ZX-2 is a tremendous used car bargain and offers great reliability and very adequate performance. Congratulations on a very good car.

20th Feb 2010, 04:24

Cheap to buy but VERY expensive to maintain. When even the mechanics in different shops are left scratching their heads trying to figure out what has gone wrong this time, you learn from your mistake quickly.

2000 Ford Escort zx2 2.0 from North America




Bad and loud vibration when I step on it. It goes away when I get into top gear.

General Comments:

Its been pretty good to me not many problems beside the shake everyone seems to be talking about. Overall it's a pretty good car just trying to figure out what is up with this noise so if anyone knows please let me know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2006