2000 Ford Escort ZX2 S/R 2.0 Zetec from North America


High bang for a low buck


Noticed a little oil on the Valve cover, could hardly notice but had the gasket replaced at 9 000km under warranty.

General Comments:

With the S/R package which has the lowered suspension - it handles great.

Great pickup off the starting line. The stock short-throw shifter sure helps.

Great interior with a center console which makes the controls easy to reach.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

20th Sep 2004, 21:13

Gasket is main escort problem. It maid of plain rubber. easy and cheap to replace.

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America


What was I thinking?!!!?


This car cannot stay straight, it either drifts to the left or the right depending how the tires are positioned, which means I cannot have them rotated.

My anti-lock brakes give out if I hit a bump in the road while braking.

The noise level is horrible, but I knew that when I purchased the car. When I accelerate after being at a complete stop there's a loud thumping sound that comes from my empty trunk.

What really gets me though is that the windshield wipers don't even work!

General Comments:

This car is horrible, I would never recommend this car to anyone I know. I discourage people from buying Ford products. Unfortunately, I have learned that Ford do not stand by their products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

23rd Sep 2001, 13:21

Granted I owned a 1992 Escort LX, but that car was extremely reliable, peppy, and got great gas mileage. I'll admit I'm biased towards Ford products, and have never had an issue with them standing behind their products.

7th Jan 2002, 20:10

I've bought a 98 zx2 and had it for 2 years without a problem. Traded it in for a 2000 model fully loaded but with a manual tranny. Had it for a year with no problems.

No complaints from me.

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 S/R 2.0 Litre DOHC from North America


A VTEC killer


Left front strut/damper malfunction, resulting in knocking when making left/right turns. Fixed.

Gas tank seal broke at the neck, resulting in a pungent raw gas smell. Fixed.

General Comments:

I can't say enough good things about my S/R. It will beat any Civic Si any day! I put a header, cat back exhaust, an air box conversion, and some plug wires - and I am estimating that the car has close to 160hp now. It sure feels like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

15th Dec 2002, 08:49

Do you actually own a S/R? It sound like you are simply bashing the dudes impression of his car.

I am aware of the output of the engine. However, you seem to have the idea that it is a small car engine and nothing more.

Have you ever driven a "regular" 4 banger? Apparently not, since you fail to point out that most 4 bangers would be better off as lawnmower engines. Not so the S/R. It is a well regarded engine in the automotive world, (not your's obviously) and performs as a well tuned engine should. At least a factory engine.

You state that the S/R would throw a rod at 170 hp. Where did you get this figure?

A lot of people throw statements around without any qualifications. These are just words.

Provide evidence, and your statements may be taken a little more seriously.

Till then, happy motoring.

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 SR 2.0 Zetec from North America


Great off the start - turns into junk FAST


This car idles so rough that the whole thing shakes. This is worse with the air or heat on.

It bogs out while driving on the highway. This is also worse with the air or heat on.

We have also had problems with the car stalling while it is idling or at an intersection.

We have tried taking the car in to the dealer to have this all fixed, but they tell us it is all characteristic of the car.

General Comments:

This car has a lot of get up and go. It is a great looking car and performs well.

However it has some problems that are very serious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

20th Jul 2001, 09:48

Check the dealer, there is a recall for engine mounts.