2000 Ford Escort ZX2 S/R 2.0L Zetec from North America


S/R definitely stands for Street Racing package!!!


Nothing so far ;)

General Comments:

Very peppy!

Handles great!

The S/R package was well worth the $1500.

There are plenty of mods available for this car.

Coming from a 99 Mustang GT, I was amazed at the power in this little car!

Gas mileage is remarkable!

Beat deal on the market for $15,000.

Only fault is there is no armrest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

2000 Ford Escort ZX2/SR 2.0 Zetec from North America


34mpg, quick, cheap and reliable


Something is leaking from around the temperature gauge needle.

General Comments:

The S/R package is why I bought the car, and for $1500 more, it makes this car.

Good brakes and handling.

The performance chip should be the ticket for power.

My biggest disappointment is that the factory alloys are wretchedly ugly and look nothing like the press release for the S/R.

It's a shame Ford has to build these in Mexico, 'By American' is truly past history.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 s/r 2.0L from North America


Great car for the cost



General Comments:

I was looking for Focus ZX3 or an Escort ZX2 and ran across the ZX2 s/r. It performs and handles great. It is very fun to drive. It is too bad Ford is not selling the ZX2 with the s/r package anymore. I would purchase another in a second.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2001

31st Mar 2001, 17:16

The parts that make a S/R an S/R, are available from Ford to make any ZX2 an S/R.

1st May 2001, 03:01

I KNOW!!! Why did they stop making the ZX2??? Instead they make a ZX3 that is an ugly focus? UGH! At least the ZX2 Looked good! I had this '84 Topaz with a modified '85 EFI HSC 2.3 and would blow the doors off camaro's on the interstate all the time and got MY doors blown off by a ZX2. "An Escort??" I said.

I was so upset when they added the speed limiter on the '98s and DISCONTINUED them after that! What an ill fate for the poor ZX2, only 2 years of production...

These cars will be worth a lot some day.

14th Nov 2002, 13:46

I Have a 2002 ZX2 they were not discontinued it handles and performs excellent.

8th Feb 2003, 04:05

He was talking about the Zx2 s/r.

13th Mar 2003, 04:02

I have a 2000 ZX2S/R, and if it has a limiter, it doesn't cut off until after 130 MPH. Not that I needed to go that fast to beat anyone. It's just a really fast car, and it is a shame that Ford stopped making them. They handle great and are fun to drive. But if you add some performance parts and a body kit, these cars are sick.

14th Aug 2004, 19:17

I have a 200 ford escort R/S yellow and I wanted to see how much it would be worth, it has only 15,000 miles on it. The car is not driven much.

21st Mar 2006, 12:10

My 2000 ZX2 S/R is yellow too. The crank was moving about 1/16 of inch causing the need for a new engine. The mechanics did a marvelous job, and I cannot say enough for FORD. Since the engine replacement at 14,000 miles, I now have 36,000 miles and only drive in Summer and only when I want to take a DRIVE.

This is a great performing vehicle, one of a few, 500 black, 500 red, and 1,000 yellow, and it is to be treasured.

I use my Yellow Escape for its work duties and relief of my specialty S/R. I consider the S/R an investment.

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 HOT 2.0 from North America


Beat the pants off of the Focus


Several transmission problems.

Brake sensor.

OEM cassette player.

Something in the steering sensor.

General Comments:

This car has great performance for something in its class, it handles great as well.

The A/C is less than desirable though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2001

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 S/R 2.0 Zetec from North America


CHEAP performance - get one!


Nothing so far :)

General Comments:

Well, I know that everyone has their problems, and that generally speaking, people don't usually come to these boards except when there is a problem so...

I have owned Fords since 1988 after I found the light and switched over from General Motors. This vehicle seems to hold up to the high standards that my other 3 Fords have. It is a very fun car to drive, and the performance parts really make a difference. It handles as well as my Mustang, which has a bunch of after-market frame stiffeners and various other performance goodies.

As far as the powerplant goes, it runs very well, but I did notice that it sounds like one of the exhaust shields is loose. Big deal... for the price I paid for it $12,700 tax, title out the door, I defy anyone to outrun me :)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

1st May 2001, 03:05

So YOU are the guy who blew me away in my Topaz. Just wait until I get my T-bird finished!

23rd Jun 2001, 15:06

Has the shifter ever felt like it was sticking (during shifts) when it gets hot outside??