2000 Ford Escort ZX2 s/r 2.0 zetec from North America


This is the best car I've ever owned


The only thing that has gone with my ZX2, between me and my brother owning the car, is the trany went out at 30,000 miles, and Ford was more than happy to switch it out.

General Comments:

Me and my brother both like this car a lot.. so far it has a body kit, reverse glow gauges, 5" racing tach. upgraded HKS exhaust, stage 2 racing clutch, cold air intake, new drilled and slotted rotors, 17" chrome rims, low profile tires, and soon to have a garret t3 turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2006

14th Apr 2007, 12:26

Did you ever get that T3 turbo on your car? Would like to know what needed to be changed and what kind of boost your running?

2000 Ford Escort 2.4 from North America


I Love My Car!


My transmission went at 60,000 miles.

Seats have started to wear.

Pulley for my timing belt broke.

General Comments:

This car is faster than most people think. I was going just as fast as police.

However, this car is a pain if you have children and you only have a 2 door.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

3rd Mar 2006, 15:46

Exactly how fast do police go? I'd like to know seeing as my metro is ready for a race. lol j/k.

A 2.3 auto escort is a POS unless you want economy.

3rd Mar 2006, 18:19

Wow, around here if you challenge the police to a drag race they arrest you.

Maybe you're talking about the fashion police.

2000 Ford Escort zx2 from North America


I love this car!!


A/C went out at 70,000 miles.

Alternator went out at 98,000 miles.

Head gasket, timing belt and various valves blew at 100,000 miles.

Now needs new battery and/or battery cable.

General Comments:

I have completely enjoyed this car during the three years I've had it.

My only complaint is that parts for this car tend to be quite a bit more expensive than for other automobiles.

I've put so many miles on it in such a short time that I can't really complain when it needs a new part. It handles well. I've noticed that it idles differently than my previous vehicles; it sounds like it is about to die, but never does.

Right now I need to replace the battery cable, but I don't know where the starter relay is. Can anyone help me with this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

26th Mar 2008, 18:55

My grandmother bought the car new and give it to me 7 years later, and I wrecked it. Fixed it to where I could drive it, and it has never had anything go wrong.

2000 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 litre, DOHC 16-V Zetec engine from North America


Cute car without a lot of hassles!


When idling, the whole car vibrates (I'm told this is due to a problem with the motor mounts).

General Comments:

I really like this car. It has good pick up, and is VERY good on gas (on a recent long distance trip I was averaging 42 MPG). Also, it's sporty looking, and the trunk is quite large.

The one thing that really bothers me is the vibration. It's so bad that the steering wheel shakes, as does the exhaust pipe. When I bought it, I noticed the vibration and was told that before I purchased it they would fix it. Well, it was in the shop for 2 days, and came out exactly the same. Why is this? Is it the motor mounts, as I've heard from many other people who own this type of car, or something else?

Also, though this sounds kind of stupid, the oil filter is a little difficult to get to. Could they jam these things further up in there? I might be a woman, but still, I like to be able to change my own oil and do routine maintenance myself, and this makes it kind of difficult.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2005

25th Mar 2006, 18:35

This is to all who have a Ford with the Zetec engine, not just the writer of this review: don't expect the vibration during idle to go away. It is a minor problem that seems to exist in this engine. I had a 97 Ford Contour, and it also had this problem. I found out at contour.org that many others have this problem, especially as the vehicle gets into the higher mileage. It's not a big deal, but it's really not fixable, more like it is treatable.