1991 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1991 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.0 EDI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 EDI Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Good buy if you only plan on keeping it for a few years after it's made

Faults:

3 Transmissons, first one was from pulling a boat a lot. next 2 were from poor design. 1 water pump. new front brakes every 2 years like clock work. Start off getting them changed at local shops then got a lifetime set of brake pads from store and started changeing them myself. Only takes about 1 hour now. Driver back door handle (the part the opens the door) broke off. Power steering pump has gone out once, replaced and worked fine ever since. Center Console broke, ford had a replacement made from metal, has worked fine ever since. 1 head gasket blew, 1 new engine. Great car, but not for hauling, very loud lifter pings if you haul, and currently I'm having U joint problems. 1 paint job from fading paint.

General Comments:

Great car if you want a long laster that needs steady work. breaks are the worst problem I've had. Car has a nice look and drives good, doesn't take bumps so well, but new shocks didn't fix that, she may just be old. Overall a reasonable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2004

17th May 2005, 09:31

I myself own a 1991 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer Edition. Right now it has 254,000 miles on it. My Explorer has an original engine, and transmission. The only Problems that I have had with it are the brakes and the batteries. And the center console broke. Its been a great vehicle for me and never refuses to start.

1st Jan 2011, 01:13

My Explorer is 1991. It has about 300k on the body and drive train. It rocks overall. It will go anywhere. Had it on a bank, about 45 to 50 degree bank. It walked right up the thing. With mine it's the lifters, one new engine.

1991 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

The best vehicle I have ever driven and I have had corvettes and porsche's in the past

Faults:

Transmission was bad when I bought it... I knew this though... replaced the a arm bushings.

General Comments:

This truck is a great ride... I love it and would strongly recommend it to anyone. The comfort is outstanding and the reliability is second to none.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2004

1991 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

She's been good to me; a fine girl.

Faults:

Bought used with high mileage and abused transmission, but good price. Rebuilt the transmission and has been fine ever since.

Water pump went out and blew the heads before I could get to a stopping place. Fixed and good now.

Replaced camber shims (4x4) & front coil springs, installed Bilstein shocks all around. Good now.

Leather seats worn badly from too many wet bathing suits and salt water. OK.

General Comments:

I expected to fix her up when I bought her and she has responded well to the maintenance and attention.

I plan to get another 100,000 miles before I move up.

I wouldn't hesitate to take her anywhere at a moment's notice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

1991 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carDodge D250

Summary:

Overall, a great truck

Faults:

Bought it from original owner, knowing it needed transmission work. Paid $1000 for it. Had the tranny completely rebuilt for $2000. Still, not too bad a deal. Other than that, rocker panel rust.

General Comments:

Comfortable, lively. Has the push rod 4.0. Runs smooth, idles nice. Change the oilr every 2k miles. 4 wheel drive works great. It's my daily driver, and I beat on it pretty hard, but it takes it very well. Gas mileage is a bit better than my old Dodge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2003

1991 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

Great vehicle if you can work on it yourself

Faults:

Engine fire/fuel leak, luckily we had a fire extinguisher.

Air conditioning leak, we just keep filling it every 2 months.

Strut bushings replaced.

Clutch fan replaced.

Power window motors died, did a workaround fix using nuts, the plastic parts are no good.

Driver door arm rest fell off.

Brakes replaced, calipers 1 time, rotors 2 times, and pads 3 times.

Tires - replaced all 4 tires 2 times.

General Comments:

Purchased used in 1999 with about 50,000 miles on it. Immediately took it on a 3 month driving trip across the U.S. putting on 13,000 miles. Only problems on the entire trip was the clutch fan and tires.

Very versatile vehicle, it's a truck and a car.

The split fold down rear seats are great.

The ride is sitting up high and there's plenty of room. We like that.

Sturdy vehicle, doesn't make you feel like you will get crushed like a bug if you do get in an accident.

We still have it and really like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2003

4th Jun 2003, 17:55

I am about to buy a 1991 explorer and when the guy started it up on the lot it sounded like the fan clutch was going bad, but the noise got better after a bit I was just wondering how much they cost.

22nd Sep 2004, 15:53

I have a 91 explorer and I have to replace the cluch slave cylinder other than that I love it. except all, but the driver door handles fell off and it only has 83,000 miles on it. It is a great suv for any one.

30th Nov 2006, 11:24

Explorers are poorly designed inside, door handles breaking is common. The fuel lines that connect to the fuel filter are a pain; if the o-rings inside go bad, Ford does not make new.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 27 reviews