1991 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1991 Ford Explorer XLT 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired212000 kilometres
Most recent distance267000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Most fun you can have, with your clothes on!!!

Faults:

Transmission failed at 220000kms.

Cylinder head cracked at 250000kms.

General Comments:

This has been a wonderful vehicle to own and drive. I 4x4 with it all the time. I have seen more back country with my beloved X then you could imagine. After the engine failed I figured it was a good time to do something that Ford should have done from the factory with this year of Explorer, I dropped a 5.0L V8 and a custom AODW transmission into it. I will keep this truck until gas vehicles are outlawed or gas is no longer available. Oh, and that roll over thing,... What a load of hog-wash. My truck has a 5 and a half inch lift and I have never come remotely close to rolling it. EVER!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

8th Mar 2009, 16:03

What changes did you have to do to install a V8? Wouldn't it be better with a V8 and manual trans with a good clutch?

1991 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

The best Sports Utility Vehicle around

Faults:

Every once and a while the engine will back fire and blow the vacuum hoses off which causes the engine to run really rough. The back door inside handles linkages are weak and bend after time requiring adjustment. There is a slight vibration around 45 mph (probably u-joints). The u-joints still look like they are the originals. The drivers side hub is hard to get disengaged when trying to get out of four wheel drive. Poor gas mileage, of course I am used to a Grand Am with a little Quad 4 Engine. I average about 22 miles per gallon on the freeway and 15 to 17 miles per gallon in town. At least its not gallons per mile like some vehicles.

General Comments:

I have added a remote start with key less entry so it is more a late model Explorer. I upgraded the sound system from premium to Ford JBL sound system. I cut out the Subwoofer box from a 6.5" woofer to a 8" woofer which improved the sound greatly. This is the perfect vehicle. It has performance, off road capability, but is still comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

1991 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 kilometres
Most recent distance269000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

The luxury vehicle of SUVs

Faults:

The transmission went, but it was my fault.

Noisy lifters when it is under load.

General Comments:

I love my Explorer.

The interior is comfortable and roomy for my family of four plus luggage and other needed things.

Vehicle goes everyday back and forth to work without a hitch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

1st Aug 2003, 17:06

We bought an used 4x4 1991 ford explorer automatic and have had it for 9 months, we had a problem with it slipping into 4x4 and wouldn't come out for awhile. Just lately we were driving home and there was a problem it wouldn't shift it would just stay in the same gear. Has anyone else had any problems with theirs?

22nd Jan 2004, 17:38

I just purchased a used 1991 Ford Explorer XLT. Had a tune up and brake cable replaced. Some brake work. My question is about gas millage. I am only getting 10 mpg. Most reviews and specs I see say 15 in city 20 highway. Any ideas what causes such a low MPG?? What are you getting? Any thoughts on the subject appreciated

Ann.

1991 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer XLT 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance2500000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

There's a reason people call them

Faults:

Blown Head Gasket.

Caught on fire on freeway burned to the ground.

Electric motor for Transfer case replaced.

General Comments:

The Explorer is short on power as compared to same year Blazer.

Very comfortable, with a nice ride.

The automatic hubs would sometimes stick after disengaging.

Overall, I was dissatisfied with the Ford Explorer, in terms of power and reliability.

Considering it caught on fire and burned to the ground while I was driving it, I will never purchase another Ford as long as I live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2002

1991 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.0 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 kilometres
Most recent distance166500 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A money pit

Faults:

Transmission blew up at 72000km.

Steering box failed at 96000km.

My head gasket blew at 142000km.

Left engine head cracked at 14200km.

Water pump failed at 144000km.

Transfer case blew at 149000km.

Radiator blew at 154000km.

Oil pan gasket leaked at 15400km.

Wiper motor burned at 15900km.

Rocker panels badly rusted.

General Comments:

This car is the worst lemon I ever owned.

I have completely lost faith in Ford.

I know own a Honda, and what a difference in the quality compared to Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2002

5th Feb 2009, 09:46

Some are just lemons, we have to face it, not all vehicles that come off the line are as perfect as the inspection says. And if the vehicle is used, you really have no idea how it was treated before you bought it. You can't fault the company as a whole for a few bad apples.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 27 reviews