1999 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 14 of 17

1999 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18550 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carHonda Passport

Summary:

A reliable 4 wheeling machine

Faults:

The only thing to go wrong with my explorer was at 57,000 miles the 4 wheel drive system somehow engaged by it self and would not switch back to 2 wheel drive. Dealer cost to fix this was 500.00 for parts and labor.

General Comments:

This SUV is rugged, good looking and reliable. If you put a $3,000 dollar stereo in it and a neon under body kit on it like I have you will enjoy it better.. However if you plan on riding with 4 people in the vehicle it will be a tight fit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

1999 Ford Explorer XLT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Love/Hate Relationship

Faults:

Transmission Problems.

General Comments:

I'm not too sure about the techincal problems of this car, since it was not mine, but I drove it well over 50 times.

Love:

Comfort, never has cloth interior felt so good, you feel as if you are on top of the world when you drive one. The Explorer is quite luxurious for an American car, it has pretty much everything except for leather and seat warmers. The car acclerates well and drives rather smooth. You get a general feeling of power when you drive one, great car. Nothing can beat it when you have to drive in the snow.

Hate:

Knowing you spent 30G+ on an American car when Japan is putting out nicer ones now for about the same price. The Explorer has many problems if not driven correctly, do not put in hands of a bad driver. The car depreciates in value almost as quick as a Camaro! I would never ever in my life buy a new Explorer, you can spend 25-35 thousand and a few years later and some miles find it out to be much less. My Explorer was 32G in 99' now it is worth 15G if I'm lucky.

If you can get your hands on one for cheap and you need a SUV, the XLT will do, but I don't recommend it. It is by no means gas efficent either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

1999 Ford Explorer XLT AWD 6 cly SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cly SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9393 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carVolvo 940

Summary:

A good vehicle, but TOO expensive to maintain

Faults:

In addition to the recalls for tires, driver's seat and phantom wipers:

Upper Ball joints at 25,000 miles.

Lower Ball joints at 30,000 miles.

Upper Ball joints at 46,000 miles - which were replaced less than 30 days later again - listed as defective!

Upper & lower ball joints, sway bar at 84,000 miles.

General Comments:

The vehicle is great in winter weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2003

1999 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

A luxurious ride with minor inconvenience

Faults:

After test driving about 18 Explorers, they all seemed to have a common fault that the one I bought did not: the LCD screen on the stereos were all dead, or at best, intermittent. Now the display on my stereo only works intermittently, too. This appears to be a very common occurrence in the late model Explorers, with a variety of types of sound systems. At least the stereo works, it is just impossible to tell what radio station or CD track is being featured.

The clock is integrated into the stereo, so when it is on the fritz, the clock also does not work.

General Comments:

This vehicle has great acceleration.

The comfort is unbeatable.

Sound is a bit high (i.e. wind noise).

This edition has terrific luxury features. One favorite of mine is the "Home link" system, which allows you to open a security gate, turn on the lights in your home, and open your garage, all from the same push button device on the visor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

21st Jan 2008, 14:05

Mine LCD does not display either, rather only when it wants too. Did you ever figure out how to fix it?

1999 Ford Explorer Sport 5.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Decent truck, minor annoyances

Faults:

Check engine light - code was "front and rear left bank" running lean.

Check engine light again after oxygen sensors replaced.

Squeaky clutch.

General Comments:

Nice looking car interior and exterior.

Handling is very good, acceleration is good.

Gas mileage is not good at all. About 14.5 a gallon city driving, and 18 highway.

Check engine light has been my constant companion so far. Got another friend with the same type vehicle who has the same problem. Don't expect problems already with a 99, being used to an 89 Honda civic that never had engine trouble.

It's a decent car, but I anticipate trouble and will sell soon and go back to the reliable civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

15th Apr 2004, 08:14

I have had the following problems with my 2000 explorer sport:

1. Air bag cable malfunction.

2. Radio combination cd/tape player malfunction. Cd section won't feed any longer.

3. Suspension system left rear is dragging.

4. Gas mileage is terrible.

5. Rear seats flip up if someone sits on the front edge of the seat.

I am very disappointed in ford per this vehicle.

29th Nov 2010, 19:11

When the check engine light is on, and the codes say left bank lean and right bank lean, the problem is almost always a bad intake manifold gasket. Very common for the 4.0 V6.

It is a good time to reseal the injector o-rings while you're in there. It is also kind of common in a lot of V engines lately. Seems more due to the gasket's design than the engine. I have also found this problem on GM 4.3 V6, and V8 engines of both Ford and GM.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 61 reviews