1999 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 17 of 17

1999 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0L SOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L SOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

I think Ford should do a totally recall on the Ford Explorer

Faults:

Numerous recalls.

The windows whistle.

The vehicle feels like it is top heavy.

The transmission has been rebuilt twice in the last 2 weeks.

Tires, of course.

The windshield wiper works sometimes.

Arm rest broke off.

Compact Disc player skips badly.

General Comments:

I will not ever purchase a Ford Motor product ever again due to the fact of how dissatisfied I am with the performance of this vehicle.

I am also highly displeased at how difficult it is for me to try to trade this vehicle off.

I am however pleased with the service I have gotten at the dealership I purchased this vehicle from.

However, the sales people are another story.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

1999 Ford Explorer XLS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

An overpriced disappointment

Faults:

Broken arm rest (factory flaw).

Radio lights flicker.

Wipers come on randomly.

Tires???

Differential leak.

Dash lights burn out.

General Comments:

Overpriced for what you get. Having to get all the recall items and other problems fixed doesn't make the Explorer fun. I complained to the dealer about all the problems and having to arrange for a courtesy car ever other month, he said that's what the warranty is for!! Hate to own it without a warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

1999 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance30145 miles
Previous carChevrolet CK 1500 Sport Side

Summary:

I would not buy another Explorer, overpriced, poor value

Faults:

The hood latches rusted to a major degree, dealer said no problem.

Seat brackets rusty. Seat moves under braking.

Brakes catch. Brakes don't work very well.

Windshield wipers not working/working all the time.

CD quit working.

Other rust/exhaust things.

Not even 2 years on the road.

General Comments:

The dealer wasn't friendly after I bought the Explorer - rude, foul language.

I had problems immediately after the purchase. It is very unstable, pulls to the right. The brakes are weird, they pull, and it's unstable.

The smell from the air ducts is unbearable.

Problem after problem. Ford are not much help at all!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

23rd Jan 2001, 07:49

I have a 99 Explorer and I haven't had any problems. There was a recall a year ago about the wiper problem. My dealership is like yours. World Ford of Pembroke Pines is a model of incompetency. The personel are rude. They can't even rotate the tires properly.

5th Jun 2001, 07:35

I have a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport that I purchased last August. From day one, I have complained about the instability of the vehicle while on the freeway. As soon as I reach 60-65mph, the vehicle begins to shimmy and shake until I reach at least 75mph to make it stop. I have brought it back to the dealer twice. They say that the wheels need to round themselves out after sitting all night. My car has 14,000 miles on it and has had numerous tire rotations and balances but there is no difference. Is this the Firestone tires or is it a suspension problem? Ford has basically told me that this is the way an Explorer Sport rides because it has a short wheel base. I think that's not true.

1999 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance13200 miles

Summary:

A crappy vehicle for a lot of $

Faults:

Lots of warranty work!!!

General Comments:

Dissatisfied with having to be without the car for repeated work. Courtesy Ford has given me the runaround and snotty attitude every time I have had contact with them. Will never own another Ford and will never take my car to Courtesy Ford again!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2000

1999 Ford Explorer Sport 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 4.6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

3 recalls.

No other problems with vehicle.

General Comments:

I don't like the way the rear suspension feels. When I'm driving down the road and hit a bump, the rear end swings sideways. It is very disconcerting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 1999

6th Dec 2005, 10:28

The rear suspension also has anti-sway bars, you might want to get those looked at. If you have rear leaf springs the ride will be much bumpier then a coil suspension that would be found in a car. Remember that you are driving an SUV, SUVs are classified as light trucks, they will not drive like a car.

1999 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0 SOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 4.0 SOHC V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10

Faults:

One recall for hood latch at 4500 mi. Nothing else.

General Comments:

Bought brand new, and read this "without a defect". The finish is top, better than any of the many Fords owned now and before. The Tennessee factory workers did a great job. The 4.0L SOHC is a must have for the 3800 lbs vehicle. It is powerful (205hp). No problem passing, merging, and driving over the speed limit (one does not even notice it). Coupled to the 5 speed auto, the vehicle is a delight to cruise around with. The comfort is excellent, (quiet, smooth ride); the seats are a bit too narrow though. And the 2 doors restrict back seat access. This is an SUV, so it has limitations as far as handling, braking, and driving fast on bad roads. The gas mileage is not very good (less than 20mpg at best), but it runs on regular gas. I highly recommend the Explorer, but I would pick the 4 door as a more practical solution if one has kids, or elderly in the family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 1999

10th Jan 2002, 17:46

The 4.0L SOHC (Single Overhead Cam) actually has 205 horsepower. The 4.0L OHV has 160. I'm not sure which you have because you have because you referred to your motor as an SOHV.

12th Aug 2008, 19:22

They meant the SOHC because they stated it had 205hp like you did.

13th Aug 2008, 11:25

I thought the SOHC did not become available until after 1999.

27th Mar 2013, 13:49

The SOHC "Cologne" V6 was first available in the '97 model year.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 61 reviews