1999 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 Liter SOHC 4-speed from North America

Summary:

Got to like Explorers, if you've got the attitude and the determination

Faults:

There have been a few problems worthy of mention.

The accelerator pedal began to stick at around 65000 miles; so in other words, the car is very jumpy from a standstill. I am beginning to wonder if it has rusted.

The speedometer needle has some trouble moving when accelerating and decelerating, but for the most part does run smoothly.

The ignition takes many cranks to start in all types of weather. This started at about 66000 miles.

There has been a weird banging feeling when driving it at a fairly modest speed on city streets.

Fixed the brakes at about 35000 miles due to some squeaking. It no longer does that.

Otherwise, it runs great and is an attractive SUV. But, it requires a lot of work to maintain. Keep in mind that the SUV is only five years old.

General Comments:

I like this SUV--despite some of the problems.

I really like the interior--it's simple and to the point while still being accommodating to me and my passengers.

I really like the off-road capabilities of the Explorer. I am not wary of driving it in any weather at any place. (I've taken it into the Rocky Mountains on dirt roads during a torrential thunderstorm, for example). I think it is somewhat reliable under these conditions.

I think the interior should be silenced a bit more; it is fairly noisy when cruising at 75 mph.

Big size comes at a price. Burns a considerable amount of fuel--only 15 mpg tops on the Interstate.

However, I do not like the ride very much. I understand it is an SUV, but it jitters over every bump and throws me around when turning onto an elevated driveway.

But, all around, it is a very nice SUV. My family has been one for the Explorer and Bronco SUV over the past 25 years--and we've always been repeat customers of America's Best Selling Sport Utility. We currently own two Explorers, this one and a brand new Eddie Bauer with a 250 hp engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

16th Dec 2005, 23:03

Update--12/16/05.

The Explorer is still running acceptably. It has 86000 on it right now and has a new problem. The rear windshield wiper is not working all the time--it only wants to work when it's cold out. How can I fix this?

4th Aug 2006, 09:50

I'm the original poster.

That remedy described above really did work! Thanks!

My Explorer just turned over 90,000 miles and it has had no major problems since. I did get the brakes done and I recently took it on a 1200 mile trip to Colorado. I drove at 80-85 mph and it ran great!

21st Jan 2009, 15:59

Oh about that "throttle sticking" in the closed position... mine did it too. Go to the parts store, buy a bottle of Throttle Body Cleaner. It just needs to be cleaned. I took mine off to clean it and just used the cleaner and an old toothbrush. Once you get all the buildup out, it will function like new. Note - be careful with sensor that mounts to throttle body, don't damage it and you don't need to clean it, just the actual valves that open when you activate the throttle.

1999 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0 SOHC from North America

Summary:

I am not impressed with the overall quality of this vehicle or the cost to run it

Faults:

My transmission blew up at 160000 km.

My engine doesn't sound very far behind.

The dashboard gages have an electrical short.

The step bars have corroded horribly.

General Comments:

This vehicle is extremely hard on gas.

It is very bouncy on any type of road surface and the steering seems very flimsy.

Also the brake rotors are lasting less than two years creating some high maintenance costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

27th Oct 2004, 12:11

It unfortunately sounds as if you've been sold a lemon. Most of the other reviews that I've read have been fairly positive. Better luck with other vehicles!

19th Sep 2006, 19:27

I would have to agree with the guy who left a comment before me...

First of all most people don't buy used vehicles with over 100,000 miles on it unless they know the person who owned it before hand... Now being a mechanic, and knowing many people who have owned Fords, I can tell you right now the Explorer that you bought was not taken care of... Most transmissions go early, or they go late, not in between unless the person who owned if before beat the life out of it... Which I can tell you, that was exactly the case in this situation... Next time try to go for a brand new one... or something with a lot less miles...