1992 Ford F150 Reviews

1992 Ford F150 XLT Flairside 5.0 gas from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 5.0 gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

A strong and fun truck that looks good

Faults:

The fuel pump went at 150,000.

Replaced the seat with a custom bucket. The old seat was fine.

General Comments:

Excellent truck. I own two of them; the 92 has the 5.0, and I have a 94 with the 4.9. Both are 4x4. The 5.0 runs on the highway better, but the 4.9 handles towing and has more torque.

My only issue with the truck is with current gas prices, and I only get about 16 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2013

1992 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles
Previous carInfiniti G20

Summary:

Great truck

Faults:

Bought it from my brother with a blown engine at 155000.

Brakes were shot.

No A/C bad compressor and lines.

Power windows needed new motors.

Paint job was peeling off.

General Comments:

Fixed everything on a budget.

Everything works great.

4-wheel drive is excellent; haven't got stuck yet.

Always come out to find people leaving offers to buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2010

1992 Ford F150 Flareside 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance219000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

This truck is fast, well built, and reliable

Faults:

NONE that I consider major.

General Comments:

I've had my F-150 Flareside for 12 years. When I got it, it had 48000 miles on it, and it now has 219000 on it.

Other than maintenance such as oil changes, transmission filter and fluid changes, I have only had to do minor things such as heater hoses/serpentine belt, new brakes etc. I haven't had to do anything.

Now I have replaced by choice the radiator with a larger 4 core all aluminum, as well as a cold air system.

At around 145000 miles, I did replace the shocks as well as factory tie rods, however I did not waste my money on Ford parts; I instead used MOOG's.

I upgraded exhaust to true duals and Hooker headers.

All my vehicles are Ford's, and will continue to be. MAINTENANCE is the key here. Minor things only remain that way if you fix it when it's minor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2010

1992 Ford F150 XLT inline 6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carFord Truck

Summary:

The best truck money can buy!

Faults:

New water pump at 90,00.

New pan (rusted out) 110,000.

New ignition switch 130,000.

New seat belt latch 179,000.

General Comments:

It has been like family member, still runs like a champ.

It is in need of a new blower motor (189,000).

I have never owned a car or truck this long before. If I had any idea I would have kept it sooo long, I would have put stainless exhaust on it. I have replace it several times through the years.

I can't say enough good things about the old girl. Never has failed me... Can't say as much about other things...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2010

15th Nov 2011, 16:01

343,000 miles on Nov, 15 2011, oil pan is rusting away, replaced radial arm bushings twice, and is in need again.

Tie rods need replaced, and the water pump was replaced at 189,000 miles.

Rear gas tank rusted away at 200,000 miles, didn't repair it, have two tanks.

New heater core last year, and this is the third time I have had to replace the brakes and rotors.

This truck has been the best vehicle a person could possibly buy. I thank my lucky stars they didn't have the Chevy 1500 I originally was looking to purchase in 1994.

1992 Ford F150 Custom 300 CID inline 6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 300 CID inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

A hard working truck

Faults:

Needed new clutch and clutch slave cylinder.

Inside door latches quit working.

Replaced exhaust system.

Replaced starter.

General Comments:

All in all, it's been a really good no-frills working, hauling truck. I got it at an auction for $600 and the only major repair it's needed is to have the clutch and clutch slave cylinder replaced.

Air conditioning still works very well.

The gas mileage is not all that great though; it gets probably about 10-12 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2010

1992 Ford F150 XL Flareside 4x4 5.8 liter from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance211555 miles
Previous carJeep CJ5

Summary:

Great truck

Faults:

I have had my F150 Flareside 4x4 for about 11 years, I am the 3rd owner.

I met the 2nd owner at the dealer, he was trading in the Flareside for a new Ford 4X4. He had not planned on trading the truck in, but the dealer gave him too good of a deal to pass up. He knew the original owner, and as far as he knew, all was stock except the dual pipes from the cat. converter.

The truck has an automatic tranny, 5.8 liter V8, A/C, automatic locking hubs/shift to 4x4 on the go.

I have never replaced a U joint, ball joint, gas tank, or transmission.

I do use synth. blend oil and trans. fluid. I change oil and filter every 3k miles, I have changed filter and trans. fluid twice, and I regularly grease where there are certs. I do not neglect my truck, this is like not feeding or taking good care of a child, bad; this will happen if you do not take care of what you have.

I have had the A/C upgraded after losing charge about 10 years ago, it is still cooling great.

I had a fuel pump high pressure hose blow out, about 10 years ago, no problem since.

Last thing I changed was just because I had the time and money to buy and install a Jasper built 5.8 engine, the old motor was not using oil, it has a minor oil leak at the oil pan gasket, but I never had to add oil between changes. She had 206,000 miles on her though.

I really have been blessed with the truck.

General Comments:

I have been really happy with my truck, I use it daily, and fortunately only have to drive it 14 miles a day.

I would not be afraid to take my truck across county, but I would hate to due to the Jasper motor now only gets me 10 miles per gallon city and 13 miles per gallon hwy. With the original motor, I got up to 17 miles per gallon on the hwy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2010

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 31 reviews