1994 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1994 Ford F150 XLT 5.0 302 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0 302 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles

Summary:

This has been one heck of a truck

Faults:

I replaced the thermostat around 151,000 due to sticking open and never warming up.

I replaced the oil pan gasket at 153,000 due to leaking badly.

Rusted out over rear wheels and starting on lower cab corners but just surface rust now. Fender flares cover up the rust above the wheels for now.

General Comments:

This is my first truck and I love it even though it's not perfect. The 302 runs excellent putting out pretty good power for a small block. The addition of true dual exhaust, K&N air filter, and synthetic fluids help my truck to just run stronger and easier. I love the 5spd. manual transmission in it. I can burn the heck out of the tires if I want to but normally choose not to. The 4x4 works really well with the exception of when it's muddy, mud gets up in the linkage to the transfer case and makes shifting it hard. Overall this is a great truck and I highly suggest one like if you are looking for a very strong workhorse of a truck that looks cool as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2008

1994 Ford F150 STX Straight 6 3.7L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Straight 6 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Absolutely unbelievable!

Faults:

The ignition switch loosened, and the left door button (engaging the handle) broke.

General Comments:

A straight 6 with 165,000 miles on it, and the compression is still like new! A real workhorse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2008

5th May 2012, 11:45

I think you mean 4.9. They didn't offer a 3.7; that's always been a Chrysler motor, which is a V6 actually.

1994 Ford F150 xlt 5.0L 302 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0L 302 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Good solid truck

Faults:

Rear and front gas rank needed replacing at 85000 miles.

Vehicle Speed Sensor went at 86000 miles.

The rear right leaf spring shackle broke at 82000 miles.

It needed a set of door pins on the driver side door at 89500 miles.

It also needed a TPS at 89000 miles.

General Comments:

It's a good truck, It hasn't let me down, or stranded.

It's got a good amount of power, it doesn't take much to smoke the tires up in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2006

1994 Ford F150 xlt 4.9L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The best I ever owned

Faults:

Transmission went out at 145,000 after many years of dependable service.

Driver seat is worn out in one spot.

Rear wheel wells have rusted out on top, (common)

Replaced power steering hose's at 165,000.

Replaced alternator twice.

Replaced battery twice.

General Comments:

This truck is great. It still has the original exhaust, handles great, never has had any front work done to it.

Oil has been changed every 3,000 miles and runs as smooth as when I bought it.

Smooth ride, comfortable rid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2006

1994 Ford F150 XLT Supercab 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Nothing stops the Green Machine!

Faults:

Rebuilt transmission at 125,000.

Replaced starter and timing belt tensioner.

Replaced 4 shocks, brakes, discs, installed extra leaf spring in back to balance bed (raised 2").

Replaced turn signal/hazard assembly.

General Comments:

I love my truck! A lot of people are down on Fords, but mine has NEVER left me stranded! Even with a dead starter, I was able to get it started and drive home. Repairs are fairly easy and parts are readily available and affordable.

Even at 11 years old, the AC is cold. Paint is nice if I keep it waxed, and keep the chrome wheels clean. Seats are comfy and still in great shape! Can even chirp the tires!

I still get 16-17 on the road, but around 15 in town. Has plenty of power to put a half pallet of shingles in the back!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2005

1994 Ford F150 XLT 5.0L V8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

XLT 4X4 truck-it doesn't get any better

Faults:

Power steering pump at 180k (common), brakes & tires. 4x4 shifter recently was hard to move, but sprayed WD40 and greased it and it shifted again (i got the manual locking hubs). Automatic trans has been slipping or hard shifting for 25k miles, but still keeps going. Not bad gas mpg 17-18 highway/13-14 city (I HAVE THE EXT CAB W/ 8 FT. BED AROUND 6100 LBS WEIGHT). Actually very durable truck W/good ride and VERY dependable. Great hauler!!

General Comments:

1 tough truck if you need to haul or tow forget the foreign small trucks you have to buy a ford or dodge fullsize to do the job. XLT has all power accompaniments and great looking ford chrome wheels.

The bad- just a little rust on the driver wheel well coming through (very common areas for ford trucks. Hard to park in some parking lots (longer than a battleship. No rust out and the paint looks great still!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

1st Aug 2006, 08:40

I also have a 1994 F150 XLT with a 5 speed transmission, and the hydraulic clutch is one of the worst designs in the world.

Other than that, a little rattle in the cab.

The 5.0 liter engine is a beautiful thing.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews