1994 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1994 Ford F150 F-150 XL Supercab 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A great dependable truck!

Faults:

My U-joints went out at 120000. I have hardly put any money in the truck.

General Comments:

I have had two other trucks and this one is by far the best. It has been very low maintenance. I've never seen an eleven year old truck run better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2005

1994 Ford F150 XL 300 Inline 6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 300 Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance210976 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Overall, a nice truck to own easy do it yourself maintenance and wouldn't hesitate to buy another

Faults:

The master cylinder had to be replaced around 110,000 miles.

The alternator has been replaced 3 times since I bought it, and it might need another one soon.

Replaced EGR valve at 150,000.

Replaced oxygen sensor at 191,000.

Involved in an accident, Needed 2 new shocks plus a leaf spring.

Rear seal went out and dumped transmission fluid on the road and driveway. Had to rebuild transmission at 200,000 miles even though I hear they are supposed to be rebuilt earlier.

General Comments:

I use this truck for all my dirty work towing, mudding etc.

The interior is nice, but bucket seats would be better.

The power of the straight 6 is pretty good not a road warrior, but can get it to burry the needle past 80.

If you ever wreck better hope you have an easy color to find mine is a electric blue and is hard to duplicate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2005

1994 Ford F150 XL 4.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.9 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Greatest truck ever made!

Faults:

Alternator gave out several times until the highest voltage alternator was found.

Found that going through water causes engine to skip.

Rear gas tank tends to use more gas than front.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been the best car there is for hualing & towing.

Submerging this truck will not result in a malfunction.

Car is made of durable parts. Got into a serious accident and the only damage was a warped front bumper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

8th Feb 2007, 16:35

The reason the rear gas tank seems to be using more gas is because it is a smaller tank thus the gas gauge goes down quicker.

23rd Mar 2010, 19:11

FORD is my truck, and I won't buy any other one. Mine are a '82 F100 and a '94 F150, also I had another '82 F100, and a '95 F150, and a Ranger "4" cyl. Julio @ Everett WA.

1st Feb 2012, 18:48

The reason my back tank uses more has is because the un-used fuel is sent to the front tank and not to itself... So the back tank is sort of filling up the front while I drive. It's pretty weird.

1994 Ford F150 XL 302 V8 Multiport from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 302 V8 Multiport Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

She's a real worker

Faults:

Replaced the timing belt. (Worn out when I bought it)

Need to replace the coolant hoses.

General Comments:

I like my truck a lot. It is 4 wheel drive, long bed, and it has 3.73 limited slip rear end. It is my first truck, so I'm sure it will go through some abuse (like showing up some rice burners after school).

The truck was used on a big cattle ranch. They used it to haul round square bales. From the condition it is in, I am sure that they used it a little bit hard. But since our farm has always used Ford trucks around our farm, I'm sure that it will hold up just like the other ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2003

1994 Ford F150 Flareside Supercab 5.0 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

If you have the time, and money, this has got to be the next sleeper in performance trucking

Faults:

At 156000 miles, I replaced the water pump and replaced the spider webbed windshield.

I also ripped out the mediocre factory sound system and installed a custom system.

At 165000, the windshield motor gave up the ghost. New motor works fine, however the blades stop at random points now.

General Comments:

This is the most beautiful truck I've ever seen. It is nothing more that a straight up in-your-face gas burner and heart breaker. With the 5.0 EFI under the hood, it's a much meaner "sleeper" than most non Ford lovers would ever think of. I have taken stock Camaros and a buddy's Firebird off the line!

The inside has a custom interior with leather captains chairs and is every bit as comfortable as any touring sedan.

The custom sound system? 400 watts, and climbing, with a custom input for playing my guitar through the amp. (passenger seat only...)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2003

31st Oct 2005, 19:05

Sounds like an awesome truck. The 5.0 is an excellent motor. It seems much more responsive than the small V-8 from Chevy or Dodge. Enjoy your truck!

27th Dec 2005, 04:09

I have a '95 f-150 4x4 Eddie Bauer I purchased with 152,000 miles on it. I now have 165,000miles on it. It is indeed an awesome truck! I just returned from a trip to northern Ontario Canada last month. (Thirty-two hours round trip.) No problems whatsoever!I can't say the same for my buddy's 2002 Dodge Ram Dually truck though. We both were towing 14 foot boat/trailer. I had to give him a ride home as his tranny failed. Hmm... newer truck, way less miles on it (66,000) and much more expensive. He had to drive back to Canada (12 hours one way to where the truck died) with his son to retrieve the truck after repairs. Needless to say, he is selling the truck. Yes my friend, we are in good company with our Ford Trucks! Drive On!

28th Sep 2007, 03:20

These are great trucks, my Dad has one he got new in '94, still runs good, had to replace tranny once and rear end twice tho, that is about the only thing Ford lacks in, but I love this truck, we got a custom grille that is just the lines going accross, and a custom stereo system with a bazooka tube.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews