1997 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 7 of 15

1997 Ford F150 XL 4.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Yukon

Summary:

Insecure

Faults:

Intake gasket failed at 124,900 causing engine failure.

General Comments:

This consistent problem evidently has occurred with many loyal drivers and manufacturer does nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2004

18th Sep 2004, 06:47

I must take issue with this review. As a mechanic I must point out that a failure of an "intake gasket" will NOT cause an engine to be damaged beyond repair. Simply put, in a non-turbo application, a failure of an intake gasket will just cause a massive vacuum leak. This leak will not be a catastrophic failure. It will be a gradual lessening of the power of the engine due to air being drawn into the manifold through the leak and causing a severe lean mixture. Anyone driving a vehicle with this problem should be able to tell long before it causes the engine to stop operating. This condition is much more the fault of the operator than the manufacturer of the vehicle.

1997 Ford F150 XLT Ext. cab Flairside 4.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30100 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great value and performance with little maintenance!

Faults:

Replaced the multi-functional switch at ~120,000 after the headlights and turn signals mysteriously went out. Ordered Ford part on-line and easily replace myself for a total cost of $75.00 (dealership charge $220+ parts & labor)

Driver's side power door lock actuator burnt out at ~110,000.

Pitman arms in front end went dry and were causing squealing when I turned at low speeds. My trusted mechanic oiled for me and charged only for labor (~$20), but I was told this is not normally a function a non-Ford mechanic would typically do.

General Comments:

Bought the truck used and it has been nothing but a pleasure to own. I average 25,000 miles a year and the truck has required minimal maintenance. I plan on keeping it until it won't go anymore. Because I have experienced no major problems thus far, I am expecting to get at least another 100,000 miles out of it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

1997 Ford F150 XLT 4.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A reliable means of hauling and transportation

Faults:

Starter solenoid.

Throttle position sensor.

Alternator.

General Comments:

Runs great, replaced plugs and wires for the second time. Used Federal Magnum 8.5mm wires and Autolite double platinum plugs. I am getting 22 mpg on the highway. Also replaced air filter with K&N. Have used Amsoil synthetic racing oil since 1200 miles. No oil lose or burning, expect to get 300,000 miles out of it. Good visibility, except for blind spot for small cars in each rear corner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2004

19th Jan 2005, 11:27

When Your Throttle Position Sensor was replaced, was your truck not idling at all. I have replaced three so far and still does the same thing, I have to keep my foot on the gas pedal to keep it on. I may have a vacuum leak or something. Any help would be appreciated, Thanks.

1997 Ford F150 Ford F-150 4.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.2 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5750 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

The performance of this truck is not good

Faults:

First week flat tires. In one month three clutch fans. New brakes 4 times. Transmission went out at 31,000 miles. New wiring harness at 32,000 miles. New water pump at 32,000 miles. Engine light stays on. New fuel pump, an fuel filter at 36,000 miles. I payed for all of this. Spark plug wires, spark plugs. Two fuel injectors. To much to list. Been in the shop for 7 years. Only has 57,050 miles.

General Comments:

This is not a good truck. How ever I like the way it's made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2004

12th Feb 2005, 13:47

Did you ever think that maybe its your driving that is making the truck go bad, not the actual truck. Not every vehicle is perfect, but they can last a long time and not have problems as long as you drive decent! This is the driver not the Ford!

18th Feb 2005, 10:50

Since when are flat tires the fault of the manufacturer or a quality issue? Clutch pads need to be replaced if you are riding the clutch constantly or just don't drive a standard well. Likewise, a transmission will "go" on you if you abuse it. How about performing routine maintenance? This could also be a case of the mechanic who "saw you coming". If you complain what a rotten vehicle you have, some mechanics will gladly make it so.

If the truck is this bad, why keep it for seven years and state that you like it?

Smells fishy to me.

20th Feb 2005, 10:02

It is also odd that you like the truck's build quality when it keeps falling apart before your eyes.

18th Jan 2007, 15:44

Well maybe if the truck is a standard and you don't know how to drive a standard is some of the reason you have so many problems. Flat tires are part of life. I agree with you that the truck is made well, but maybe if you would treat it better you wouldn't have as many problems.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 57 reviews