1997 Ford F150 Reviews

1997 Ford F150 XLT 4x4 4.6 Triton (281 cid) from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 4.6 Triton (281 cid) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired300016 miles
Most recent distance304700 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Noisy, ugly, but gets the job done

Faults:

Plugs and wires when I bought it (300k miles).

Radio (303k miles).

Bed was trashed at purchase.

Wheel bearings (301k miles).

Gas tank straps (302k miles).

Gas tank (304k miles).

Door pins and latch.

Oil changes, general maintenance...

General Comments:

Not bad for paying $1000 for it.

Electronic 4x4 works perfect.

The motor has a little piston slap and burns a little oil.

The 4.6 is gutless down low, but has enough snort to pass 2 semis in a hurry.

True dual pipes has a funny idle tone, but sounds good when ya stomp on the loud pedal (still has all 4 cats).

Michigan truck, so it's rusty.

Love the 3 door.

Ain't got stuck yet.

The 4.6 is a highway motor, and that's it.

If ya gotta use 4x4, ya may as well put it in low range. The motor doesn't make enough torque to take off easy in high range.

Dependable.

The 4.6 gets around 18-22 MPG highway (set the cruise at 57).

I'd buy another one. But I'd want a single cab long bed 4x4 with a 5.4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2013

16th Sep 2013, 16:27

300000 miles and still ticking; not too bad for a Ford. However I have seen the same 4.6 engine with even higher mileage in Crown Vics / Town Cars, which are great cars as well.

1997 Ford F150 XLT 4.6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance194000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Will never buy another!

Faults:

Engine problems.

Front brakes need to be replaced again.

Rust issues.

Parts expensive, or just hard to get.

MPG about 12 miles to the gallon.

Driver's door lock button stopped working.

Driver's door window stopped working.

General Comments:

This truck likes gas stations.

This truck likes service stations.

Falling apart fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2012

19th Feb 2012, 22:40

"MPG about 12 miles to the gallon."

Which engine? Do you drive with a heavy foot?

15th Oct 2012, 18:10

Couldn't be more vague. How about some real details? You've gotten over 100k+ miles on it since you bought it. Plus it's a 1997 and you say "rust problems" or "engine problems", but don't state any real details. Sounds like you are experiencing a vehicle that is high mileage and old.

Finally, stating 12 MPG means nothing if you don't state where or how you drive. I only get 13 on my truck, but it's all city driving with more stop than go. So given your level of detail, it sounds more like the real problem is you're driving a truck you don't like, vs real problems with the vehicle.

2nd Feb 2013, 10:48

I agree with you 100%. I can't drive past a gas station without spending more money on fuel!

About 6 months ago I spent $4,000 on a new engine and alternator, plus plugs, wires and all the rest. It still has so many problems, I could not list them all here. Don't even get me started on the rust issues.

But with that said, I'd buy a new one in a heartbeat. Love Fords.

1997 Ford F150 XL 4.2 liter gas from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.2 liter gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent truck, with a few design flaws

Faults:

The combination of components is interesting. The smallest engine with the biggest differential does not seem like a logical combination.

The original routing of the exhaust pipe (in front of the tire) caused my friend's brakes to freeze up on a -30 day, and also corrodes the rim.

General Comments:

The overall truck is wonderful. It has been babied its whole life, and every measure has been taken to keep it in mint condition.

The paint holds up well to the 7 miles of gravel it sees every day, but the box was not made to haul heavy items in, as the tail gate and front have dents from cattle mineral bags around 50 pounds.

The 4.2 is very reliable, but does not have the power to fly past a semi on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2011

1997 Ford F150 Lariat 5.4L V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.4L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Good, allaround, general purpose vehicle

Faults:

Alternator went out at 250000 miles.

Heater core went out at 272000 miles.

Seats are a little worn, but the leather is not torn or ripped.

Replaced upper a-arms and lower ball joints, and wheel bearings around 200000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is an excellent truck, be it for work or play. The big V8 has the power to pull anything I have hooked it up to. From 35' travel trailers, to pulling out small tree stumps.

The 4R100 automatic transmission is very impressive with getting the power to the road. Has very nice shift points. Under partial throttle shifts, it's so smooth you can't hardly tell it changed (except for the loud pipes... LOL), and under hard acceleration, it will plant you in the seat with every gear change.

The truck came from the factory with the tow package. Trailer wiring is separately fused from the vehicle wiring, which is better, as it doesn't put unnecessary electrical loads on the chassis wiring.

This truck is a supercab, or extended cab. The only thing I don't like is the third door. Would rather have a door on each side in the back, as it is a hassle to access the backseat on the driver's side.

Vehicle has a clean flowing interior. While not as refined as say a luxury vehicle, it is vastly improved over the boxy generic interior of the older F series. The interior has ample room for four adults, although I would put anyone over 5' tall in the back seat, as there is not a surplus of leg room. Truck had the 60/40 split front seat, which is nice. Also has the flip up/down console.

Truck has the 6.5' bed. Plenty of room, and very strong tie downs. Tailgate is very heavy, and can be a pain to remove by yourself. I do like the fact that the tailgate has a lock built in from the factory.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2010

18th Feb 2013, 17:41

I have a 97 with a 4.6 and 250000 miles. I bought it new, and have had some issues with ball joints, etc., and a reoccurring problem with idle air control valves. But I wouldn't trade it for anything. It's rusting pretty bad, but it still takes on mud and snow better than anything I have ever driven. I would buy a new one in a heart beat.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 57 reviews