1998 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1998 Ford F150 XLT Extracab 4.6L V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6L V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

A fantastic truck.. when something isn't broken on it

Faults:

Power Windows have needed lubrication on multiple occasions.

Rear Leaf Springs are worthless. They have broken (and been replaced by the dealer) twice... and now they are broken again. Fortunately my lease is almost up..

The Air Conditioning needs to be deodorized by the dealer every 10k miles or so.

Drivers side mirror rattles.

General Comments:

The engine is tough on gas but the performance is excellent.

Surprisingly the brakes last a long time (I still have my factory pads on my rear wheels, front pads lasted about 35k miles)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2001

28th Jun 2001, 16:41

I've Got the same problem with the windows. I don't know how to fix them without taking it to the dealer. PROBABLY BIG BUCKS.

1998 Ford F150 Extended Cab 4.2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Good reliable truck that looks damn good lowered and pimped out!

Faults:

To be truthful there hasn't been anything that we needed to fix.

We put running boards on it last fall. That's about the only thing that we have put on it that cost us.

For us when we are hauling a very heavy load like about 1 ton, the muffler is dragging on the ground. It has very weak springs. We hope to put on helper springs on this summer to counter act this problem.

General Comments:

This truck has about 260 horse power. For a 4.2 liter V6 that's a lot of power!

It is very quick and handles like a car!

It has tons of power for passing, and plenty for pulling 18 foot stock trailers loaded with about 2 tons of livestock.

It gets about 20 miles per gallon if you put a bed cover on the back. Ours comes with it and it's lockable in the back.

Ours also came with the optional second airbag on/off switch.

The cab has almost too much room! I'm 6 foot 7 inches and still have about 1 foot above my head when the seat is fully raised! The seats are buckets and are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

1998 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4.6 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 V-8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Great ride, reliable, good hauling, sucks down fuel

Faults:

Nothing has gone bad in 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

Great ride for a pickup truck.

The third door is nice.

Very limited headroom and leg room in the back seat for adults - fine for children.

Good hauling capacity, smooth engine that sucks down the fuel - even with 2wd!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th December, 2000

15th Apr 2001, 17:39

Full size V-8 trucks are not known for their fuel economy! You should've bought a 2wd Ranger 4-cylinder then!

26th Jan 2006, 15:51

What is considered "Bad" mileage? My 1998 F-150 with 55,000 miles gets 12mpg on a good tankfull! My Grandfathers 1997 Crown Victoria with the same 4.6 motor gets around 25!

1998 Ford F150 LX 4.6 Triton V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 Triton V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Good, reliable and expensive

Faults:

Domelight, doorajar lights will not go out.

General Comments:

Fast, looks great, reliable, does not get the fuel economy that was advertised. Insurance is surprisingly high, the short bed V8 is listed as a sports car for some reason, the insurance is higher than my wife's 97 Ford Mustang by $190 per MONTH. I love the truck but it is far too expensive to operate for my tastes, am looking to sell and find a Long Wheel Base 92-95 model like I had before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2000

24th Jan 2002, 16:22

I think the Insurance company has scammed you. I had a Supercharged 93 Thunderbird Super Coupe. My 2001 XLT V-8 Shortbed, Shortcab, costs way less, and the SC was less than the 96 Mustang GT. I would shop around.

9th Mar 2004, 19:50

About the door ajar and dome lights, all you need to do is spray some WD-40 into the door latch area. Fix it in about 15 seconds.

30th Jan 2006, 11:54

I just bought this 1998 f150 smaller v-8. put 310 miles on it averaged 14.63 miles per gallon. sold my 2000 ranger with the 3.0 six cylinder and only averaged 14.9 mpg.

I don't like it, but what can you do!

I just hope I have no major problems with it.

1998 Ford F150 XLT 4.2L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 4.2L V-6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

No major problems. Some clutch chatter when it was new. OK now (25000KM).

General Comments:

Really like the truck. Very sporty, and performs excellent for a stock vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 1999

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 38 reviews