1998 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1998 Ford F150 XLT Off Road 4X4 5.4 triton V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.4 triton V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Buy something older, they built them better back then

Faults:

Brakes replaced twice on front-end.

Door ajar light always stays on.

Overhead light stays on.

Ford installed alarm system malfunctions.

Windshield wipers and fluid intermittently come on.

Gas mileage no where near EPA standards. Truck gets 7.5 miles per gallon. (on highway)

Truck was getting 16 on highway, but over time fell to 7.5. The truck since has been given the full treatment to bring it back alive nothing works.

Spark plugs

Coils over each cylinder

Fuel filter

Positive crankcase ventilation valve (PVC)

Oxygen sensors (O2)

Mass air flow sensor (MAF)

Generation II K&N air filter system

Tornado

Dual exhaust.

Door or window sounds like one is always open.

Four transmissions. (E4OD)

Drivers side mirror rattles.

General Comments:

This truck is always getting something fixed every two weeks. Truck looks nice with lot of add-ons It has little power for passing. The seats are buckets and are very comfortable. The engine drinks gas and the performance is never there. It also has nice 17" wheels and tires, but nobody seem to build a tire for them other that street tires.

This truck lives in Anchorage, Alaska and I would rather drive something older that runs and doesn't break, than drive a truck that looks beautiful sitting in my mechanics' parking lot broken.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

5th Jul 2003, 12:49

I agree totally. I found this web page because I was having similar problems with my 1998 Ford F150 with the interior light staying on and the alarm going off on its own.

8th May 2006, 00:33

The 1998 f150 did not have separate coils over each spark plug, they had two direct ignitions that handle four aside, running regular spark plug wires directly to the plugs. They started the coil over in 1999. You could not make this mistake unless you didn't actually own a 1998 f150. Makes you wonder about the review?

26th Aug 2009, 00:18

It is Aug of 2009 and I just bought a 1998 XLT extended cab 4x4. 180,000 miles on it. I hope - by reading all this - that I got one of the good ones and not a bad one. If there is any problems that I should watch out for - please let me know - This is my first Ford truck - and this large.

Thanks.

22nd Oct 2009, 17:25

I own a '98 Anniversary Edition 4x4 Supercab. I run off stock rims and 285/70/R17 and they rub. 275 might work on a 16 inch rim, but not on a 17. So I lifted the front 1.5 inch and the back 3. Hard on gas, but my Triton hauls. In northern Ontario you need all the help you can get. NICE & GOOD LOOKING TRUCK!!!

27th Mar 2013, 11:04

You couldn't be more wrong... I own and drive a 98 Ford F150 5.4 V8 Triton, and it does most certainly have individual coils for all 8 cylinders. I had been to the Ford dealership recently and my mechanic had owned a 2 coil 1998. Wow! Put to rest your suspicious mind! They are real!

1998 Ford F150 XLT 4.6 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Sheep in wolfs clothing

Faults:

Mass air flow sensor failed @ 25000km.

Premature rust along bottom door seams and tailgate.

Right side tie rod end separated from ball @ 135000km. Turns out both tie rod ends and both lower ball joints needed replacement.

General Comments:

I was quite happy with this vehicle until the tie rod end came off while my wife was driving it with my 5 month old daughter in the back. Luckily I had the extended warranty, but still ended up paying the $100 deductible and Ford made me pay for the alignment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

2nd Mar 2006, 18:26

Its well known for the inner and outer tie rods to separate from the ball on that style ford, it happened to me. The reason is because Ford never put grease fittings on them as well as the ball joints and that is why the ball joints start to moan around 50,000 to 60,000 miles. All of this has nothing to do with operator error.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 38 reviews