2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 23 of 45

2000 Ford Focus Ghia 1.8 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

An excellent small family saloon - marred only by poor front seats

Faults:

Apart from squealing front brakes - nothing!

General Comments:

We bought the Focus 1.8 litre Ghia as a saloon model - not the best looking car, but equipped with a massive boot that swallowed loads of luggage.

We covered 75,000 miles in 3 years all over the UK and the car did not let us down once - no repairs were necessary and all that needed doing was done at the service intervals. The car had two sets of front tyres and one set of rear tyres during its time with us and that was all!

However, the front seats are very uncomfortable and during a long journey you would either get a sore back, a sore hip or a dead leg depending on how you sat.

If Ford did something about the seats (they may have already) it would have been a first rate car.

It would average around 35mpg during London stop/start traffic and could also do nearly 45mpg on motorway runs - not bad from a 1.8 litre car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

13th Jul 2004, 16:56

No they still haven't fixed the seats. I have a facelift (52 registered) model and I suffer from pins and needles in my thighs and hip, a "dead" left leg, and sore back after around 100 miles. And I'm a fit, healthy 28 year old!

Seems odd that the rest of the car is clearly so well thought out and the actual driving position superb, but the seats themselves are appalling. The 1994 Peugeot 306 I was running about in before this was a massively more comfortable long distance car.

22nd Dec 2005, 06:11

Regarding the seats, I thought it was just me who found them as comfortable as sitting on an old milk crate, they really are terrible. The seats in my old Escort in comparison were fantastic, may be I should have kept them. :)

2000 Ford Focus SE Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

It's a piece of junk with no remaining value

Faults:

At 15,000 miles the transmission had to be replaced.

At 40,000 the fuel pump had to be replaced despite the required maintenance.

Brake pads have to be replaced every 5,000 miles.

There are constant recalls.

General Comments:

The car is nice to drive when it works.

I constantly have it in the shop where I get the run around from the Ford reps.

I have been very unhappy with the response from Ford Motor Company when filing a complaint.

No one seems to care that the 2000 Focus was a junker from the assembly line on.

I will never buy another Ford product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

12th Nov 2004, 21:01

You said your brakes have to be replaced every 5000 miles? That sounds a bit extreme, don't you think?

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance26350 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Leaves the ricers in the dust!

Faults:

Nothing wrong with the engine, just interior fixing needed.

Manual right side view mirror lever broke, had to have that fixed.

When key was put into the ignition, the key wouldn't turn, had that fixed in June 2003.

General Comments:

I love this car so much. I love driving it around, and I feel so cool in it. I definitely turn heads when people see my car!

I have aftermarket stereo equipment, including an Alpine CDA-9805 head unit, XM Satellite Radio, and a 10" Bazooka sub-woofer and MTX Audio amplifier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2003

2000 Ford Focus 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carMerkur Scorpio

Summary:

Too many repairs - what a disappointment

Faults:

Almost everything has gone wrong with this car. The only thing that hasn't had problems is the interior! First of all, I had to get a new set of tires right away because the first set had constant flats.

At 30,000 miles, the brakes had to be replaced. The rotors were completely worn out.

At about 50,000 miles, I took a trip to Vegas and the car started having problems. When I arrived, I took it to a Friendly Ford and found out that the fuel pump, clutch and transmission, front struts and more all needed to be replaced. The bill was over $2800!

At 55,000 miles, the rotors were out again and had to be replaced.

Now at 60,000 miles, I put the key into the ignition and it wouldn't move. I had to have it towed to the dealer and they replaced the ignition and lock assembly, another $250 down the drain.

General Comments:

My first new car turned out to be no good. My husband on the other hand, has had his Acura Integra since 1987 and only had to replace the battery once, he's absolutely no other problems with it.

Do not EVER take a car to Friendly Ford in Las Vegas. Not only did they charge me more than they should have, they BROKE my oil pan while fixing the clutch and instead of replacing it, they GLUED the piece back on. The parts were not installed correctly and I had to have them redone when I got back home a week later. Ridiculous!

To top it off, the Ford Focus has absolutely NO resale value. I can't get more than $4,000 for it. I paid over $14,000 not very long ago, and it's still looking perfect.

We're trading it in for a Volkswagen this weekend, hopefully we'll at least get some better service there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews