2001 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 24 of 37

2001 Ford Focus 2.0 Zetec 3dr (Sport Trend) 2.0 petrol from Turkey

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Good handling, soft GT

Faults:

Some problems in the transmission. It cost me about $350. Nothing else.

General Comments:

Very good handling, probably the best handling car of its segment. It's superb now, after a modification.

The performance's only good (9.2 sec. 0-100km/h acceleration) A 2 liters engine could have been better (only 130 HP.) The transmission is something between sport and family car.

As comfortable as a compact car.. The rear seats are surprisingly comfortable, having enough legroom even for a man 185 (6'1") tall.

The worst thing is, you don't see the ends of the car; severe problems with parking. also the mirrors are not good enough, yet you get used to it..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2004

25th Sep 2004, 05:01

It is quite simple, the 17" wheels instead of 15" (stock orignal) is about the difference between 9 and 7.7 sec. Beware of tranny overload.

25th Feb 2005, 16:05

Putting a piperx viper kit, throttle body, stainless steel exhaust and remapping my ecu on my 2 litre focus. ITS GONNA FLY!

27th May 2006, 08:38

Putting 17 inch wheels on your car will infact slow it down rather than speed it up!!

2001 Ford Focus SE Sport 2.0 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16400 kilometres
Most recent distance34200 kilometres
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

An average cost, great looking car

Faults:

I had to get my front brakes changed at 31,215 kms.

Driver's side window occasionally squeaks when going up or down.

General Comments:

I really like my car. It is stylish and handles well.

The car looks like a million bucks when it is cleaned and polished!

However the mileage I get on a tank of gas is lower than what I had expected.

My front brakes had to be replaced at 31,215 kms! I hope that there is a recall as I have heard and researched that this is common.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2003

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

It is what it is... best value in the auto marketplace

Faults:

Nothing really, had 2 factory recalls done early on, no other issues.

General Comments:

My ZX3 has the power/premium package, 5 speed, very well equipped right out of the box. No need to add expensive go-fast add-ons!

The car is a blast to drive. Very economical and because it's a hatchback plenty of utility.

Definitely a very under-rated ride.

GM, Honda, Toyota, etc. can't compete with the ZX3 when comparing purchase price, standard equipment and fun to drive factor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

2001 Ford Focus Zetec 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Fast and Cheap to run: what a combo!

Faults:

None yet.

General Comments:

The Focus is really what people have been saying it is: fantastic to drive!

Roomy cabin with loads of kit, Mine is the climate version which is very well equipped indeed.

Extremely quiet and well mannered.

Drives extremely quickly, its hard to stay at 30 mph!

It makes my previous V-reg Escort Finesse seem like an old hat, Focus beats its predecessor hands down in terms of ride and handling.

The gear change is so, so smooth, it's a joy just changing gear!

In comparison to my old Escort the build quality of the Focus is much improved, no more cheap plastic materials. real effort has been put in to silence critics.

If I could find one fault with the Ford Focus, it would have to be the dodginess of the tailgate, it has to be slammed very firmly to lock properly, but apart from that its easily Fords best made car.

One thing that still beats my imagination is how the Focus Zetec can be so quick and yet have such low insurance, its £200 cheaper than my Escort was in insurance (plus I'm a young male drover!).

I don't think I'll be changing the car for long time yet!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

14th Apr 2006, 06:36

Ford Focus 1.4CL is a cracking little car. I have a 2001 version. The engine is sound for only 37,000 miles, although I have had to already replace the spark plug unit. The PAS unit has a slight leak in it. This is my first Ford for some 15 years and they certainly have improved the build factor.

2001 Ford Focus SE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

If you have money and patience, and like to live with the unknown, buy this car

Faults:

It the first year was fantastic. It ran wonderfully. Other than routine care, all was well. Then the summer of 2003 happened.

In a matter of one month, I have four massive blow outs, the kind that the tire peels away from the rim. Maybe that may have been my fault, but they should have more than one donut for this car.

Then the battery died three times (ford issued and approved batteries), once in the middle of Atlanta traffic, in the morning commute.

The steering can't make up it's mind if it wants to be tight or loose.

The back passenger side window will not stay on track and I have to push the down button and then move the glass by hand.

The engine sounds like a diesel, despite the up keep on the oil change schedule.

Yesterday it stalled while idling in the parking lot for a minute. The check engine light came on. It went off upon restart.

Today, while I was on my way to work, it came on again and will not go off.

General Comments:

I used to be in love with my car, but now I wish I rode the bus. There are too many little and big things that cause me big grief.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2003

22nd Jan 2004, 09:16

I spent way to much time at the Ford service center because of my 2001 Ford Focus wagon. True they did an excellent job of fixing things, and in the beginning I thought I had an excellent car. As time went by I was more and more concerned about what will happen next and lost my faith in this car. 30 years as a Ford owner has now ended. I traded it for a 2004 Honda Accord and am very happy. In my opinion the Ford Focus is a great advertisement for a Honda.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 129 reviews