2001 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 27 of 37

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 VTECH from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission VTECH Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Cheap, fun, fantastic

Faults:

Nothing except for Ford recalls.

General Comments:

After buying 20 new vehicles in my lifetime I finally have a car that I really love. All the others were way more expensive.

My Focus ZX3 has given me 52 thousand totally trouble free and fun miles. Still has the original tires and breaks with still a little more life left in them.

I get 28 to 30 MPG in city driving and the motor is so smooth that you think that it is electric.

My only problem with the car is the awful Ford dealers in south Florida, it was already damaged by them when I picked it up new and on the three recalls they did additional damage.

(Windows scratched, tail light scratched, wheels ruined) I will never take a car back to a dealer again.

Other than that I love the car and am planning on buying another new Focus ZX3 just like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2003

27th Dec 2005, 18:06

Just out of curiosity what is this Vtech engine? Is that the one with the 170 HP?

2001 Ford Focus SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles

Summary:

Lovely car of the year!!!

Faults:

This is the first car I have and so far I haven't had any problem with it. The only thing I would comment is that I'm getting 20mpg (city), I live in Las Vegas and I use the air conditioning all day at max power. I don't know much about mechanics, but I think that is why I'm getting such a low mileage. Any comment on that?

General Comments:

The car feels like a much more expensive car. The interior is beautiful. I got the car with almost all the extra packages (fog lights, allow wheels, key-less entry system, cruise control, power mirrors/windows/door-lock, CD-player..etc)

I just drove the car in the city so I don't know how it would run on a trip. I will update this comment as soon as I take the car for a long trip.

Overall... I love it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

12th Jun 2005, 20:17

Yea the ac will do that. also all the stoping and gong in the city. It could help to get a good tune up.

2001 Ford Focus from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Everything about it is horrible

Faults:

Things falling apart everywhere.

General Comments:

Used as a rental car for one week. Horrible, horrible little monster.

Everything is made at 90% cost. Holes and spaces everywhere where elements should be flush. Cover for the emergency break came off.

Water empties into the trunk after rain.

Lots of lurching.

Can't see the front of the car unless you're 7 feet tall. Kind of upsetting only to see the windshield whippers.

Dashboard juts out too far, making the front seats feel small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

14th Mar 2010, 18:54

I have a 2001 Ford Focus and it has been the best Car I have ever had since owning a Ford Escort in the late 70's.

The Focus rates well in all the reviews, and having owned a Toyota, Mitsubishi, VW, Subaru, it has to be one of the very best. In comparison it makes my Toyota look and feel boring, the Mitsubishi was definitely the quickest but didn't handle that well, VW handled well but was not as reliable as the Toyota. I had nothing but bad experiences with the Subaru.

The Focus all round wins in my opinion. Ford Focus makes Toyota look and feel very boring.

2001 Ford Focus SE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Great speedy little car with too many mechanical problems

Faults:

At almost 16,000 miles the shifting solenoid went out and had to be replaced, after being in the shop twice for that same reason. The car was making a grinding and clunking noise.

At almost 16,000 miles the ignition tumbler went out preventing me from being able to turn my key and start the ignition leaving me stranded.

At almost 20,000 miles I was informed by several repair shops that my brakes were so bad that not only did my brake pads need replaced, but I needed new rotors as well. Very Expensive, and even though there had been a recall my car was one day off so I had to pay for it out of pocket.

At almost 30,000 miles the ignition tumbler went out again, and I have a feeling that they are not really replacing it.

Other than these problems I do like the car very much. The performance is wonderful and I love it, it is just too bad that there are so many other problems with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

31st Jul 2003, 23:04

This car is garbage, I recommend never buying or test driving it. If you test drive it you will like the handling and high speed pickup, but other than that it seems like the car was thrown together in a hurry for Ford to make a quick buck in the new millennium.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 128 reviews