2001 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 31 of 37

2001 Ford Focus Zetec 2.0 esp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 esp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance3800 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Performance for less insurance

Faults:

I have owned the car for two months and there have been no faults.

General Comments:

The focus is one of the best front wheel drive cars l have driven.

The handling is spot on with loads of feedback.

The two litre engine is just about fast enough to be fun.

However it never sounds that sporty and could do with a stainless steel exhaust like the one on the st 170.

The car is group eight insurance which seems very low for 130 MPH performance.

The sound system is simply amazing.

Reversing however is hard because vision is obstructed by the rear lights.

Fuel consumption is better than my 205 gti could manage, but that's not saying a lot.

At worst my focus will return 25 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

2001 Ford Focus 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Sadly it's a pile of junk-

Faults:

Automatic Transmission Failure (Twice)

Check Engine light sensor.

General Comments:

I like the looks of this car, but the reliability is awful. Even after having the transmission repaired twice it still jolts and jerks everytime. It leans too much in turns and the interior is cheap looking, of course you don't notice this stuff until you drive this thing for about a year. I like the ride of the car that's about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

22nd Aug 2002, 03:06

It seems that the US spec. cars are not as good as their European counterparts. All the bad comments on the Focus seem to come from the USA.

Detroit has something to learn from the Europeans which seem to match the Japanese on build quality.

Which is a shame, as the Focus is a well designed car, which has been built badly.

Ford should look into their US operations.

8th Apr 2003, 17:07

Auto boxes on Focus's are notoriously bad. Ford seemed to get it sorted. Stick with a manual.

The previous comment noted that U.S. Focus's appear to be less reliable. I suppose a lot of that stems from the fact that drivers on the other side of the pond prefer their automatics???

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 liter Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance20692 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Low cost, high satisfaction

Faults:

The car has not had any problems. I did have it checked for the split rear seat folding lever recall, and found that my Focus was not subject to it.

General Comments:

I traded in my Firebird (to give you a little back story) because the Firebird was (kindly put) garbage. I needed to get out, and since I wanted something smaller and lower maintenance, I shopped around. The Focus was the winner after many comparisons.

The car is zippy, even for an automatic transmission. It has enough power to merge with traffic and pass when needs-be, but still maintain livable gas mileage. I've been getting a breath over 24 miles per gallon in town, and about 27 on the highway (I drive fast). The performance is fun without being so garish as to attract, ahem, legal attention. Perhaps it's the color.

The exterior styling is sporty, if a bit ostentatious. I do like the slant nose and the wide stance. The rear of my hatchback is a bit bulbous, but it's a hatchback! I wish they had color-keyed the door handles instead of the black plastic, but otherwise the car looks good.

Interior-wise, it is astonishingly spacious. I'm six feet tall, and most of my friends are at least that tall. We can get four in my Focus with head and leg room to suit them all. Entry and exit are a bit tough with the two doors, but I've accepted that quirk. The interior pieces aren't cheap-looking like may American cars in this class, including other Fords (ZX2, and even the Mustang). Everything is placed in easy reach and the seat adjusts several ways, including height. My only complaint about the seat is that it has these supports on either side of the bottom, where you sit. Woe to you if you sit down onto one--they are stiff and they'll sting you. If you enter and sit properly, the seats are supportive and comfortable.

The car rides quietly and drives smoothly. It is subject to some windshear with its higher profile, but I find that it gives you plenty of control on the road. There are no squeaks and rattles, which were rampant in my Firebird, and it carries a good amount of cargo with no argument. Standard CD player was a must! The sound system is excellent as has been mentioned in other reviews. One other strange note--this car, when I bought it, did not offer a power moonroof. I have the factory-installed manual, which I don't mind and almost prefer.

Overall, I've put oil and gas in it and rotated the tires. I get my oil changed every 4000 miles and put regular gas (petrol for my Brit friends) as required by the manual and have had zero trouble and maximum satisfaction. I hope the resale value reflects the car's actual worth instead of its manufacturer. I'll take this car over a Honda Civic any day, which should say something considering the Honda's proven track record.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

10th Feb 2007, 22:07

At 99k miles the fun is just starting, I have a 2001 ford focus zx3 with over 213k, and I have yet had a problem besides one fuel pump was put on at 165k and I will still take this car out of town with no problem.

16th Oct 2010, 02:16

I love, love, love my ZX3. I've got the same one I've had it for 6 years, and just paid it off. I got it used from a dealership, and it had one owner. I got it at 39k, and right now it's at 150k, and still running like a champ.

At times the parts can be a little pricey, but it's worth it.

I plan to get a new car in Feb, and I know it's going to be another Ford; they made a believer out of me, even though all my friends talk badly about them...

16th Oct 2010, 12:43

Ford currently outranks ALL Japanese car makers in build quality and reliability. Toyota ranks 21st out of 33 car makers, and Honda ranks 6th. Ford tops both at 5th place. Our longest-lasting car was a Ford that went over 300,000 miles with less than $500 in total repairs. Our worst was an import that didn't even make 100,000 miles. We've owned a 2001 ZX-3 (bought new). It was flawless. We currently own a Fusion and a Mustang. They are also flawless. Ford currently builds some of the best cars on the planet.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 128 reviews