2001 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 30 of 37

2001 Ford Focus ZTS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

An expensive piece of.. well you know

Faults:

I had this car and two weeks later a tire blew.

It was recalled six months after I had it and the Dealership never did tell me why.

I have had to replace 4 tires all together.

The tire on this car has only been used on one model of car ever. The ZTS model of the focus.

The tires are very expensive and hard to find.

The trunk sticks and needs to be pried open.

The trunk latch button only works when it wants to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

4th Oct 2002, 16:03

You don't have to use the brand of tires that came with the car - there are plenty of great alternatives out there by manufacturers like Kuhmo, Bridgestone, and Pirelli... you may even find they're better value. A site like Tirerack.com offers plenty of alternatives for the Focus's 15" and 16" wheels.

25th Jun 2003, 15:41

I fail to see how blown tires reflect the quality of the car itself. So it has crappy tires.. big deal. Replace them with decent tires and write about the CAR.

2001 Ford Focus Zetec ESP 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A very respectable 5 door family car

Faults:

Found that the rear passenger window, when lowered, gave out a loud crying sound. When investigated, I found that the window was very loose and could be moved, by hand, up and down, with a movement of about half inch.

Have major problems in starting the car. Seems to try to start, but fails to crank over. Have to turn off ignition and restart. Have asked the dealer to replace starter motor, but not done.

Boot sometimes fails to latch completely. Dealership replaced boot latch.

General Comments:

Very impressed with the performance of the car and the ESP is fantastic.

Sometimes, I forget to look down and realize what speed I am going at as its picks up pace very quickly.

I even try to change into 6th gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

2001 Ford Focus Zetec 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Reliable, safe family-mans car

Faults:

The boot opening button on the dashboard got stuck resulting in the boot opening whilst driving along (fixed under warranty).

General Comments:

Having previously owned a Peugeot 205 1.9 GTI the Focus doesn't compare in terms of handling or acceleration. But it makes up for this with the quietness of the cabin and engine!

Good positioning of the driver's seat.

Front pillars are a blind-spot.

Air-con and the front clear windscreen are bonuses. Although the fan blowers are always too strong or not strong enough (depending on the direction of the air).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2002

2001 Ford Focus Zetec Collection 3 door 1.8 Zetec 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Zetec 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Absolutely Fabulous Darlings!

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

Completely wonderful car.

The Handling is second to none, it often feels like it's rear-wheel drive!

I am just dissapointed with the lack of top-end grunt from the engine. I feel it should be a little bit quicker off the mark for a 1800.

The standard Pirrelli tyres are completely rubbish and I can't wait to get rid of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

2001 Ford Focus Zetec 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6600 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Good, but not a dream car

Faults:

Problems with the front brake disks (rotors I think they are called in the US). It warped 5 disks in 2 months. The problem was found to be a bent part in one of the calipers. All fixed under warranty. Seems to be fine now.

General Comments:

Very nice to drive. Good handling for a diesel and a reasonable amount of power.

Fuel economy matched the brochures exactly, I get 52mpg with mixed driving.

Seats are comfortable for a while, but you have to site very correctly, slouch at all and they can get uncomfortable.

Cassette player is not the best and ford charge a ridiculous amount, £300, for a CD player.

Air conditioning is not as good as my Old Astra.

Paint looks like it scratched very easily.

The heated front screen (I have the climate pack) is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2002

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 Z-Tek from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Z-Tek Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Very fun to drive... when it chooses to work

Faults:

There has been an ongoing problem with power loss.

Car has been hesitating during steady driving.

Car is stalling while stopped.

Car has no power on hills with air conditioner on.

Maintenance procedures (engine flushes) have been necessary much earlier than normally suggested.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car to drive, when it works. However I purchased a brand new car expecting to have no problems. I have had an ongoing loss of power with the car. The dealer has maintained no responsbility, stating each time that it is in need of expensive engine flushing and part replacements. While these are regular maintenance procedures, I am having to have them performed much earlier and more frequently than normal and the problem still continues.

The parts for this economical car are extremely expensive in comparison. $150 for one tire, $50 oil changes...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2002

9th Apr 2004, 20:33

I have seen this power loss issue dealt with by putting in a new fuel pump. Check the pressure and the amperage!

12th Jul 2004, 16:27

Ford had a recall on the fuel pumps, which is where your problem is. An oil change should never be more than $35, even at a dealer. Go to one of the generic oil change places. These cars are so common that you shouldn't have to worry about getting the oil changed at a dealer.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 129 reviews