2001 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 26 of 37

2001 Ford Focus from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Price is high and quality is low

Faults:

Front passenger tire split after 600 miles.

Refuses to start on cold (30 degrees or below) days. Battery is new.

ERG had to be replaced after 25000 miles.

Passenger side rim had to replaced after we hit a small pothole.

Brake pads and rotors replaced twice.

Fan belt squeals, even after tightening.

General Comments:

This car is fairly economical as far as gas mileage is concerned.

The trunk is very roomy, great for shopping sprees.

It handles well in snow and rainy conditions.

However, the engine is too small for the body size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

21st Jul 2004, 10:49

I have a 2002 focus zts. has same problem at 30 degrees or below, must crank engine several times before starting.

In shop so long (19) days, weather warmed up, never knew if they fixed it, although they said they replaced fuel pump. waiting for this winter to see if problem reappears...

If it doesn't.. by by focus, hello Honda.

12th Sep 2005, 15:40

Having trouble starting on cold days? Try plugging the oil pan warmer in. If the car didn't come with one, it's a cheap addition, but it's generally a standard for cars purchased up north. And make sure when you get your oil changed they are putting in the 5w30 not 10w30. Not much of a difference, but the one time I brought it to a shop to have the oil changed they replaced it with the incorrect oil weight, and it was rough starting the next day. (Only had the incorrect oil in one day, brought it back to the shop)

Brake pads and rotors are normal wear and tear items, but if it's only been after a few thousand miles, put on better quality pads. I have a focus and have not yet needed new rotors, and have replaced brake pads three times and I have over 100,000 miles on my 2001.

The only thing I have had need to be fixed with mine is the electric starter (goes on EVERY Ford vehicle I have EVER had within the fort 20,000 miles).

2001 Ford Focus Zetec 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6243 miles
Most recent distance24196 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

It really IS as good as all the magazines say!

Faults:

Indicator switch stopped self cancelling at 9200 miles - new clock spring fitted under warranty.

Key fob for central locking failed at 18,000 miles.

A couple of trim rattles started to develop at 23,000 miles.

General Comments:

Entertaining and utterly foolproof handling, it rewards the careful driver and forgives the careless one. Ride a little firmer on the Zetec.

Performance very sprightly - engine makes a really good throaty noise, torquey mid-range, but needs to be caned to get all the power.

Plasticky interior not up to the same standard as a Mk 4 Golf, but overall the Focus is a superior machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

So far the only thing that has happened was the lever that raises the back of the seat on the drivers side has broke off.

General Comments:

The car corners like it is on rails.

The interior is laid out very well everything is easily reached from the drivers seat.

This car is so far ahead of the car I used to have it is like daylight and dark.

I have owned Fords before, but this is the best one I have owned to date.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2003

28th Jun 2004, 13:11

My seat broke also, only real complaint I have.

2001 Ford Focus from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great bargain

Faults:

The check engine light has come on and sensor has had to be replaced two times.

Back seat wouldn't stay latched. (Later recalled)

Front seats aren't that comfortable.

General Comments:

This car has pretty good kick and overall a fun car to drive.

There is a ton of room for moving stuff and has been pretty reliable. Haven't had to do anything except regular maintenance on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2003

2001 Ford Focus zts 2.0 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Spends too much time in shop

Faults:

My four brake pads and rotors were replaced at 12,000 miles.

Both trailing arms were replaced at 13,000 miles.

Alternator replaced at 14,000 miles.

Battery cable burned at 14,500 miles.

General Comments:

I purchased this car used. It is a so called certified used vehicle. When I bought it it had 10,000 miles. As soon as I drove it off the lot problems began to appear. The Ford dealer has been very good with fixing the various problems the vehicle has had. It currently has 15,000 miles and seems to be running good for now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

23rd Apr 2007, 21:36

I drive a 2001 Ford Focus ZTS and it has been in the shop about 5 times since I bought it last march. The first week I had it, the cooling fan went out. That cost me $700, then 2 weeks after that my ignition coil went out. The same day I got my car out for the ignition coil, I put it back in the shop that night because my idle valve clogged up, then my alternator went out. Then just last week my front passenger tire blew out and made my passenger seat airbag deploy. Haven't had very much good luck with this car. I'll never buy another one.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 128 reviews