2002 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 8 of 27

2002 Ford Focus SE 2.0 16v Zetec from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

I can't imagine there being a better car for the money.

Faults:

Zero problems.

General Comments:

I've kept up with the scheduled maintenance and change the oil every 5000 miles.

I put front brakes on at 35000 and new tires at 45000 (still had tread, but I wanted new tires before winter). I got Yokohama's and I love them.

I love this car more than I thought I would. I had not planned on buying a Focus, but it was 3000 dollars under sticker price, so I did.

I still get between 30 and 35 mpg.

The only bad thing I can say is the car loses a lot of power when the AC is on. I think that's pretty much any four cylinder car though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2007

2002 Ford Focus SE 2.0 SPI from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 SPI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Happy with vehicle so far

Faults:

Front and rear sway bars needed replacement right away, but were partially covered by warranty. Needed new front tires this spring due to uneven wear and tire damage. They had been rotated from the back last year and were new when I bought the car so it is uncertain if it was a tire defect.

The car came off a 3 year lease and the brakes must have been done by the dealer before I bought it since there was little wear on pads when checked last year. I had the transmission cover off for an oil change and visual inspection was fine and did a tune up and new wires and plugs this spring and gas filter.

General Comments:

The car handles well and the 2.0 SPI engine is OK with the automatic transmission. Has a quality look to the interior even if it is mostly plastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2007

10th Dec 2009, 21:03

Had front rotors replaced new pads and rear brakes rebuilt in 2008 at about 70,000 Km.

New battery in 2009 at 75,000 Km.

2002 Ford Focus ford focus SE 4 cylinders from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinders Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres

Summary:

I would say average, but my answer would have been more positive.

Faults:

About a week ago it appears that the Air Intake control was the reason why the car would choke in cold temperature. I had a new one put in. For a week the problem seems to had disappeared, but one cold morning it started, but died and wouldn't start again.

The second guess of the dealer was a malfunction of the muffler which need to be changed. I had never noticed any particular noise from the muffler.

The question is what could brake in a muffler without creating any noise while damaging the air intake control?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2007

14th Jan 2008, 23:46

Don, t trust the dealer. try to find a mechanic shop recommended by family or friends. BTW the 2.0 litre,"single over head cam" engine in a lot of ford focus is really the old ford escort engine. it is notorious for vibrating a lot. if you check out a lot of automotive forum discussion sites you, ll see a lot of talk about how to try to cure the problem. very few are sucessful.

2002 Ford Focus zx3 2.0 Ztec from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Ztec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Good looking/performer with loads of potential

Faults:

Leaking drive-shaft seal.

General Comments:

The car runs just fantastic and pretty quick for a small compact car.

It looks great even stock, but mines has rims lowered suspension, Air-Intake and exhaust.

Modifications to the car are not hard to do and there is many you can do to this car just like honda's so am happy to do AMERICAN.

The not too good.

Reduce the road noise.

Make alternator even easier to remove and install.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2007

2002 Ford Focus SE 2.0 SPI from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 SPI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres

Summary:

Looks good, but not very reliable

Faults:

Well, when I purchased the car about two weeks after owning it, the DPFE Sensor went bad and was in the shop, but Ford paid for the work since I had the car such a short time.

The engine clicks at low speeds and Ford can't find a source of the noise.

The front suspension has been clicking and groaning and creaking for quite sometime, the CD player has recently gone bad, the power door locks and interior lights only work once and awhile. My thermostat has gone bad, and my check engine light comes up for it. Its seriously bad on gas. I thought for such a small engine it would be good on gas, but I was wrong.

General Comments:

The car has good pick up off the line and at highway speeds, it handles really good, I love the way it drives.

The seats are really comfortable, I really like them. The stereo sounds really good, when the CD player works that is. The trunk is huge for such a small car, I can fit a lot of stuff in it.

It's a good looking car, I like the way the headlights come up on the hood, looks sweet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st January, 2007

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 89 reviews