14th Sep 2006, 03:52

In repsonse to the comment about different gaps in the seats, does the drivers seat not come with an electrically adjustable seat height button. This raises and lowers the base of the drivers seat to meet your requirements. On UK models, this button is located on the lower part of the front of the seat.

28th Sep 2006, 16:39

Hi, I'm the writer of the initial review.

Since getting my power door locks fixed (under warranty thankfully) I've since noticed some weird glitches here and there. If I unlock the door with my key and begin to get into the car, before the door's closed (or sometimes just after it's closed), the door locks will lock automatically. This is before the car's started moving. I can only attribute this to whatever Ford did during the initial repairs.

I've since paid off my Focus as of August, and I plan on keeping her as long as she remains viable.

(A side note: I recently (September) took a piece of flying wood to the windshield while on the Turnpike. I've decided to rename my Focus "Christine", after the Stephen King novel).

Current mileage: 81,471.

15th Oct 2006, 13:37

I have a 2000 Ford Focus LS, and the Trunk lock will not open. I'm annoyed with the fact that the seat releases are in the trunk on the sedan. I would like to get some advice on the trunk issue if possible.

23rd Oct 2006, 17:24

Reviewer here again...

My trunk seems to unlock and open by itself every now and then. I'm not sure if I'm hitting the keyfob button by accident, or if the car's acting up on its own. All I can tell you is that every once in a while, the "door ajar" light comes on. Oh well.

18th Feb 2007, 08:59

I have had my 2000 focus since it had 5 miles on it. It has had its ups and downs. I have had to replace a good deal of things on it, the brakes 3 times, all 4 wheel bearings, tires. The recalls actually replaced everything else, and I mean everything.

My most recent problems have been the back window motor, and the thermostat (it actually rusted out). Seven long NH winters have done a number on the car.

Over all I think my car has treated me well over the past 7 years. Miles: 145,000!!!

23rd Apr 2007, 18:21

Reviewer here again: Took ANOTHER piece of road debris (this time I believe it was part of a big-rig tire) to the front bumper. It demolished my right fog light (and I mean GONE) and even destroyed the plastic protector underneath the bumper that shields the radiator and A/C condenser.

Also: It seems I have a pretty strong vibration coming from somewhere in the dash...I'll have to see if any mountings are loose under the hood.

Total miles: 90,000.

16th Jun 2007, 23:47

Just brought our Focus home from a dealer - power door lock fuse gone - again! Had it in last November - when they replaced the fuse and tried the locks it kept blowing then - they eventually replaced the master actuator in the driver's door (not under warranty sadly). This time, they could not find a reason for the fuse blowing (new fuse they put in hasn't blown yet). At least they didn't charge me this time.

Also, they noticed the front coil springs are busted again. These will be replaced under the Ford program for bad coil springs. Interesting thing is that 4 or 5 years ago I had them replaced under the same program - when I had to get a tow truck to pull the Focus out of my garage because the body was sitting on the front tires.

And, of course, there have been the zillion other recalls and issues with it that everyone else has. The truly sad thing is that I can afford to buy a Honda - I'm just not smart enough to...

I'd like to ask the guy who replaced his own fuse -> how'd you do that? I can't see any way to get at the back side of the fuse box or to pull it out with my suburban homeowner's tools ...

30th Jul 2007, 00:32

Put an extension on a ratchet and you should be able to get the fuse box out. Once out, snip the zip tie holding the wires down and the fuse should be under those wires. Check to see if your locks work before assembling everything together. My locks still felt sluggish after replacing the fuse. I think there is something wrong with the electrical in the locking mechanism.

27th Aug 2007, 18:21

Original reviewer here again. Had a problem with the rear driver's side window. Powered it down, it made a weird sound. Powered it up, it decided to break and fall off the track.

Cost to replace the entire motor assembly: $211 bucks.

Miles: 93,000.

Just a note: Don't buy a Focus. They're friggin' horrible.

4th Sep 2007, 17:45

Hey all.

Has anyone had this problem:

The rear passenger tire vibrates. It started when my front coil spring broke. I went to the dealer to get the recall, but I couldn't because my car was past 150,000 miles. Since I couldn't pay for both the coil replacement AND the wheel alignment, I opted to wait on the alignment about a couple of weeks to get some more money.

I still felt the vibration, but it was only for a short time (only between 20 and 40 mph). I figured that I just needed the alignment.

I took the car back to the dealer to get the wheel alignment and asked for the free walk-around. They said they heard the vibration, but would charge about $60 to figure out what it was. I only had enough just to get the alignment.

Since then, the vibration has progressively gotten worse. Now, if I'm anywhere over 15 mph, it shakes the door panel of the inside rear passenger side of the car.

So, I'm doing my research to see what's up. As far as I know, I've been up-to-date on replacing my brakes and such. I've gotten all of the recalls.

Any clues?

I am replacing parts myself now to save money (O2 sensor, EGR valve, and another sensor that was malfunctioning). I can replace/fix this, too, if it's not too dangerous.


20th Sep 2007, 16:30

Have owned a 2000 Ford Focus 4 door with A/T for two months (about 65K on the clock). Just today, I had what appears to be a common problem happen, i.e. the central locking system is down. Before I replace the fuse, though, (assuming I can find it), has anyone replaced the fuse and had it LAST or should I just take it in and have them replace the actuator and be done with it.

One weird thing which is prompting me to do the latter is that the drivers side door will NOT key lock or unlock. So I'm currently using the passenger side door for egress. However, so far, I can get out of the drivers side door when I am in the car.

Also, for getting to fuse 63. Do I have to drop the fuse box out of it's holder? Can't I just snake my way under the dash and get to it that way (I'm pretty skinny).

Except for this, it's been a good car although 2 months and only 1,000 miles is not much to judge it on.