2006 Ford Fusion SEL High End from North America - Comments

8th May 2006, 08:42

I intend to purchase a Milan and wanted the keypad myself having had one on my Explorer. The key pad is available as a dealer purchased item. This is a universal FORD part that fits many late-model Ford products with remotes and power locks - comes in black only. It cost about $155 and can be installed by the owner. It is battery powered, and is applied to any surface with a self-stick tape - no drilling, no wiring. Dealers may not be aware of this. nor does this part appear in all of the vehicle accessory brochures.

8th May 2006, 21:40

You say this piece of junk drives like a 34K car??? I rode in one of these things and the car has one of the WORST interiors I have ever seen, especially the "Chrome" which is nothing more than chrome plated tape that will peel in a year or two. Ford is losing sales to more superior brands and this car won't change that.

9th May 2006, 13:52

Saying the interior looks like crap is your opinion.

10th May 2006, 17:50

Yes, it is just your opinion, NOT the truth. I've seen the interior of the Fusion, and it looks just fine! I will agree that the interior of the Hyundai Azera looks pretty good too, but as far as the new Camry and Accord, well lets just say that their exterior looks/styling discourage me from even looking at the interior.

11th May 2006, 12:53

Sit in an Accord or Camry and you will see the interior is lightyears ahead of any Ford product, ironic given that they are in the same class as the Fusion.

28th May 2006, 09:23

Yes, the interior of the Camry is, well, fantastic, but that's where the accolades end. The lack of power made me afraid to enter the highway, the acceleration reminded me of my old Escort; seriously, the way it handled, I felt twenty years older.

29th May 2006, 04:46

This sounds simple, but I learned having a company car myself{driving 4 states) to always carry one extra key in my other pocket. Remotes can fail and even the car battery can go dead leaving the door combination inoperable... if you rely on the door keypad vs. an extra key you may encounter a no win situation.

29th May 2006, 13:07

The camry lacks power?? The new 07 camry gets about 263 horses which is powerful, The fusion doesn't even come close.

29th May 2006, 21:45

Well, did you consider that maybe he doesn't have an 07 Camry, and even if he did, he probably didn't have the 268 hp engine. The base motor for the Camry is a 158hp 2.4 which is crazy considering the car weighs almost 3500 lbs. The base 2.3 Fusion has 2 more horsepower and weighs less, but isn't as fast 0-60. The optional engine for the Fusion is a 221 hp V6 with a 6-speed auto. The Camry may be slightly ahead of the Fusion performance wise, but I would take a Fusion any day, because it looks 10x better, and I don't buy the "Toyota is superior to all American brands, period" hype. I see just as many negative reviews of Toyota cars as American ones on this site.

29th May 2006, 23:18

I think he meant the base engine in the camry, not the v6.

30th May 2006, 00:29

Yeah, but the Lotus Elise has 190 horsepower and it's almost twice as quick. Horsepower means nothing.

Also, I don't know what the hype of Honda's and Toyota's are. My first car was a Toyota, then I got another one (after hating my first one), and then moved to Honda. Then I sold that Accord, and got a Civic. Sold the Civic 2 weeks later. Bought another Civic. Sold that one 2 months later. Bought a Ford, been driving it ever since. Over 190K miles and it still runs like new. And I do mean new. Sorry, but I'm a Ford lover and a Honda hater.

31st Oct 2006, 19:41

If you read reviews, especially at places besides this site, the '07 Camry 2.4L with a 5 speed auto has a horrible drive-by-wire throttle system that is intended to adapt the transmission to the style of the driver. The whole system is flawed, because the transmission constantly hunts for gears, especially when the cruise is set, and engine power is cut severely, even when the driver tries to accelerate quickly to, say, move out of a bad traffic situation. Toyotas are not perfect cars by any means, and I personally do not like the way Camrys drive.

3rd Nov 2006, 13:53

I didn't hear complaints about the transmission, but apparently the 2.4L engine is almost dangerously slow. It's only got 158 horsepower, and trying to move a 3000+ lb. car! Whoever came up with that idea needs to be slapped. The review I read claimed that to stay at or above the speed limit on hills you have to have the accelerator to the floor! That's not underpowered, that's dangerous!

27th Nov 2006, 21:32

We had a 93 Toyota Corolla for 3 years and we drove a 200 mile trip in a 96 Toyota Camry. Both cars had less than 60,000 miles and they handle the same. They wobble when you change lanes, they have a mushy float, and they both creaked when you drive in a parking lot. They also lacked power and were a bit overpriced.

28th Nov 2006, 09:46

Compare those Toyota's to a comparable Ford of the day such as an Escort or Contour and you probably would have been in tears and not buying Fords anymore.

6th Jan 2007, 01:18

I have heard it was more reliable than a V6 Accord, but I have yet to find a report that says it is better than a Four banger Accord. Reliability is something that cannot be accurately determined in only one year in my opinion. If I drove the Fusion like I do my Accord, I have a feeling I would have to replace the engine and transmission a lot and everything else would fall off of it like past Fords. I have 250,000 miles on my Accord and I know it cannot be beaten by the Fusion. I am also 19 years old and have not had anything break on my Honda except for maintenance like spark plugs or tires. I have driven my Accord for about 50,000 miles now.

6th Jan 2007, 08:59

Actually, with domestic cars it's pretty easy. My Focus was endlessly in the shop during the three years I had it. I can't imagine its life after the warranty ran out.

My family has flushed too many dollars down the toilet buying domestics, so we will never, ever buy American crap again.

6th Jan 2007, 09:33

In five years the Fusion will be another one of Ford;s "Flash in the pan" cars and will probably be obsolete while the Camry will sill continue to dominate.

The Fusion is a junk car and you cannot say its more reliable then a Accord or Camry since its only been out for a year.

6th Jan 2007, 13:13

Camry = Who Cares? And if somebody wants to subject themselves to driving a lawnmower Accord for 200,000 miles that is their own gluttony for punishment. Those cars are fine for a 19-year-old with no money who just wants to get from A to B, but at some point a person begins to care about concepts like comfort and style, and then it's time to dump the Japanese tin cans.

6th Jan 2007, 14:23

Having had experience with three Japanese imports I WON'T be buying another one. The Toyota was so-so, but DEFINITELY not as reliable as our Ford that went 325,000 miles, our Dodge that was sold in perfect running condition (and never having had a repair) at 240,000 miles or our Buick LaSabre that went 270,000 miles. The Honda (a Civic) totally fell apart at 90,000 miles and was sold to a junk dealer (literally!!). The Mazda was the worst nightmare I ever owned. It was one that was made before Ford took over. I hear they are greatly improved now, but I'd still not buy one. None of our domestics has ever come close to being as expensive to maintain as any of our imports.