1996 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 3 of 9

1996 Ford Mondeo FLH 1.6 16v from Germany

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 kilometres
Most recent distance98800 kilometres
Previous carFord Ka

Summary:

Affordable, comfortable car well suited for long voyages

Faults:

Dead battery - it was 8 years old, so not a fault of a car.

General Comments:

I got the car as a fine bargain in October 2004. After my Ford Ka it was feeling 1000 times better, much more comfortable and consuming only a very little bit more. The 1.6 engine was enough for cruising, but 90 hp was sometimes too little for a comfortable acceleration. The seats were reasonably comfortable, but in summer I was desperately missing the air conditioner. On the highway, speeds up to 160 kmh were OK, over 160 the vibrations were getting not too comfortable. Anyways, it was a very good car, affordable, comfortable and with reasonable performance. It was in top condition, without any rust or scratches.. I would have driven it for a few years longer, but a few weeks ago I have crashed it due to very icy road downhill. Repair cost proposal was higher then the price I have paid to buy the car, so I am selling it, and getting either the same Mondeo with air conditioner or a Scorpio.

The Ford service was just great, making me absolutely satisfied, its one of main reasons for me to stay with Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2006

1996 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.0 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance50500 miles

Summary:

Competent, but the real test will come at the MOT...

Faults:

Rapid front tyre wear to o/s edges of tyres. Geometry checked and all OK. Tyre pressures checked every two weeks, no fault found, but wear persists.

Slight hesitation on the over-run during engine brakeing through the 4100 rpm mark.

Front pad wear warning light nearly always illuminated. Brakes checked and only have approx 20% wear.

Gear lever not positive when trying to find a gear at standstill.

Traction control over eager as is the ABS.

A lot of over-steer especially in the wet for a front wheel drive car. (not that I'm complaining!)

Noise from engine, sounds like a ticking and only happens under load. Exhaust checked and OK. May be EGRV (exhaust gas recirculation valve?)

General Comments:

An all round good car, not brilliant.

Performance from rest is initially sluggish. Engine quite unrefined.

Handles well, but driver aids are too keen.

Steering on full lock at very low speed produces massive amounts of under-steer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2006

1996 Ford Mondeo Ghia 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8600 miles
Most recent distance8800 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Fourtrak

Summary:

You don't turn up to your destination in a Mondeo, you arrive

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Well what can I say, I've had the Mondeo a couple of months now, and it has blown me away.

Having had a Fourtrack (Daihatsu) for a number of years, going from farmer's friend to out and out luxury is a real treat. It has a heated screen, factory fit alarm and immobiliser, electric everything, with when I bought it, a year's MoT, 3 months tax, FSH stamped at Ford, no holes or tears in the upholstery, no holes in the dash, every switch works, and it's still got the emergency torch (fully charged), all for £450 on a P plate!

It's a mk1, no rust, a minor ding on the rear bumper (£60 sorted that out), and sooooo quiet it just purrs. Superb A+.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

1996 Ford Mondeo GLX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired128750 miles
Most recent distance135580 miles

Summary:

Smashing! I highly recommend it

Faults:

Front suspension bushes have split.

Bald steering wheel (due to mileage).

Front passenger side door central locking solenoid failed blowing the fuse after 3 days of owning it.

Blown door speaker.

General Comments:

Being my first car the insurance is steep (£1800!!).

The car is comfy and reliable besides some of the electrics.

The mondeo has a good turn of speed (127mph on the clock) and handles well regardless of load you put in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2004

1996 Ford Mondeo Ghia x 4x4 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

In a class of it`s own

Faults:

Up until now I have had no trouble up until the last week or so when it started to overheat for no reason. I have had various tests done and the compression s tests OK. The problem is that the water does not seem to be circulating and have been told that the system could be air-locked. If anyone can help please get in touch.

General Comments:

This model was and is without the best buy I have ever made and will stay with ford mondeo`s as long as they keep making model`s as good as the 1996 2.0 Ghia x 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

26th Apr 2004, 17:59

Cylinder compression has little to do with the overheating. Check first the thermostat and the water pump.

29th Apr 2004, 07:45

Sounds like the impellers may have broken on the water pump, which means your coolant will not circulate.

This is common on mondeos as they are plastic and can break.

You can get hold of metal ones which should not break.

You do not want to be driving your car until problem is sorted as you can cause a lot of damage if car overheats.

10th Nov 2004, 15:11

I have the same car, but I've got a different problem. knocking sound when engaging gear I think its the bearing jiont on the prop shaft what do you rekon?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 38 reviews