1996 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1996 Ford Mondeo Ghia x 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A lot of car for what you pay

Faults:

On board computer no longer visible 50,000 miles.

Air conditioning intake causes rainwater to fill the passenger side foot well, this is a common fault that you can easily fix yourself with any rubber based sealant.

The petrol/water mixer broke 58,000 miles.

The rubber seals around the doors and windows have just started to let in water 68,000 miles.

General Comments:

After two bad Fords I always said I would never buy another one, however this one sort of fell into my lap and I'm sort of glad it did.

The heated seats are brilliant in the winter especially if you like driving with the window open or if you suffer from a bad back.

The performance is pretty good for what is at the end of the day a family car, realistically its to heavy to ever be rocket like, but it does "go " abit when you want to.

Lots and lots of extras in this car most of which you never use, like, cruise control, the roads are just to congested, but as I look around now for another car I look around and find one I like and so far spec wise nothing comes near this Ghia x.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2003

29th May 2003, 13:04

Well why don't you go for a mk2 Ghia X? I've a 98R, could pick that up for under £4k now. I often wonder what I could get in future and can't think of anything that comes close for the money!

And cruise control is really useful if you live near quiet motorways, couldn't do without it now!

1st Jun 2003, 02:32

I have had my 2.5 GHIA x for 2 years it still had 12 months anti corrosion warranty when I bought it and it cost 3800.00. It is immaculate and only has 78000 miles on now (1997 model). Only problem I have had is the head gasket went, which caused corrosion in the heads, it cost 1200.00 to rectify, but I still consider it money well spent as you get an awful lot of car for your money. Driven carefully it returns 35 mpg.

1996 Ford Mondeo LX Estate 1.8L 16 V Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8L 16 V Zetec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

A cheerful Estate

Faults:

Nothing major went wrong with the car apart from it used to go through tires rather quick.

General Comments:

The Mondeo was a reliable car. it did not look the best from the outside, but it did have a pretty good sound system.

The performance of the car was OK 118 mph was the top speed and a 0-62 time of around 11.2 seconds. which was enough for me. it was a pain around town because of it's size.

It would cruse on the motorway well at 70+ mph. it did tend to struggle up those hills. 3rd gear was rather tall so it did suffer on performance in 3rd.

The only reason I got rid of the car was because someone crashed into the back of me at about 50 mph and made it a write off. I would have hoped to have had the car for at least another year.

Overall this was good car a good sized boot it could swallow all of the luggage and my work things without a problem. so this was a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2003

1996 Ford Mondeo GLX 2.0 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Terrano II

Summary:

A good, safe mid range car, with good reliability and fuel economy

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Surprisingly slow for a 2.0 automatic.

Extremely Comfortable.

Feels "safe"

Smooth to drive.

Spacious.

Lots of "extras"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

1996 Ford Mondeo Ghia 16V 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

It's good, but not great

Faults:

The first problem we had was with the air conditioning. We were told the pump needed replacing, however the cost to do so would have been totally ridiculous because, as the mechanic put it: "the car was built around the air conditioning unit!" You have to wonder what Ford was thinking when to replace a common problem like air con, the entire dashboard and half the engine needs to be taken out!

We've also experienced many electrical problems with the car. The electric drivers seat slides back very quickly, but only sometimes goes forward.

The service (spanner) light turns on and off intermittently.

The coolant light is on all the time, even though the bottle is full. The Ford dealership does not know how to turn it off.

The transmission has been a real pain also. I don't know if this is a fault or not, but when, say, entering an intersection at about 20kmh, if floored the unpredictable auto will not change into 1st gear. This causes a labouring pinging sound, and very very slow acceleration. Not to mention how unsafe this is. I usually end up getting really frustrated and force the car to change down manually.

The boot will only sometimes open when released from the lever beside the driver's seat.

The lights are extremely dim. I have found that if I drive around with full beam on, nobody flashes me to turn my lights down!

The engine for no obvious reason (maybe head gasket) sometimes runs on 3/4 hot on the temperature gauge. So far this hasn't caused any problems, just a coolant smell when you step out of the car. However I am preparing for a large repair bill shortly.

General Comments:

Overall it is an OK car. If I was going to buy another Mondeo I would opt for the 2.5 V6 manual. I find the 2.0 doesn't have enough pull to safely overtake on the highway. The auto will change into 2nd and the Mondeo will scream its way slowly past the overtaken cars.

I find the level of equipment fitted to the Ghia is of a high standard. Our example came with a Pioneer 12 disc stacker as a factory option. The fake wood gives the car a classy feel and the dashboard is a good design.

The handling is good and the car feels very solid on the road. However, a good set of directional tyres is necessary to make the most of the handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

5th Jan 2004, 21:23

The fake wood gives a "classy feel? Fake wood is terrible and must be replaced with lower range black plastic asap.

16th Aug 2005, 16:48

I have a Mondeo ghia auto, I find a Ghia Ford with wood a necessity, my wood certainly doesn't look fake & gives a stately home feel to a classy car. I find the solidness of the interior & doors outshines many other high spec cars on the road today. Whisper quiet to drive with very easy instruments & switches. I have not owned the car very long to nitpick, but what I have experienced so far is excellent.

17th Jan 2011, 17:24

You won't be so impressed with it when the gearbox breaks.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 38 reviews