1996 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1996 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance106500 miles
Previous carFord Scorpio

Summary:

Excellent workhorse for little money (so far)

Faults:

The most annoying fault is the leak into the passenger side foot-well.

The heater fan switch has failed.

I have also had the problem with a broken pipe to the rear washer jet. Mine has broken somewhere above the 'B' pillar so when the rear washer is accidentally pressed I get an in car shower!

Otherwise no real problems outside of the routine maintenance you would expect from a car with this sort of mileage on it.

General Comments:

The turbo lag under 2500rpm makes those quick getaways out of junctions that bit more exciting.

The leak in the passenger foot-well is appalling. Seems to be a common problem as I have two neighbours with Mondeo Estate's as well and we all seem to need our wellies when in the passenger side. My car doesn't have air con and the standard de-mister struggles to keep the screen clear with the damp atmosphere inside.

The seats are a disappointment, especially when compared to the Scorpio Ghia I replaced with the Mondeo.

Overall the car has been a bit of a contrast (possibly a disapointment) to what I had expected, however, the diesel is very cheap to run and the gearing is exceptional with the turbo when towing my car transporter or caravan.

It is quite heavy on brakes although they have to work hard with another car on the back! I cured the brakes pulling by replacing both front arms using the later version with the revised bushes.

All in all, a fairly pleasing experience so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

13th Jan 2002, 16:28

Yes, that tickled me about the turbo lag, I have more miles on mine than the Mir space station and I am sure my Mondeo should be renamed the Ford Common Fault, at least that's what the mechanic keeps calling it.

At 168,000 miles so far, a battery, rear drop links, discs, pads, front arm bushes (put the bolts upside down to avoid engine in/out), exhaust, windscreen, heater control, clock, clutch, rear parcel shelf supports (Escort rubber ones are the answer, plenty in the scrappers), fuel filter fun (would not restart).

1996 Ford Mondeo LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

A good all round bargain

Faults:

Front bushes replaced at 70,000. Front wheel bearings replaced at 105,000. Drive shaft replaced 90,000.

General Comments:

Apart from a few minor niggles, this car has been superb.

1.6 engine not the most sporty in the world, but I would class it as adequate even for motor-way driving.

A good economy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

15th Dec 2002, 10:29

I have just bought a 1.8 LX TD, at only 40k on the clock it was too good to miss. It will be interesting to see if I have the same problems, I will soon let you all know.

1996 Ford Mondeo SLX 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Best buy so far for this type of model

Faults:

When I got the Mondeo the back box of the exhaust was rotten. The car kept cutting out due to a broken tappet and had to be replaced, car was still under guarantee.

General Comments:

Engine too small for such a large saloon, would be better with a 1.8 or a 2.0 engine to get better performance. It is still a fast car for the size of engine, can still get 110 mph at 4500 rpm, which is good for the year of the car.

Very comfortable, car but would be better with leather interior and with sportier seats. It has a lot of room in the cabin and good room in the boot.

It has great extras for the SLX model like electric windows/wing mirrors, central locking with deadbolts, sun roof, height adjustable steering wheel, and spotlights. Good package considering the year of the car and what was available at the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

1996 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A high specification cheap to run Estate

Faults:

Central locking system has a mind of its own but has not locked me in or out (yet).

General Comments:

Just bought this car as a second vehicle to replace an unliked Astra diesel estate. Used basically as a van being an Estate.

No problems to date.

Awaiting MoT result in April or May.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2001

18th May 2001, 15:53

Another useful tip. With Mondeo ZETEC engines most people put the wrong oil in them! They ideally need a 5W/30 in winter. 15W/40 is like putting porridge in a Zetec - it slows it down and prevents adequate lubrication when starting in freezing conditions.

Regular air filter attention is also needed.

11th Sep 2001, 07:03

DO NOT fit a bolt at the forward bush of the near side suspension arm with the head downwards unless you drill a bolt thread to fit a "R" clip. The clip stops the bolt from falling out. This is not recommended any way except for Rally Cars. These bolts have dropped down when the nut failed and the car then crashed.

27th Sep 2001, 12:42

Original author would refer the last author to the Haynes manual that says inserting a bolt head down is acceptable. I would add to this - as long as frequent checks are made.

UPDATE: Car still 100% although the central locking is now manual locking which I probably prefer. Have however had to replace the rear bumper after passing over (had no choice) a dead fox fully loaded! Spurious part cost just over £100 not painted.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 38 reviews