2003 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 2 of 8

2003 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Pop out cup holder stopped popping out.

One dashboard light has gone.

Squeaky rear brake.

General Comments:

Handles very well.

Very nice to drive.

Can't fault anything really.

This car is great, I had a 51 plate Mondeo Zetec a few years ago, then we decided to get a newer car so bought a 55 plate Focus Sport, which was OK, but I missed the Mondeo so we went back and p/x for the 53 plate Mondeo we have now,

Will be looking to get the new shape Mondeo in no longer than 2 years time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2009

2003 Ford Mondeo ST220 3.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Wolf in sheep's clothes

Faults:

Boot won't open on occasion

General Comments:

This a very quick car. But you must learn to use the gearbox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2009

2003 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 Duratec HE from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Duratec HE Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14100 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good reliable car, but ultimately uninspiring

Faults:

Had to replace the windscreen washer pump, common fault so expected and took me 15 minutes to replace.

Drivers door leaks sometimes in heavy rain when parked.

General Comments:

Nice reliable car.

Seems well built.

Does what it says on the tin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2008

2003 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.0TDCi 131PS from Serbia

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0TDCi 131PS Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 kilometres
Most recent distance144000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Faults:

I bought mine second hand in Germany, with service book, maintained etc... On the pictures it looked great, but when I spent a little more time in it, I started to discover some faults. Beside the fact that car was due to full service (oil, filters, brake pads front and rear, brake and servo fluid, coolant), there was a problem with dual mass flywheel (very common with all the modern diesels). All of these were standard wear parts, but I have discovered other that aren't.

-On idle there is some rattle coming out of the engine bay, it looks like aux. belt tensioner, or the intercooler pipe. When I switch on the AC, idle rpm goes from 750 to 770 RPM and rattle stops.

-Between 1500-220RPM on acceleration, there is a clicking sound coming from the engine, it looks like one of the injectors is gone..

-When I turn to the right, I hear some sound from the wheels, I think it's a wheel bearing or something..

-I have a DVD Navigation unit with color LCD, which rattles from time to time..

-On 3 of 4 doors, and on the boot hatch, there is some corrosion on the bottom (?!). Ford supposedly give a 12yr warranty on that? This is a 5yr old car!

General Comments:

I drive the car mainly in the city traffic, and my fuel consumption was higher then I expected. With the AC on it hovers around 9.5L/100km (30MPG). On the open road I get 5.5L/100km (50MPG), but considering the weight of the car I suppose that it is o.k.

Car is generally very pleasing to drive, but this faults worry me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2008

2003 Ford Mondeo Ghia 2.0 tdci 130 ps from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 tdci 130 ps Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Average car in general

Faults:

The car has a annoying vibrating noise on tick over which i`m told could be the dual mass fly wheel.

It misfires, in any gear at any speed (ford can't find the problem)

Back windows noisy at 70mph +

General Comments:

It has plenty of acceleration & handles very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st December, 2006

2003 Ford Mondeo Zetec S TDCi 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A real head turner

Faults:

The interior door handles are a bit flaky; besides that it's perfect.

General Comments:

I have just bought this car, and I think it's the best looking one in its range, obviously besides the ST TDCI.

Having a 2 litre petrol before this one has made a huge difference in fuel costs, averaging at about 45-50 miles per gallon, as the petrol did 25-30 with the same power.

The sequential auto box is a plus point, as you can drive it manually or on auto.

This car performs and handles a lot better than the petrol, and I am very pleased with it, as I had to choose amongst a Passat, Vectra and Mondeo.

Fun to drive, good build, comfortable interior and the sport body kit make it nearly as good as the Audi, BMW range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2006

14th Sep 2006, 14:54

"A Real Head Turner".

Are you sure it's a Mondeo. It may go well, but a head turner it will never be in any shape or form. It's a Mondeo the most average car in the UK.

21st Sep 2006, 03:43

If the reviewer had wanted to blend in, he'd have bought a 3 series.

6th Jan 2007, 09:20

I own a Mondeo 2:0ltr Diesel, it hasn't turn heads, my Mustang did. anyway getting 56/58 to the gallon. nice car reliable, comfortable for my wife and children.

Paul

Peterborough.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 27 reviews