1993 Ford Mustang LX 5.0L from North America

Summary:

Pure American Muscle

Faults:

New clutch at 115,000 miles.

Resurface rear drums at 112,000 miles.

Ashtray is stuck open (luckily I didn't lose the spring), tough to fix.

Driver side door's power lock acuator is broken.

The rubber around the sunroof needs to be resealed (nothing a little silicone won't fix...).

Driver seat is showing wear, but the rest of the interior is perfect.

General Comments:

Fantastic low end torque!!

Simple modifications add plenty of horsepower!

Nice beefy growl out of the pushrod 5 liter.

The interior is nice, a little dated, but nice. However, the stick is in an awkward spot so the taller driver has quite a reach. The dash is laid out nicely, and I love the three knob heat settings.

Doors swing wide, avoid tight parking spaces!!

Fun fun fun to drive! I can't imagine life without my Fox Body! It's a pleasure to be able to go out to my car every morning, turn the key, and hear that deep rumble that produces 205 h.p. and 275 lb/ft torque! it sounds like a beast, and is! City driving isn't the greatest, but get it out on the freeway and one can see why the third generation Mustang has such a following.

Unbeatable styling! Always a head turner!

Not the greatest on gas (I average 20 m.p.g.), but it's a sacrifice I'm willing to make to roast all those imports! Put premium gas in your 5.0!! It makes a world of difference!

Suspension could be better, but then again by '93 the Fox Body was over 10 years old...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

1st Mar 2005, 10:19

Unless you have pictures of nude women taped to your windows, it is difficult to believe that your '93 Mustang would be a "head turner"...they are so commonplace they just blend into the background...

7th Mar 2005, 10:45

Any nice mustang is a head turner. As far as them being commonplace, that just says something about their performance.

19th Apr 2005, 23:58

True, Fox bodies are everywhere, but mine is Calypso Green... not a color one can easily ignore.

26th Oct 2005, 15:36

Putting premium in a 5.0 really doesn't raise the performance any noticeable level except your wallet will drain faster. These cars are tuned for 87 unleaded and run great on it. To waste money on premium is ignorant and uneducated. I have had a few of these cars and they all run great on regular gas. I also never encountered a 5.0 that was faster than mine because they used premium fuel in it. As far as the calypso green color turning heads... it is true because people can't believe they ruined a Mustang by gracing it with such a god-awful color. Stick with emerald green... Much easier on the eyes! I couldn't believe when they started painting them that color in '91. Mine were black and red, but I liked the wild strawberry and titanium the best.

11th Mar 2006, 17:47

'Beauty is in the eye...' To condemn some guy who likes a color you don't, well, it speaks for itself.

30th Apr 2006, 15:19

Yeah, green's fine. If he had painted his Mustang bright pink, I think I might have to shoot myself.

5th May 2007, 10:50

Hey, you are bad. these 5.0 engines from 1987 thru 1993 had 225 hp and 300 of torque. you are underpowering your mean machine.

14th Jan 2008, 00:28

The '93s were rated at 205hp! Ford changed their HP ratings system in '93. Also, the '93s differant pistons!

1993 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 from North America

Summary:

Reliable and dependable, and fast!

Faults:

Radiator replaced at 105,000.

Alternator replaced at 130,000.

Exhaust replaced at 135,000.

I made a few performance mods to this car over the years.

General Comments:

Overall, this car was a bargain at only $15,100 new. The performance, handling, and braking quite good for this price, although, falls a little short compared to later Mustangs.

Very little has gone wrong with this car and has been very inexpensive to own and maintain.

Comfort is OK, although, a far cry from my 1993 Thunder-bird. It's alright for local running around, but not for the long haul.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

23rd Feb 2005, 07:53

The back of the car was horrible. My brother totalled his car last Saturday, because he went around a bend doing 35, lost control of the car, and it spun twice, hit a telephone pole, and my brother ended up in the hospital. Not a safe car at all. And by the way, it doesn't even live up to all the Mustang hype. Not a good bargain; not a good car...

23rd Feb 2005, 10:25

To the above comment: just because your brother doesn't know how to drive does not make the Mustang a bad or unsafe car!

11th Mar 2006, 17:53

To the kid who wants to BLAME Ford for his brothers inadequacies, what part of the Peoples Republic of California do you live? Ross.