2000 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L from North America


You can kill me, but don't kill my car


The day that I test drove it home the started cable came loose and it wouldn't start of course. The dealership towed and repaired it free of charge.

The driver side power lock had to be replaced at 50,000.

The crankshaft pulley went bad (it was unbalanced. which caused belts to stretch and squeal in the span of a year. It was bad at the time I purchased it.

I had the dealer do some paint work on a few scratches on the car. They didn't do it the way that I asked it be done and did a bad job. So bad that I am planning on getting it redone!!! That is why the dealer got a three and not higher.

General Comments:

It has been a really good car. I haven't ever had any problem with the drive train, other than the crank pulley and that didn't leave me stranded.

It has a lot of power and handles really well.

The seats get a little uncomfortable during long distances. The interior seems a little cheap.

The stereo sounds really good for stock. It could use some more bass though. A problem that they solved with the Mach 1000.

If you don't beat on it the gas mileage is really good for a V8. Although in stop and go it doesn't really make as much of a difference. I have done a lot of highway driving in it and it get anywhere from 22-28 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2005

25th Feb 2005, 06:46

The title of this review makes no sense.

2000 Ford Mustang Coupe V6 from North America


Not another Ford in my life


The transmission has gone bad at 42,000 miles, and I have to get a new one for $2500. Gees. I did all the services required and just could not figure out why the transmission broke down after just 42K miles.

General Comments:

This Ford Mustang did not give me too much headache over the 4.5 years I owned it. It had some problem start the engine at very low temp. and humid conditions. Other than that, everything works fine. Until last week, the transmission stop functioning correctly, and I have to replace it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

26th Apr 2005, 20:32

The Ford autos are known to be slushboxes that need replacing early, but that's ridiculous.

28th Mar 2007, 10:20

There is no gasket between the engine and trany so what are you talking about?

2000 Ford Mustang V6 Convertible 3.8 V6 from North America


A modern muscle car that hasn't forgotten it's heritage


Headlight switch - switch will turn on headlights, but will not turn on interior dash lights. Replaced once and it burned out 3 months later, still investigating this.

General Comments:

This car is a great value for a younger driver without a family.

Even the V6 has an excellent amount of power. After driving a 4 cylinder honda accord for 2 years this car feels like a Ferrari. The auto version is not as quick, I definitely recommend a manual transmission if you want that extra "snap".

The car has proved to be very reliable except for my headlight switch, which has burned out twice now.

Comfort is good for the front seats, the leather on this is fairly good, but not particularly soft or luxurious. The back seats are very cramped, not suitable for long drives or tall individuals. The A/C and heater perform extremely well, you will not be unimpressed. The A/C on my honda was always too warm and left me sweating on hot summer days.

The convertible is worth the extra grand or two. There's nothing better then dropping the top on a warm summer day or a perfect fall day. It very nice to be cruising along and hear the slight tone of the exhaust. Rev the engine and it becomes a distinctive growl - just perfect, not too loud or a high pitched whine like other modern cars. The top is VERY fast. People next to you will watch in amazement as you lower the top and then drive off within 20 seconds - a simply amazing time compared to Mercedes and BMWs that take over a minute.

It can be dangerous in wet weather, typical of a RWD car with some power. The V8 version is much more powerful, maybe too much for the average driver. I can't imagine how the Cobra version feels.

This is the last true muscle car. There's nothing better then slipping the tires and rumbling off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

18th Dec 2004, 09:10

You can't imagine how the Cobra feels?

Here's a hint: much, much faster than your V6 Mustang, which is definitely NOT a muscle car!

30th Jan 2005, 08:27

What do we consider muscle cars? When people say "muscle car" they think Mustang, Camaro, GTO, Trans Am, etc. These are MUSCLE CARS. You do realize that not all Mustangs, Camaros, etc come with the biggest, baddest V8 right? Yes, in a fantasy world we would all drive cars with big V8s. In reality, the V6 mustang is far more popular and a better seller then the V8. I never claimed my car was really fast, but it does have quite a bit of pep for a V6.

Some people must have a lot of time on their hands...