2000 Ford Mustang SRS 3.8L V6 from North America


A reliable performance powerhouse that didn't break the bank.


The power steering pump went out at 77,000 miles.

The brake master cylinder went out at 85,000 miles.

The driver's side floor mat hook pulled out of the carpet after 9 years.

The stock headlight lenses needed to be re-glazed after 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

The 2000 Mustang SRS is exceptionally responsive. This car looks pretty much like a regular Mustang on the outside, but takes off like a rocket and makes curves feel straight.

Out on the highway the gas mileage gets dramatically better if the car is loaded down a little.

Definitely a well-balanced sports car, you can feel a lot of the road variations without getting bombarded with road noise.

If you're taller than 5'5", then don't even try to sit in the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2009

31st Jul 2009, 22:11

Just a point to note: There is no such thing as an SRS Mustang. SRS stands for Supplemental Restraint System, it means you have an airbag.

2000 Ford Mustang SRS V6 3.8 from North America


It's a great car if you know what to do with it..


Well the paint has flaws and fades real quick with the sun.

If you are planning to keep the stock sound, it sucks as you need to replace all the speakers in the car, and the head unit, which is a double deck single, which totally sucks cos you don't know what to put in the other deck.

The front end makes a noise that I still can't figure out. I've already replaced the shocks, the brakes and all bushings, and it still makes it.

General Comments:

Well the car is very impressive for a V6. I had a truck before this car, so nothing would be fast, but it is pretty fast, and the engine noise is very impressive. The third gear kicks in very nice, but when it's wet out, it gets kinda dangerous with that car; it slides on every turn.

Overall it's a great car. I haven't put much money into it, it's very reliable, but it chugs gas like there's no tomorrow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2008

23rd Dec 2009, 15:09

No, "SRS" stands for supplemental restraint system. You can tell if you have one of these "special edition" Mustangs by looking at the passenger side of your dash, it will have an "SRS" logo to the left of the "Mustang" wording... Apparently, if you are lucky enough to acquire one of these rare edition Mustangs, it comes equipped with this new technology called "AIR BAGS," whatever those are :/

2000 Ford Mustang LX V6 from North America


Dream come true


Tail lights fog up.

Pass door automatic lock broke.

General Comments:

I love my mustang. Its almost ten years old but in excellent condition. I use it as my daily driver which is 200 miles a day. Mininmal wear may deal with it as being a florida car aka no salt damage. The acceleration and steering are amazing. I love tearing up I95. The green is an eyecatcher. Guess Im one of the lucky ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2008

27th Apr 2008, 21:40

Congrats on the Mustang. I'm a member of a Mustang club (I own a 2007 V-6 Pony) and I was at a show this weekend. One of the cars was a beautiful 2000 Mustang that looked showroom new inside and out and under the hood. When I talked to the owner and discovered that the car is a daily driver and had over 170,000 miles on it, I was really blown away. These cars are really great and very reliable. I'm on my 7th Mustang since 1972 and none has ever had a problem. I wish you the best with yours.

11th Aug 2011, 19:43

I know of a 1999 Mustang Cobra SRS 32 valve SVT or FVT motor and a Remo Micheline name? Can you tell me about this model and how rare it is?

2000 Ford Mustang Convertible 3.8L V6 from North America


I believe it is a beautiful car and perfect for an individual like myself


I have owned this car for about a year and a half. I have had to replace the entire rear-end. Although that sounds as if it is horrible, when I first bought the car there was a lot of after-market parts on it. I believe that even though it is in beautiful condition, whoever owned it previous to me beat up on the mechanics of the car. After replacing the rear-end I ran into a few minor problems. Although they are nothing really worth making a big deal out of, I will still list the minor problems I came across.

The convertible top had a leak in it. I first found this problem during the winter months. My back seat, driver's side floor mat was literally a sheet of ice. New seals completely solved the problem and is no longer an issue.

The last problem I ran into was in the driver's side door. The door bushings had went bad and the door was bouncing up into the door jam. Although it was not that bad, I love my car and therefore took the time to replace them.

Overall, for a 7 year old car, it has held up really well over the years.

General Comments:

As I mentioned before, the car is in beautiful shape. With the exception of a few stone chips on the front, and one scrape on the hood (due to a cat that decided my car was a good place to catch some sun) the body of the car is pretty much perfect.

I did at one point decide to buy touch-up paint for the hood and had a problem finding the correct color. I ended up having to go to the dealership for the "performance red" touch-up paint which ended up costing me a very considerable amount of money.

The car handles very well around turns. It hugs the road better than any other car I have ever driven. However, the car is not a good idea for in the snow or on icy roads. I have the traction control option, but it is still quite the task to drive in the winter. I have however driven the GT version of the car, and my car is much easier to both control and get started in the snow. I would like to add however, that the GT version I drove did not have traction control.

The back seat in my car looks as if it has never been sat in although there is good reason for that fact. The few times I have had individuals in the back seat, they have been very uncomfortable and I would not recommend buying the car if you plan on having grown adults in the back seat.

My car is also a manual and the first 5-speed I have owned. I learned how to drive a manual transmission on a 1994 Ford Ranger and believe that my mustang is much easier to drive. There have also been two other individuals who have learned how to drive a manual on the mustang, and the car seems to have held up to the torture admirably. I would like to state however that the friction point of the clutch is very far out. The clutch is almost completely disengaged before it grabs.

Although an opinion, and an opinion I obviously hold if I purchased the car, I believe the car is very attractive. With the added pleasure of being a convertible, it is capable of turning many heads.

One thing I do hear a lot from other people is their disliking in the car due to it being a V6. The differences in pricing due to insurance makes the V6 a very attractive offer in my opinion. As a 21 year old female, I cannot afford to double my insurance and the car is a beautiful vehicle for my daily driver.

In addition, although 190 horsepower is not something you would take out to the track, it has plenty of power and is very capable of starting quickly with its torque.

Overall, I love my car. Recently I have been taking an interest up in foreign cars, but I still don't think I would be willing to give up my "little red mustang" as this point in time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2007

30th Sep 2009, 09:06

Hey, I got a question about your car... about the traction control.. is there an off switch?

30th Sep 2009, 21:10

I switched from a V-8 to a V-6 Mustang and my insurance rate dropped 40%, my fuel mileage doubled and, ironically, the 4.0 V-6 is actually FASTER than my previous V-8.